We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Pelican Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

From the moment we arrived, our regret was that we were only there for one night.

Right on the sea front, the three buildings and gardens are immaculately well kept. We checked in and were informed that there was complementary cheese, biscuits and wine in the dining room! This is the first time we've ever seen such a gesture and after a six hour drive, that was more welcome than you can imagine.

The room was in perfect condition and very well appointed, with fridge, coffee machine, large TV and small balcony with seating. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Staff were polite and helpful, especially when we asked for dinner recommendations.

The selection at breakfast was perfectly adequate, with a choice of hot buffet or continental.
We didn't try the various facilities (e.g. pool, hot tub etc) but they looked pleasant enough.

We would happily have stayed for longer and if ever in that part of the world again, would most certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    117
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
75
238
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had an upstairs suite facing the ocean and it was beautiful. The view was amazing! The room was clean and our housekeeper was ever so nice. The outdoor spa had some temp issues, but they were quick to resolve them. This was a great get away and it really was worth every penny. The staff were well informed about what's in town and made sure you were having a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your great review and you are right...the Ocean views are amazing! We take pride in what we do and look forward to your return visit soon! Thanks again, Charlie Yates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in an ocean front room. Could not open the patio door due to corrosion. The rooms are ok. Could use some updates but clean. The breakfast included hot food and make yourself waffles. Lovely garden in front of the hotel. I would stay in the sister hotel the blue dolphin ad it is a little nicer

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We made plans to spend two winter nights at Moonstone Beach and, after much research, decided on an ocean front room at Pelican Inn. We were not disappointed! Every encounter with staff of this establishment was positive and friendly. The owner should be very proud of them all!
Upon check-in, we were undecided as to whether we'd prefer a first or second floor room, so we were offered keys to both so we could compare. How often does that happen? Never! We chose the first floor room, which had a fireplace, a jetted tub and a king bed. Our only concern was that it had no desk chair for our computer. We mentioned this at the front desk and they offered one of the chairs from the breakfast room! It was just what we needed.
Our ocean front room had a small parking lot and a road between it and the ocean, but that didn't really matter to us. When the fog cleared, we had our ocean view!
Pelican Inn and Suites offers an evening wine, cheese and dessert reception, which you can enjoy in their breakfast room or take back to your room to enjoy the sunset. The breakfast buffet opens at 7:00 (great for early risers!) and includes meat (ham or sausage on the days we were there), two kinds of scrambled eggs (plain and embellished with peppers, onions, spinach, etc.), bread for toast, bagels,
waffles you make yourself, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea.
The quality and quantity of the breakfast was exceptional.
Across the street there is a boardwalk that stretches along the coast and encourages walking and running.
We really enjoyed our stay at Pelican Inn and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I recently had a mix up with my reservation at another Moonstone Beach hotel that is somehow affiliated with Pelican Inn. Danielle, the Asst. Gen. Mgr. of Pelican Inn sent me here, matching the (very good) rate I had reserved. The charming young woman who checked me in could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The room at Pelican was fabulous, very spacious and comfortable. The bath was spa-like, with a huge jetted tub and separate walk-in shower. A very comfortable king size bed, with down pillows. And did I mention the fireplace? All in all, I was ultimately thrilled with the outcome of this mixup. Thanks especially for the gracious concern and commitment to my ease shown by the staff at both establishments.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review! We LOVE our guests and always do whatever we can to make our guests feel like family! We are so fortunate to have had just the right room at the right time to make your stay special. Danielle takes pride in offering the best personalized service around and is our "Star" Rescuer! We look forward to seeing you in the near future! Charlie Yates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in a side-view room overlooking the pool with the ocean on our right. While we weren't directly facing the water, the balcony was still lovely to sit on without the price-tag of the ocean-view room. The wine and cheese cocktail hour is such a nice touch. It gives you a chance to have a pre-dinner snack, unlimited wine and enjoy the view. Our room was large and clean with a sitting area, king-size bed and fireplace. Wifi was included and the signal was strong.

The one downside was the water pressure in the shower. To be fair, Cambria is experiencing an extreme drought so that may have contributed to this issue.

Breakfast was a large spread with everything from eggs, home fries and sausages to waffles toast and cereal. Truly something for everyone. From what we could see, all the hotels/motels on Moonstone Beach and similar so it really comes down to amenities when making a decision on where to stay. Pelican Inn delivered and if we were to return we would come here again.

Room Tip: From the side view ocean rooms you can still see the water from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in an Ocean View room and had an AMAZING time! This was our 2nd time visiting. Rooms were roomy and clean. The bathroom had a jetted tub. There was a Wine/Cheese/Dessert hour which was lovely. The comp breakfast was the best we've ever had! Staff was very friendly. Best thing...right on Moonstone Drive. We will be back! Thanks for the great hospitality!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.