We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location and Comfort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sand Pebbles Inn to your Saves list
Sand Pebbles Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6252 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre Summer Sale Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location, Location and Comfort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This little Inn is right across the road from the ocean - the views and sounds of the sea are wonderful. Our room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped - we chose a room with an ocean front terrace, which I recommend. The breakfast buffet was terrific and included fresh waffles with all the trimmings. Across the road, there is a long seaside boardwalk with many scenic outlooks to enjoy. The staff were friendly and welcoming and it was no trouble to obtain a corkscrew and wine glasses to enjoy in our room. My only comment for improvement is that the washroom, although spacious and clean, was quite dated with tarnished fixtures and some tile and glass staining just from use over time.

Room Tip: Ocean front patio rooms have outdoor seating to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast and of course, the ocean front rooms are always a good choice. There is nothing quite as soothing as the sounds of the ocean to rock you to sleep. The views are expansive so many of our guests enjoy their evening sunset and some nice local wine. It's a good way to end the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    124
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
108
250
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for a night in June 2014 after driving through the Big Sur area. Very nice hotel with lovely décor. Across from the beach. Had nice coffee/tea/iced water station in the lobby. No breakfast. Easy drive to Hearst Castle. We stayed in a room with a partial ocean view, which was nice but probably not necessary (you had to stand by the window to see the view). Would stay here again, would recommend to friends or family.

Room Tip: Not sure the partial ocean view was worth it. Had to stand by the window for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hi Lupe!!!! I promised I'd mention her. It took me forever to write since our Oct trip, but I HAD to tell you about Cambria and Sand Pebbles Inn. Our family did 7 days in San Fran, drove down Hwy 1 to see Hearst Castle then did LA the weekend and ended up at Disney for 4 days. Out of ALL of it our favorite part was right there at the Sand Pebbles Inn in Cambria. We were soooo sorry we just stayed overnight. Who knew!? As a matter of fact, it was spur of the moment...but it was SOOO nice!. Hearst Castle rocks!!! Hearst tours are short and only average priced...not cheap. So we decided to go to some sights nearby...EXCELLENT choice. Go to the Rookery...Sea lion haven...so cute and fun....ok...smelly, but FUN :D I wanted to do way more...Lighthouse tour, cool deli rated highly in Trip Advisor..can't remember name....just search TripAdvisor Cambria. We did take the time to do Moonstone Beach...little did I know it was STEPS away from Sand Pebbles Inn!!! Right across the street!!! Gorgeous, gorgeous little board walk, and great little manageable piece of the ocean for a first timer to the West Coast, like me. Picturesque...little beach. So loved it. I can't say enough.

Also, back to Sand Pebble Inn. People were top notch, don't miss the waffles at breakfast. I didn't even know breakfast came with it and I thought it was the best priced deal before I knew that.

If I ever get back to the area I'll make it priority to go here!!!!

RELAXING!!!! Can hear waves crashing as I drift off.

Room Tip: No pool.....ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Sand Pebbles Inn.It doesn't get much better than perfect. It sounds like you really explored the area for a short stay. For a first trip to the West Coast, you discovered a town that many native Californians still haven't found. Cambria is a bit of a hidden gem! We look forward to your next (longer) stay.

ps...Was Sebastian's the deli you referenced? (Very close to Hearst Castle, and the state beach.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights on a road trip along the coast.
The hotel is in a great location, right accross from Moonstone beach.
Staff was very friendly and the hotels overall was clean and comfortable.
We decided to splurge on an ocean front room, which was great for views of the ocean and sunsets.
For what we paid, I was a little disappointed in some aspects of our ocean front room.
Firstly, the websites advertises it as a private balcony. This is generally a true statement, in that you are not literally sharing the balcony. However, the dividers between the balconies have lots of gaps and is not a solid and private divider. So you can see what the people on the next balcony are doing. In my eyes, its not really a 'private' balcony.
Also, whilst the internet was free, the signal in the room was so weak that it was unworkable most of the time. The fact we paid for the most expensive room, we got the worst internet service. This is something that needs to be fixed. Overall good hotel, but a little over priced.

Room Tip: The private ocean front balconies are not totally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel right on Moonstone beach. The rooms were comfortable with everything that is needed. The staff were very approachable.
The rooms in the centre of the property have a rather limited view of the beach.

The location is ideal to visit Hearst Castle and to start the amazing highway 1 drive north.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We are happy you found everything to your liking, and of course, always happy to hear the staff was helpful. We wish they could all be oceanfront rooms, but the beach is mere steps from the hotel for all to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. The beach area and boardwalk are beautiful and steps away from the hotel. Our room was very clean, roomy, and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a good DVD selection. Breakfast waffles were delicious, and there was a good variety of other breakfast items. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The back rooms by the lobby are less expensive, but you can hear a little traffic noise if the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We are glad you had a chance to stay a few days and really experience the area. Cambria is quite a special place and we enjoy sharing our favorite spots with our guests. The boardwalk is a fairly recent addition to Moonstone Beach, but it has become quite a favorite of our guests for strolling at sunset or a good morning run. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Sand Pebbles Inn. The beach area around the hotel was beautiful, our room was very clean and well appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The in-room fireplace was a nice touch. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, too! We extend special thanks to Lupe, who made us feel very welcome during our visit. We can't wait to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review and for thanking our staff, Lupe. We strive to provide a guest experience that will make you want to return and we love hearing that you were so happy with your service. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Pebbles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.