We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are thankful we got our money back!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Pelican Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Exclusive
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We are thankful we got our money back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We prepaid for a ocean view double queen (renovated) -when we checked in and saw the old dirty room, I was stressed! The place was over booked and they could not give us the room we prepaid for- they were not rude to me but the rest of my family, I left in the room. After much negotiation (about an hour) I was finally offered a credit. Took it and literally walk next store - Fog-catcher - and got a very nice room with an ocean view and a really good breakfast!

Don't offer something you cannot deliver! If people prepay- deliver on the original offer. My inlaws had to deal with the manager and supervisor - really rude - they tried to toss the my family out on the street. Not a good staff or business practice. Half the hotel in renovated - be careful most of the place is a dump!

Room Tip: Go to the Fog Catcher - smart staff, great family rooms, great breakfast, views and pricing! We just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations, as we pride ourselves on our service. Occasionally we are presented with challenges on a reservation and we make our best attempt to resolve the situation directly with the guest. I would ask for you to contact me directly to discuss the challenges that you experienced so that we may resolve them to your satisfaction, and again earn your confidence and loyalty as a guest of the Pelican Inn & Suites. Charles Yates – (805) 927-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    135
    29
    14
    15
See reviews for
83
278
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Pelican Inn & Suites in mid February 2013. Our primary reason for visiting was to see the elephant seals mating and pupping on the coast, and to simply enjoy the surrounding area. The Pelican Inn was ideal and provided us with everything we wanted.

Located on Moonstone Beach, many rooms have beautiful views of the ocean, and even if you don't have a view per se, all you have to do is walk across the street and you're on the boardwalk. We could hear the waves crashing at night. There are at least two other beaches within walking distance that are good for tide pooling and rock collecting, as well as sea otter sightings! There are also two very good restaurants just a few doors down.

The primary elephant seal viewing areas are a 10-15 minute drive up the road, and the heart of Cambria with its myriad cafes and shops is about 10 minutes the opposite direction. Perfect! Hearst Castle is also within 10 minutes by car.

The rooms at the Pelican Inn are modest but very nice, clean, and spacious. The staff was very welcoming (especially Michael at reception), and we enjoyed the setting, the complimentary breakfasts and the complimentary wine/cheese/dessert in the evenings. A perfect home away from home, we will definitely stay here again, and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I highly recommend a room with a view. These usually (but not always) include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in oceanview room number 207--it was delightful--and our grown daughter stayed in room 208. Both rooms were nearly identical. Each has a sitting area with fireplace oriented toward the ocean, which is just across the quiet feeder-street with easy access to the scenic boardwalk. A spectacular view of ocean and a windswept cyprus greeted us each time we opened the door. Appointments were lovely, including numbered prints on the walls, comfy robes, and ample pillows on the king bed and couch. Breakfasts were better than most, and guests are encouraged to take trays to their room if they so desire. The property felt like a good, small British hotel. It is five minutes to the town of Cambria and less than fifteen to San Simeon by car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our stay at Pelican Inn could not have been more delightful. The view to the Pacific is spectacular and our room (#208) gave us perfect viewing of the sunset each night. The room is well appointed. The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of pillows. The bath was well stocked with fluffy towels and nice amenities. The room included a refrigerator, micro and coffee maker. Wine tasting at 5:30 was very nice and featured some local wines and cheeses. The breakfast was delicious. Hot and cold items were available and the chef was tableside insuring everyone's satisfaction. I especially enjoyed walking on the boardwalk along the beach. It is just across the street and there are plenty of convenient access point. Very enjoyable. I also appreciate that we were able to walk to two restaurants that have ocean views. Life is easy and satisfying when you are a guest at the Pelican in.

Room Tip: Room 208 is great. Make sure to have an ocean view and upper levels have the best view, but lower l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my experience at Pelican Inn. Upgraded room since it was the low season, fast efficient check-in procedure, room was clean and spacious with fireplace. At first unsure if I should stay "in town" or on Moonstone Beach, I was very pleased with beach location. Woke up every morning to a great view, was able to stroll the oceanfront every day and there was even a restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our accommodations. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not bad for one of those community breakfast areas. It's a nice location and conveniently located a short walk from the Moonstone Bar & Grill. This turned out to be handy as we drove in later in the evening, and were interested in grabbing an easy dinner.

Like many of the other reviews, everything is a short distance (dining in downtown Cambria, hiking at Fascalini Ranch preserve, etc.).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After a 6 week holiday in the USA, this was the family's favourite motel. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with free wine/cheese tasting from the friendly staff who treated us like family. Large rooms with fireplaces (and free wifi for the teens), directly across the road from the most glorious coastline, with a free breakfast, made this a magical stay. While it was only an overnight stop to be near Hearst Castle, we could easily have stayed longer. It was the best $200 for 2 rooms I have ever spent on vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.