We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Modern Hotel w/ Great Beds & Wine Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added El Colibri Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
Atascadero, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, Modern Hotel w/ Great Beds & Wine Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I went with my wife for a short stay and really enjoyed our brief vacation. The rooms were large with a fireplace, separate sitting area and beautiful large bathrooms. We enjoyed the large jacuzzi tub in the room, as well as the steam sauna and rooftop jacuzzi. We also enjoyed the convenience of the wine bar in the hotel and their ample/reasonably priced appetizers. The staff were most helpful and arranged dinner and tickets to visit Hearst Castle.

Highly recommend & will return again.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back overlook the nature preserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    102
    22
    8
    19
See reviews for
47
202
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our second stay at the El Colibri Hotel and Spa. We found the rooms just as inviting as we did previously. It can be a very romantic stay - fireplaces in the rooms, sauna on the 2nd floor and an outdoor spa. The front desk clerk (female) wasn't very friendly this year - perhaps she had a bad day. We will not let her mood restrict us from staying again! Love the room and location, even if there isn't a view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I really like this hotel. The staff is wonderful, and they go out of their way to be of service. I would have given this hotel an excellent review, but the blower fan that is in the bathroom is very loud and cannot be turned off, so being a light sleeper, made it uncomfortable for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Check in was a breeze. I had a massage with Terry and it was amazing. You can hear the waves from your room. The breakfast selection is perfect. Holly was so nice and helpful. We will be back for sure. Don't miss the live music night, so much fun!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised how nice this adorable boutique-like hotel is. The hotel, room, spa area are all exceptionally lean (and I'm very picky) and the bedding is very comfortable. They had a great guitar singer in the bar area and the staff were very friendly. I'd definitely stay here again!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was brave, but I took my entire family here for new years. 6 toddlers, in-laws, adults...i was expecting a disaster. Somehow it all went great. And the hotel was the reason. It is in our favorite location, there was great music, and new years was filled with champagne and food. The owner was there and she was nice to us. One caution is that the room with the king and queen is right above the noise, so don't get it if you want sleep during the nights they have entertainment. Otherwise, I highly recommend. Not the most kid friendly, but the breakfast made up for it.

Room Tip: not the queen and king room over the live music on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is well situated on Moonstone Beach Drive. The room was large and well appointed, including a fireplace. The staff was friendly and informative regarding the area and local restaurants and sites. The breakfast was more than ample and located in a very inviting area.
We didn't get a chance to use the spa but it looked like it would be something we might enjoy the next time.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all the rooms are large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Colibri Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Address: 5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Colibri Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wine and appetizer bar offers a variety tastes waiting for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your El Colibri Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colibri Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colibri Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.