We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wot a GEM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Colibri Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wot a GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed inSeptember 2010, after we had taken on the mamouth drive from San Fran, down the coastal roads ( including 'The Big Sur') and really should of allowed a little more time to absord all of the amazing sites along the way... all of this meant that we were navigating the wibbly wobbly roads of the Big Sur in darkness (and in the September fog!) so by the time we had arrived, we were a little releived to have made it to our hotel (with enough gas!).

We could have ended up at any hotel and felt relief... but this place, wot a welcome sight it was, a plush room, very much a spa hotel, from the little we saw of it (having arrived so late). we managed to muster up some energy to leave our room for a visit to the outdoor jacuzzi on a little terrace- the perfect place to relax and un-wind, the only (very slight) shame was that there was no view from the jacuzzi- that would've been the cherry on top, but it was lovely all the same.

It was a very quiet hotel, as you might hope to find in a spa hotel and we had a very restful and relaxing stay. The beds were super comfy, the room had a lovely ambience of calm & comfort, with a view over the gardens. The bathroom - beautifully clean, spacious, with modern finishings, a walk-in shower and a bath (separate- which I love!), soft fluffy robes and the usual cute little toiletries.

Breakfast had a 'healthy theme' with plenty of cereals and fresh fruit, bagels etc although I think from what I recall there were some not quite so healthy options too i.e. pastries/ muffins etc.

We only stayed the one night on our way through to LA, but I'm sure this place would be worthy of a longer stay, especially if you plan to use the spa facilities. There's also a castle nearby which you could visit, not to mention the numerous parks scattered along the coastal road north of Cambria.

All in all- I would definiately stop here if we pass by again and absolutely recommend this place to my friends, family... and to you :D

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    113
    24
    11
    27
See reviews for
52
230
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed at the El Colibri Hotel for two nights in December, 2011. Although there are many hotels/motels in Cambria, I chose the El Colibri because it looked a little more upscale than some of the motor lodges that faced the beach. I chose right.

The hotel is modern and very clean. There are only 34 rooms, so it is fairly small and intimate. I stayed in an executive jacuzzi king room on the 2nd floor, which is the top floor. The room was huge and comfortable. The bathroom had beautiful tile floors, a jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The four-poster king bed was very comfortable, and the linens were top quality. There were bathrobes in the room to wear when visiting the spa, which had a steam room and an outdoor community jacuzzi. The corner room had a fireplace and a lovely view of the woods outside. When I opened the large windows, I could hear the ocean just beyond the trees. The beach is accessible via a lovely stroll on a wooden boardwalk.

The staff was professional and friendly. I felt very welcome from the moment I arrived. The smoke detector in my room was chirping when I checked in, and someone came to change the battery within 10 minutes of my call to the front desk. They offered restaurant recommendations, and were very sincere.

Unlike many other hotels, I never felt nickel-and-dimed. Wifi was free. Parking was convenient and complimentary. The continental breakfast was also included, and it was served in a lovely lounge with a fireplace. It was the perfect start to the day.

I recommend the Black Cat Bistro for dinner, which is on Main Street, just a short walk or drive from the hotel. Also, there is a magnificent hike on the bluff above the ocean at Fiscalini Ranch, which is a five minute drive from the hotel. Of course, the wineries in Paso Robles are a 30-minute drive away, along a gorgeously scenic highway.

I highly recommend the El Colibri. I cannot think of anything that didn't meet or exceed my expectations during my visit!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the woods, away from the main road. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very nice clean room. Large bathroom. Nice fireplace. Great service. We were on the top floor and opened the window to hear the ocean. Very quality hotel. The continental breakfast was very good and healthy. Yogurt, 6 types of fruit, bagels, scones, toast, cereal, oatmeal, granola, and more. The wooden walkway to the beach begins right outside the hotel. Nice short walk. Could also walk right across the street to the downtown area. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side to hear the ocean and not the hwy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I was trying to make a reservation and had a little of a runaround. In the end though Holly the General Manager accommodated us in a fabulous room. I think after looking at all others for sure the best. But how can you choose all rooms are very nicely set up modern, contemporary with great amenities. The Bath is nice (a hook or two for hanging up towels would be great)
Environment friendly, but the sugars, mils, jams were in small throw away containers.
The fireplace was only lighting up if you had the temperature all the way up. SAUNA.
Their service was over the top great. Alex and Robbie were "indeed" some gems.
The girl in the morning at breakfast very nice.
Breakfast totally sufficient and healthy.
Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms even to the street are quiet. This is a very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend for a birthday getaway for me. It was the best birthday ever! The location was perfect, close enough to walk to the west village shops, and there was a boardwalk all the way to the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. The room was so relaxing and cozy, we had a jacuzzi suite, the tub was amazing. The fireplace added to the romance of our trip. The beds were incredibly comfortable, my husband has a bad back and does not always sleep well, he woke up rested! The lobby area was relaxing and did not have the everyday lobby feel, it was warm and inviting. There was wine tasting and music in the lobby in the evening. It was a great stay. Our favorite spot in Cambria.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at El Colibri in April of 2011 on our way home from Monterey to Los Angeles.
It was newer and seemed more modern/updated in the photos in comparison to the hotels right on Moonstone Beach Drive so we thought we would give it a try. This hotel is not near the others on Moonstone Beach drive. It kinda sits in the middle of brush and there is a really nice path that leads down to the beach, about half a mile. The room was very large as well as the bathroom. We had a room close to the front of the hotel which is unfortunate. This hotel sits right on the street and even though at night it is a quiet street it is right on the street. Would we stay here again. If the price beat out the others, like the Fog Catcher, then yes, maybe. But the Fog Catcher and some others are just as nice.

Some positives:
Big room
Nice lobby, wine tasting area (I don't think others on Moonstone drive have this lobby type area.
Nice jacuzzi area on second floor terrace area of hotel rather than in parking lot like other moonstone beach hotels.
Enter your room from inside hallway rather than a door off a parking lot as you would in other hotels on Moonstone.
Nice path to beach.

Negatives
Noisy if you are in front of hotel. Avoid this at all costs.
No view
Downstairs rooms are right on street or brush and people can walk right by your window.
Complimentary breakfast buffet was lacking. There are better at other hotels on Moonstone.
Beach is not directly across the street as it is at other Moonstone beach hotels.

They are also dog friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in November and were really impressed. Sunset Magazine said it best,"Tuscany meets SoCal". Unlike most of the B&B's in Cambria, El Colibri doesn't overlook the water on Moonstone Beach, but it's less than 1/4 mile walk on a scenic boardwalk to get to the beach. The location also allows you to walk into the West Village.

The hotel has a small/boutique feel and the staff was extremely friendly and outgoing. They gave us great recommendations on restaurants and told us about a great hike (Fiscalini Ranch) that was off the beaten path and a highlight of our stay.

The rooms are spacious and romantic with a beachy feel. They have great beds, river rock showers and fireplaces, and modern amenities. We left very relaxed and caught up on much needed sleep. Rooms on the 2nd floor have high ceilings and give it a larger feel. Our room included a wet bar with a sink, but it would have been nice if there was also a small refrigerator.

The breakfast is pretty basic, but enough to get your day started; fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, granola, juices, coffee, and tea.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambria
0.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#7 of 11 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Colibri Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Address: 5620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Colibri Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wine and appetizer bar offers a variety tastes waiting for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your El Colibri Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colibri Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colibri Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.