We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambria at it's best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added El Colibri Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Cambria
Exeter, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cambria at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in Cambria at the El Colibri Hotel & Spa in January 2012. The accommodations were great and the staff was friendly. It was our anniversary and friends called ahead and ordered a cheese/fruit tray. The hotel staff sprinkled rose petals and chocolates on the bed with a personalized note from the manager! We could not have been more surprised or happy. Robes are supplied to access the 24 hour spa. Continental breakfast was nice. We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    98
    21
    8
    19
See reviews for
45
198
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We arrived there on our anniversary week and were not disappointed, well a little because we had to leave the next morning for are drive to Mendocino. This is a spa/hotel with private parking underneath it. New and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Very cure a romantic hotel.
Although it is situated just off the highway, the rooms are new and are equipped well enough to more than compensate for the location.
The staff was extremely helpful, offering us advise about what to see and where to go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My Mom and I shared a weekend of relaxing and exploring. We stayed 2 nights at El Colibri. We enjoyed their wine tasting and spa treatments. We relaxed in their spa and enjoyed the fireplace in our room. The resort and room were clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed inSeptember 2010, after we had taken on the mamouth drive from San Fran, down the coastal roads ( including 'The Big Sur') and really should of allowed a little more time to absord all of the amazing sites along the way... all of this meant that we were navigating the wibbly wobbly roads of the Big Sur in darkness (and in the September fog!) so by the time we had arrived, we were a little releived to have made it to our hotel (with enough gas!).

We could have ended up at any hotel and felt relief... but this place, wot a welcome sight it was, a plush room, very much a spa hotel, from the little we saw of it (having arrived so late). we managed to muster up some energy to leave our room for a visit to the outdoor jacuzzi on a little terrace- the perfect place to relax and un-wind, the only (very slight) shame was that there was no view from the jacuzzi- that would've been the cherry on top, but it was lovely all the same.

It was a very quiet hotel, as you might hope to find in a spa hotel and we had a very restful and relaxing stay. The beds were super comfy, the room had a lovely ambience of calm & comfort, with a view over the gardens. The bathroom - beautifully clean, spacious, with modern finishings, a walk-in shower and a bath (separate- which I love!), soft fluffy robes and the usual cute little toiletries.

Breakfast had a 'healthy theme' with plenty of cereals and fresh fruit, bagels etc although I think from what I recall there were some not quite so healthy options too i.e. pastries/ muffins etc.

We only stayed the one night on our way through to LA, but I'm sure this place would be worthy of a longer stay, especially if you plan to use the spa facilities. There's also a castle nearby which you could visit, not to mention the numerous parks scattered along the coastal road north of Cambria.

All in all- I would definiately stop here if we pass by again and absolutely recommend this place to my friends, family... and to you :D

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed at the El Colibri Hotel for two nights in December, 2011. Although there are many hotels/motels in Cambria, I chose the El Colibri because it looked a little more upscale than some of the motor lodges that faced the beach. I chose right.

The hotel is modern and very clean. There are only 34 rooms, so it is fairly small and intimate. I stayed in an executive jacuzzi king room on the 2nd floor, which is the top floor. The room was huge and comfortable. The bathroom had beautiful tile floors, a jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The four-poster king bed was very comfortable, and the linens were top quality. There were bathrobes in the room to wear when visiting the spa, which had a steam room and an outdoor community jacuzzi. The corner room had a fireplace and a lovely view of the woods outside. When I opened the large windows, I could hear the ocean just beyond the trees. The beach is accessible via a lovely stroll on a wooden boardwalk.

The staff was professional and friendly. I felt very welcome from the moment I arrived. The smoke detector in my room was chirping when I checked in, and someone came to change the battery within 10 minutes of my call to the front desk. They offered restaurant recommendations, and were very sincere.

Unlike many other hotels, I never felt nickel-and-dimed. Wifi was free. Parking was convenient and complimentary. The continental breakfast was also included, and it was served in a lovely lounge with a fireplace. It was the perfect start to the day.

I recommend the Black Cat Bistro for dinner, which is on Main Street, just a short walk or drive from the hotel. Also, there is a magnificent hike on the bluff above the ocean at Fiscalini Ranch, which is a five minute drive from the hotel. Of course, the wineries in Paso Robles are a 30-minute drive away, along a gorgeously scenic highway.

I highly recommend the El Colibri. I cannot think of anything that didn't meet or exceed my expectations during my visit!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the woods, away from the main road. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very nice clean room. Large bathroom. Nice fireplace. Great service. We were on the top floor and opened the window to hear the ocean. Very quality hotel. The continental breakfast was very good and healthy. Yogurt, 6 types of fruit, bagels, scones, toast, cereal, oatmeal, granola, and more. The wooden walkway to the beach begins right outside the hotel. Nice short walk. Could also walk right across the street to the downtown area. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side to hear the ocean and not the hwy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Colibri Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Address: 5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Colibri Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wine and appetizer bar offers a variety tastes waiting for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Colibri Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colibri Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colibri Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.