We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star across from the ocean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Pelican Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Cambria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 star across from the ocean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a nice hotel. we booked on Hotel.com. the hotel is in 3 sections and we were put in the building far from the office. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Room was small with a view of the ocean on the small patio. Will try on of the other hotels on Moonstone Beach Dr just for variety.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    95
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
211
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I stopped in Moonstone Beach during a drive from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We rolled in late after a day of hiking and were greeted with the Inn's complimentary wine and appetizer hour. It was the perfect start to a short, wonderful stay. The hotel is located on a short strip across from the beach. Any hotel on this road is going to be nicely located for the area, and a morning walk on the beach to check out the seals. Our room was super cozy with a view of the beach and a gas fireplace. I'd definitely recommend friends consider staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel as it is:
1. Right on the ocean. Walking distance to Cambria, walking beach paths, state park, etc
2. Newly remodeled rooms
3. One of the few places that offers a wonderful selection of complimentary wines, cheeses, and deserts in the afternoon
4. Great selection of items for hot breakfast
5. Friendly staff
My wife and I have been frequent visitors to Cambria and this plates rates amongst the best as far as amenities and to where it does not break the bank either to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located right across the street from the ocean which is the only reason I gave it 2 stars. The room itself stunk so bad of old musty, sweaty smells it was difficult to notice anything else. It definitely needs fresh paint, new carpeting, new furniture and new mattress and bedding. That's the only way you could possibly get the stink out of the room. The bathrooms needed to be upgraded as well. I would not recommend staying here unless you like smelling nasty musty odors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Pelican Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to post a review. As the General Manager I take all reviews seriously.We take pride in offering the best newly renovated ocean view rooms and suites on Moonstone Beach in Cambria. We had just completed extensive renovations to your suite prior to your stay, including NEW carpet, drapes, wall paper, furniture, LCD TV, bathroom fixtures and more. I am truly sorry that there was an unpleasant odor in your room, not typical at the Pelican Inn & Suites. Please contact me, I would like to discuss your stay with us. cyates@pelicansuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican Inn and Suites on a trip along the coast from LA to San Francisco. As we had never been to the area before, Pelican Inn and Cambria was a great stopover point for our leisurely drive. The Pelican Inn was quaint and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding very up to date.We loved the room/hallway furnishings and in the winter, the fireplace would be great addition. We booked a partial ocean view room and partial would be the key word here. Yes, we could see the ocean but you had to step clear out onto the little "porch" (barely big enough for two chairs) to see it. One thing that surprised us was the lack of air conditioning. I know this isn't unusual in California but we were unaware. We were there on a fairly warm day and we remarked that in the summer, the rooms could be hot. We opened the door to the hallway and our door to the outside to get a breeze to blow through. There was also a ceiling fan. The door to the outside didn't have a screen so all night we were sleeping on the first floor with a partially opened door. Not the most secure setting but it did provide us the relief we needed temperature wise within the room. The parking was "adequate" but very, very tight for our building in terms of number/size of spaces as well as the space required to pull out and maneuver. When we came back from dinner at 9 pm we had trouble finding a parking place. It would be nice if each room were assigned a space. The breakfast buffet was the usual fare, adequate to start your day. Access to the beach and boardwalk was great. Spent most of our daylight hours there. The reception staff was helpful in giving us advice on places to eat. We would definitely stay here again but would be more specific on our room requests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way down Hwy 1 to LA. Lovely hotel, beds super comfortable, loved the cheese and crackers in the afternoon, and buffet breakfast in the morning. Very clean, and very spacious. Across the road from the beach, if we ever come back to the USA wouldn't hesitate in staying again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had reservations for an Ocean Front Suite for three nights. Husband had eye surgery 2 days previous so this was a "Recovery trip" . We have been visiting Moonstone Beach for several years now and our old favorite hotel is not what it used to be so we gave Pelican Inn a try. It did not disappoint. We were looking for peace and quiet in beautiful, comfortable surroundings. We were checked in on Thursday by Jon and he was very accomodating and pleasant. The room was beautiful and warm, we slept like babies. The hot breakfast was nice, as was the wine and cheese in the late afternoon. The staff working in the dining room was consistently pleasant and gracious. We could not have asked for a nicer stay! I usually spend a good amount of time shopping the villages of Cambria, but not this trip...I didn't want to leave the hotel. The grounds are landscaped really nice also. I have already reserved our next trip to Moonstone Beach and the Pelican Inn!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and reserve the Ocean Front Room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Cambria
Pelican Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.