We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewing sea lions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Save Saved
You added Sea Otter Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6656 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Cambria
deltona, fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Viewing sea lions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic walkway steps away from the Pacific. Wonderful views of the shoreline and seals. We actually saw a mom seal nursing her baby just feet away from us. Great place to stay. Very quaint and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    107
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
54
124
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Sea Otter Inn in Cambria and loved it. We stayed in Room 126 with an ocean view. The room was very large, had a fireplace and the decor was charming. Two double windows with flower boxes filled with geraniums. Reminded me of an English cottage. The king sized bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and in good shape. I loved sitting in the comfortable chairs listening and looking at the ocean. Really nice to have the continental breakfast in the room before heading out for the day. The Inn had been recommended by a friend and we took advantage of the Travel Zoo special. Room was half the price of two other places we had stayed at on Moonstone Beach. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra cost to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay,California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everything about the Sea Otter Inn was wonderful; the cleanliness, the location of it right next to the beach with a lovely boardwalk, the comfortable room with the fireplace, the pool, the jacuzzi, the lovely gardens, the continental breakfast spread and friendliness of staff made the stay so awesome.

I also brought my dog with me, and this place being pet friendly was an A+ !

Room Tip: Seemingly every room is a good room. I stayed close to the pool , and it was super quiet since the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got this steal deal from a discount site and wondered how good they'd be since Im not familiar with the area. I was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness, cleanliness and decor of the motel. Its been carefully redone and the maintainence people do one of the best jobs of keeping this place up Ive ever seen. Their flowers and landscaping are the best Ive ever seen. What is really important to me is the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed. They excelled in that dept. The front desk guy really went out of his way to attend to every question I had. He became my travel agent among other things. This is a beautiful, relaxing place and hope all will enjoy. Note: it wasnt warm enough to swim but take a dip in the hot tub. Its also super clean and great after a hard day of touring.

Room Tip: check for a steal deal of $69 per nite on travelzoo or others of the like. Thats half price and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pretty nice, with only minor problems. There are many hotels around here which are probably fairly similar. This is about as close as you can stay to Hearst Castle.

Pros:
- Nice location across a quiet street from the ocean. There's nothing built on the ocean side of the road, so it seems pretty nice. We only stayed the night, though, so we didn't really see it very well.
- Rooms, furniture, and bathrooms are pleasant.
- Staff is pleasant.

Cons:
- Gas fireplace is loud when switching on or off - it kept waking us up when it did this. As this is the room's source of heat, you won't avoid this if the weather is cool.
- Breakfast leaned a bit toward the unhealthy pastry side, though they were pretty nice-looking pastries compared to other hotel breakfasts. You need to bring your breakfast from the office back to your room on a tray.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A one night stop on our travels down the PCH. Overall, pleased I suppose. Cute and charming room. Outdated bathroom. Fireplace was a nice touch and the room decor was pretty. Loved that it was literally across the street from the beach. Front desk staff wasn't exactly friendly and that's a shame. Did have to kill a spider in the tub and a beetle on the bed and that's no good either. For the price though, I think we did okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Sea Otter Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We're glad you liked your room, the fireplace, the decor, and our location on Moonstone Beach Drive. Please accept my personal apologies that our front desk staff did not meet your expectations. We will take your feedback to heart as we do our best to live up to our goal of treating every guest with kindness, courtesy, and a welcoming spirit. Sorry you found a few uninvited critters in your room; we will inform our pest control technician.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

LOCATION – Very easy to find, right on the main road through the town. Hotel is just across the road from lovely Moonstone beach and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

ROOM – Nice, cosy, traditional décor. The room we stayed in had a fireplace in living area with large sofas. It also had two bathrooms with toiletries and hairdryer, a utility sink, coffee maker and microwave. Large bedroom with large table and chairs.

HOTEL & FACILITIES – Peaceful with pretty gardens and a small pool. Parking right outside room. Good breakfast in reception that you can take back to your room, with a good selection of food, teas and coffees.

We were upgraded due to a change in someone else’s booking, but the lady who delivered this good news to us at reception did it in a rather brusque manner, which was a bit odd. But the man in the reception at breakfast time was charming.

VALUE FOR MONEY – Yes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view spa tub rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Otter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.