We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Colibri Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“LOVED this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on our way up the Pacific Coast Highway. We knew ahead of time that it was not across from the beach like many other area hotels but the special opening price of $109 was irresistable and the place looked amazing in the pictures. It turned out to be even nice in person. We stayed on the first floor. Ask for a room at the back for sure. Those rooms face a wooded area with greenery which is quite pretty. There is a huge floor to ceiling patio door that opens up with a juliet balcony. Definately get a room located there. The ceilings are 10 feet high which was awesome. It feels so open. The bathrooms are huge and very nice! Very nice boutique hotel. The beach and walking trail is about 1/2 mile walk and we could hear it from our room, albeit not like you would at the beach hotels. We would definately stay again. Not sure how much the price is now that they have been open a while. We enjoyed the use of the outdoor hot tub located on a second story terrace. Had it all to ourselves with a bottle of wine! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slofoodie_2, Public Relations Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at El Colibri. We are a new hotel and very much appreciate your feed-back. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    104
    23
    9
    20
See reviews for
47
207
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pasadena
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

This is our return visit to this most lovely hotel. The second time around, I was able to enjoy the beauty of the decor detail- just beautiful...
The El Colibri has a very nice and friendly staff and the rooms are really comfortable. I will stay here everytime we do a coastal trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

There are no ocean views here, but it is within walking distance. The hotel is very modern and clean. I mean it is very noticeably clean and well kept. Such accommodations in remote locations are very hard to find, considering many of the accommodations are starting to show their age. The staff aims to please. They brought ice to the room when the ice machine ran out, offered complimentary wine tasting and olive oil tasting, and were willing to bring out continental breakfast for us even when we ran late. The spa facility was very clean, with two massage rooms, a steam shower, showers in each restroom, and a jacuzzi tub. We had the fortune of having it to ourselves. The facility is surrounded by mature trees. Again, we feel this is a hidden gem and not many people know about this hotel/spa. The decorations, mood music, and interior designs are warm, welcoming, and conducive for relaxing. Planning to stay here for our upcoming 10yr wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poohkey@yahoo.com
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed here on a trip down the coast of California. This is near Hurst Castle. This is a lovely hotel, quite romantic. The whole hotel smells so good I wish I knew how they do that. Like a spa. It was a relaxing oasis on a very busy trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

The el colibri is a lovely bright modern clean and relaxing hotel.The rooms are lovely with a nice spacious bathroom. The restaurant/bar is adequate and the complimentary breakfast had a great choice , was quick and easy before dashing back off on our travels. The hotel does not have a seafront location however you are able to walk to shops and restaurants easily.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

If you're looking for a place to stay w/ your family if you're planning on visiting Hearst Castle, I would not recommend this hotel. It is not geared towards families w/ young children. There is no pool or restaurant in the hotel. It is also virtually in the middle of nowhere, so there is only a small town that you can visit for food. The television reception in one room of the hotel does not also work (this was of course our room). This was not a surprise to the front desk because according to them, the reception it that particular room is bad. It was also very difficult to sleep in this one room, because the room they gave us was next to a very loud ice machine. The gasheated fireplace was impossible to turn off and there was no air conditioner to cool down the room! When we told the front desk of our television reception, they told us they could not guarantee that it would be fixed the next morning, but they can offer us the same room, but we would have to check out the next morning into another room because the hotel was booked the next night. They did offer us another option, a larger room for 2 consecutive nights, which was our original reservation, but at a higher rate! They did not attempt to work w/ us. Needless to say, we were not satisfied and instead of staying for 2 nights, decided to check out the very next morning after breakfast. The only positive thing about our stay, is the room was clean and the free internet service. The room was also very small and not as pictured on-line. I would not recommend this hotel if you're traveling w/ young children. It's basically only geared towards couples.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slofoodie_2, Public Relations Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
We're really sorry that the hotel was not a good fit for your vacation lodging needs, and that you had a disappointing experience. We try really hard to be a place where people can come to relax and refresh for a few days of quiet, beach time, wine touring and often, romance. Again, we apologize if we somehow represented the hotel differently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I booked El Colibri as part of a two day drive along the pacific coast highway to LA. This was very well priced for what is a top notch hotel - beautiful rooms, facilities. The wine bar was comfortable with a great selection of games for us to play whilst enjoying some very pleasant local wines! It would have been great if it had had a pool, but it wasn't important for a one night stop over. It was also in only a very short drive or walk if you were feeling energetic to a variety of restaurants on offer in Cambria.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Colibri Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Address: 5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Colibri Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wine and appetizer bar offers a variety tastes waiting for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Colibri Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colibri Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colibri Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.