We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conforting Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Colibri Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Conforting Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is well situated on Moonstone Beach Drive. The room was large and well appointed, including a fireplace. The staff was friendly and informative regarding the area and local restaurants and sites. The breakfast was more than ample and located in a very inviting area.
We didn't get a chance to use the spa but it looked like it would be something we might enjoy the next time.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all the rooms are large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    107
    23
    9
    21
See reviews for
47
210
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night after traveling through the area, visiting the Hearst Castle, etc. I was very nervous because of the other reviews but it looked like the nicest hotel in the area. It was totally fine! It is a very boutique-y hotel - there was not a lot of staff so don't expect help with your luggage - but the rooms were very nice, clean and well appointed. It is in a great location, you can't see the ocean from the hotel but you just walk outside onto a boardwalk and you're there in about 2 minutes. I think i met the manager/owner that everyone is talking about and while he wasn't effusive or warm, he did provide us with the information we were looking for. I think he's just not a people person, which is a shame considering his occupation - but for one night it was just right!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were there during the Cambria Scarecrow Festival which is delightful. Just a short down the boardwalk to the ocean. Attentive staff, very nice rooms and close enough to launch some great wine trips in Paso Robles. Great winter rates as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife, myself and my children had an encounter with the infamous mean manager PRAGNA I say infamous because I was shocked when I read all the bad reviews about the manager PRAGNA on YELP and TRIPADVISOR. She didn't spoil our trip or anything...but she treated us poorly enough that I wanted to go online and see if anyone else had a strange and confrontational experience at El Colbiri. Guess I'm not alone in this one. PRAGNA taught my children a good lesson on how not to treat people. I don't believe that she's the owner of this hotel. Otherwise, she would have been nicer and understood that good customer service and a quality experience brings people back to your establishment. Pretty walls and tile...Yucky vibe and environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Compared to the other options in Cambria (I was surprised at the lack of high-end hotels in this area), El Colibri is probably one of (if not THE) nicest. But if you put this hotel in any other popular destination, it would be very average. The photos make it seem fancier than it is. I will give them this -- the rooms are definitely clean and it's nice having a Keurig in your room. Mattress is great, pillows were horrible (they are so overstuffed, it hurts your neck sleeping on them!). Fireplace is okay -- it's basically just a fancy heater. Workmanship in the rooms is somewhat low budget. For example, the tile above the tub has wires sticking out of it where the mesh the tile is attached to is poking out. Also, they have somewhat cheesy framed posters as the "artwork" in the rooms. Lady at the front desk (they don't even have a counter, it's literally a desk) was nice. Continental breakfast -- disappointing. I was very suprised to read a review complimenting the breakfast. They had cereals (Cheerios for example), some fruit, Yoplait yogurt, milk, and muffins and bagels. Coffee and OJ to drink. Carbs and sugar -- that's it! Some of the nicer places will offer at least boiled eggs. In any case, I don't want to bash the place because they really do try and the hotel is very conveniently located near Main Street. I would recommend you stay here but just keep your expectations in check. You might be expecting a little more for the price you're paying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is not a cheap hotel, but we had a wonderful experience here. Our room had a jacuzzi with entrance from the bathroom and opening to the bedroom, and a nice gas fireplace. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, and the buffet breakfast was also very good. It's a 1 minute walk from moonstone beach. I didn't give full score to the location only because most of the businesses and restaurant are on the other side of highway 1, but there's traffic light, and if you really want to, it's only a 10 minute walk to Cambria's town center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is decorated beautifully and the staff are very friendly. The lounge area is a great place to relax with a glass of wine and some appetizers. The room was clean, tastefully decorated, and had a whirlpool bathtub. We felt the rate was reasonable and good value. We have stayed a couple of times and staff are always friendly and accommodating. Our favorite Cambria hotel. Oh....the spa has very good massage therapists! We were pleasantly surprised by how good they were!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are our favorite, on north side of hotel overlooking creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Colibri Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Address: 5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Colibri Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wine and appetizer bar offers a variety tastes waiting for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Colibri Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colibri Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colibri Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.