We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When is an Inn, not?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Save Saved
You added Sand Pebbles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Pebbles Inn
6252 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Cambria
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“When is an Inn, not?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It seems that the Central Coast uses the work Inn to mean any accommodation. This is a large motel. In a row of large motels. Across a quiet street from a lovely beach.

Staff were OK, room was small and not very well equipped. I did tell them I had two kids and they assured me the room I booked was a suite. Not sure that's the word I would have used. It was a rectangular room partially split by building a cupboard and a fireplace. We ended up having a fight to see who would have to sleep on the very poor sleeper sofa - the kids lost.

There is nothing charming, characterful or interesting about this place. When I hear the word Inn I have in my imagination something romantic and picturesque. Wrong.

Breakfast was exactly what I expect from a motel. We took one look and went elsewhere. In my opinion, it was an expensive mistake.

If you don't get a room overlooking the sea, you could be anywhere. Its probably better to get somewhere less high profile and drive to the beach.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balcony's overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We recently purchased this Hotel from a previous company. Our goal is to improve upon the décor and ambiance of the rooms. We have already expanded the continental breakfast by adding bagels and fresh baked scones. We realize there is more work to be done, so please give us the opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs in the future. I think you will be pleasantly surprised the next time you visit Cambria.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    105
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
90
209
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I just spent our wedding anniversary at the Sand Pebbles Inn in Cambria. The hotel is right across from the water and the hotel was very clean and the rooms were big. The bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the cookies left for us each morning. Breakfast was downstairs and the food was very fresh with lots to choose from - including made to order waffles !!! Seems to be a popular place to stay and we can now see why. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our location for celebrating your Wedding Anniversary. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. It is such a nice time to be in Cambria, with the warm weather and bountiful sunsets.
Thank you for your comments!
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Sand Pebbles Inn is one of my two favorite places to stay in Cambria - the other being its sister hotel The Blue Dolphin Inn. You can't go wrong staying in either hotel, but if you are traveling with family, I would recommend The Sand Pebbles Inn, which seems to be more family-friendly. It's location, right across from the ocean, couldn't be more perfect. There's nothing better than going to sleep listening to the waves. The rooms are spacious and the beds heavenly!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with an ocean view. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at one of our Moonstone locations. It is our goal to provide a superior customer experience. I am happy that we were able to do so while staying with us. We hope you return soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at this Inn 4 times since January of 2012. All the rooms have been great and clean. The bathroom amenities are awesome!! The beds are comfortable. The ocean view rooms with the patio are amazing. The breakfast has so many choices and the waffles well those are the best. So you are wondering why only a one star review: In January I got engaged at the Sand Pebbles so naturally when we decided to pick a honeymoon place we decided on the Sand Pebbles Inn. We made our reservation in March. In October 1.5 weeks before our honeymoon stay we called to confirm our reservations. At that time we were told that the hotel would be closed due to roof repair and that we would be moved to the Blue Dolphin Inn!! THEY did not call or email to let us know the change so we wonder if we had not called what would have happened. My partner asked for a confirmation to be sent via email. The next day nothing....so a few days later she called back to check on the status and her call was met with a very rude person who proceeded to argue about the confirmation being sent. She was not understanding about the situation at all. Even had the nerve to tell us she was disappointed with the whole thing as well......it was not her that was disrespected!! My partner got the number of the Blue Dolphin as we sadly decided after the rude customer service and not contacting us in the first place to cancel our reservation. When we called we were delighted that our favorite front desk person, Sandra, formerly from the Sand Pebbles Inn answered. She apologized and said she would let the general manager know about what happened. Well it has been a month since that conversation and still no email apology or phone call....this is how repeat customers are treated? That is not ok in our book. We are saddened because this was our special place to stay and favorite weekend get-a-way spot. We were looking forward to many more stays at this Inn but after this situation we will have to find another place to stay. (Our honeymoon stay would have been October 16-18 of this year)

Room Tip: In our opinion there are no bad rooms. If you decide to stay here splurge on an ocean front patio r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
First of all, thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not getting back to you to inform you of the Roofing Project prior to your stay. Once I was notified, I made every attempt to call and notify guest prior to their arrival that this was going to occur. I am sorry that I did not contact you prior to you calling to confirm your reservation. My intention was to accommodate our guest at our Premier Property, also located on Moonstone Beach. We strive each and every day to provide our guest with a “superior customer experience”. I have taken the necessary steps with the employee who was rude to you so that this does not happen in the future. This is unacceptable and will not be tolerated. As you may know, no matter what you physically do to a business to make it beautiful, it is wasted without staff that care. I appreciate your business and your loyally to our brand. I hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Sand Pebbles is in a beautiful spot, just across the street from Moonstone Beach. The person at the check-in desk couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. You could tell she loved her job!

The property is very clean and well maintained. We were in room 204 and didn't purchase a ocean front room, but we had a fireplace in our room, a refrigerator and microwave and the room was spacious. The hotel is also quiet and in walking distance of the Sea Chest Oyster Bar (great food) and another Moonstone Bar & Grill.

We would stay here again and only wished we were staying more than 1 night! A great property that obviously is taken care of with TLC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Every day we strive to provide a superior customer experience. It is wonderful to hear that the Guest Service Host made you feel welcome and that your accommodations were comfortable.
Please come and see us again soon!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent one night here on the way to Monterey from LA. Staff were very pleasant and but the continental breakfast could be improved. Stayed in room 212 with a nice view of the ocean. A little pricey but on par with most hotels in the area. Could use a vending machine in the lobby for pop or bottled water. Would stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor near the front good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your room. I appreciate your comments regarding the vending machine and breakfast selection. I am planning on some additional items for our breakfast selection. The suggestions that we have received from our guest has made an impact on our management team. We look forward to providing our guest with some new items in the future.
Thank you for staying with us on Moonstone Beach. I hope that you return soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stopped here for a night on a Hwy 1 drive from San Francisco to LA. Overall it is nice for an Inn style hotel. Couple of downsides, not air-conditioning so was very hot at night on a 27 degree day. Rooms are quite small with low ceiling, and breakfast was nice but no savoury options. Service was very good, but make sure you don't arrive after 10pm as you have to go down the road to check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambria
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, The Sand Pebbles Inn is located on Moonstone Beach Drive where the "Sea meets the Pines." The Inn offers cozy rooms, all with comfortable king or queen beds and fireplaces. In room amenities include European blend coffee and Dorothy Prentice bathroom amenities.In the morning you will enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast and in the afternoon tea, cookies and sparkling cider. Be sure to take advantage of our California vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Pebbles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.