We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so glad we stayed here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sand Pebbles Inn to your Saves list
Sand Pebbles Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6252 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre Summer Sale Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“so glad we stayed here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

we read reviews on trip advisor and decided to stay here instead of san simeon, we were very happy we did, the hotel is right on the ocean and cambria is a charming town, great restaurants, the moonstone grill is a beautiful 5 minute walk along the beach. It only took us 10 minutes to get to hearst castle the next day
the staff was very friendly, excellent breakfast and cookies

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    124
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
108
250
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is a cute inn with nice staff, pleasant rooms and nice small touches such as tea and cookies throughout the day. The setting on the beach is delightful with walking/running paths over the ocean. It is also about a 10-15 minute drive to the Hearst castle in San Simeon. A must are the elephant seals nearby at a lookout just a bit past the turnout for the Hearst casle driving north on highway 1

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

This lodging is in a great location. We had an ocean view room which was lovely. We left the window open all night and it truly was a wonderful experience to fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore.

The staff was just okay. They didn't have that overall "we want to please" attitude that we found at other establishments. Our room was nice, but not as nice as I expected for the price.

Breakfast was very good. Unlike others, we did not mind eating at the tables in the hallway. We were just happy they had breakfast.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We absolutely loved the Sand Pebbles Inn!. Tano, the manager, was amazing. We were treated like royalty and had the perfect relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Our experience at the Sand Pebbles Inn could not have been better. We were warmly welcomed by the manager who personally showed us to our lovely room. Our room was bright and cheery and very well-appointed. Super comfy beds and pillows. The breakfast was wonderful and the "tea" time that they set up in the afternoons is a fantastic touch. It's the little things that this hotel does that set it apart from the rest. I highly recommend it and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I go to cambria severall times a year, and have stayed at sand pebbles inn often. I have noticed a big change in the service, and the overall attidude of the employees. The evening staff was rude, frequently not at the desk to help. The hotel itself remains clean, but the breakfast was not fresh. This is unfortunate because i really like the view from the hotel room and will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

This remains the best place to stay in Cambria, but there are some caveats.
The rooms are nice, but there are no comfy chairs to sit and watch the ocean. The building is flimsily built, and noise from the upstairs rooms can be bothersome. The breakfasts have been reported as great - they are not. They are very basic. If you wish to have a nice breakfast, go downtown. The hot-tub is smallish, and not as spacious as the Moonstone Landing (another favorite). If you wish to share your tub, you're in for a squeeze.

In general, I prefer not to stay on Moonstone Drive, as it is quite busy with cars and through traffic. I therefore recommend a room not facing the road.

Small complaints though. This place is very nice.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Pebbles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.