We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proprietor is very nice. Location is beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Water Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White Water Inn to your Saves list
White Water Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6790 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Dinner Is On Us!
Ranked #1 of 28 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Proprietor is very nice. Location is beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Charming coastal community; love Cambria! The Inn is right on the coast, across the street from the ocean. The owner of this Inn is very friendly. Rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean. Breakfast is delivered to your doorstep in the am so you can have breakfast in bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    57
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
158
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We just got back from beautiful Cambria,Ca. Took our 2 grandsons & stayed in the White Water Inn. Such a lovely , clean,comfortable,quiet, and quaint little place! The beds are extremely clean & so so comfy! They bring you coffee & a large breakfast every morn right to your room! They even clean the morning dew off your car windows every morning! Austin was so helpful with any thing we asked or needed.. Needless to say that is one of the most gorgeous area"s of my beautiful state of California ! Not to mention really nice get away in the summer from where i live in temps as high as 120, Cambria is like heaven, right there on Moonstone Beach, just LOVE IT!

Room Tip: There is no pool or a fitness room, but who cares! This place is very nice & worht the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just returned from 2 nights at the White Water Inn and had a wonderful time. The owner, Donovan, was a wonderfully warm and friendly gentleman, just the way you would expect an inn keeper to be. He was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and even made our dinner reservations for us at Robin's (an incredible place). When he discovered we were there to celebrate our 27th anniversary, he gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne to make the occasion even more special.

If you are looking for a cozy bed and breakfast, WW Inn is more like a hotel that serves continental breakfast. It is an updated motor hotel from days gone by. The outside is well kept and landscaped. The inside is approaching the time for another facelift, but was clean and comfortable and roomy. The breakfast consisted of a bagel, 3 muffins, an apple, 2 bananas, a pot of decaf and regular coffee, and orange juice - an adequate start for the day. The homemade bagel was excellent.

The location can't be beat right on Moonstone Beach. The boardwalk is right across the street and all you have to do is walk out your door to enjoy watching the sea otters busy doing what they do. There are binoculars available in the office to watch them.

A really nice touch was having the windows on the car cleaned every morning so that you could begin your coastal drive with a clear view. Anyone who is familiar with the coast knows that the fog roles in nightly and your car is soaking wet each morning. Having this little extra touch was a real treat.

We would recommend this Inn to anyone traveling to Cambria and we plan on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my first time at White Water Inn. It came highly recommended and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The whirl pool bath tub easily fit two and the gas fireplace added a nice touch. Breakfast in bed was really nice! The bagels and muffins were warm and delicious. The quality of the food and coffee was very good. The staff was very courteous and helpful. You can peruse through menus of local restaurants in the office. You can stream Netflix movies from the free wifi connection. Make sure to take a morning walk on the boardwalk, see the elephant seals, visit Hearst Castle, and relax on Moonstone beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Screwed up our reservation despite calling them more than three times to confirm and double confirm our reservation. We had informed them well in advance about our late check-in and were assured it would be taken care of.

Upon reaching the hotel, there was no one in the office and there was a key only for one of the rooms we had requested. (We were of course told that there would not be anyone in the office when we late-check-in).

There was some absurd explanation provided that some other guest took our key - but I find it totally unbelievable.

The property seemed nice to us and right by the beach - and was the main reason for making a reservation there. However the goof up on the reservation and the handling thereafter was completely unacceptable. The inconvenience we were subjected to at 11 pm after a long day was immeasurable. And we were not compensated sufficiently at all.

They simply made another reservation at a very average motel 5 miles north - completely ruining the experience I had planned for my parents who were visiting the country for the first time. (The other property was bang on highway one - and had to deal with a steady buzzing by of cars. Place was noisy, no breakfast was served - all in all ruined the experience we had so meticulously planned for our parents).

Needless to say that after the terrible goof up, I will never make another reservation here.

Room Tip: Please do not late-checkin. No matter what they assure you, they have the ability to screw up on lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Driving from Topanga to Santa Cruz, we decided to stop in Cambria for the night... Arrived around 8 pm, checked out a couple placed we saw on tripadvisor, everything was 200 and up.
Pulled Into WW Inn, met Chase( super cool guy). He hooked us up with a gr8 rate including fresh baked breakfast served to our room (#5). Also Awesome bathtub with jets, my 2 year old loved
Will be back At least once a Year
GR8 place to spend out 3rd anniversary
Go Go Go A ++++++

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

What a pleasure a small inn can be. This place is very well run and we look forward to returning some day. We got the impression that there are a lot of repeat customers here and we can see why. They have a great location across from the water and moonstone beach, which is nice for walking and biking. It’s a little ways to the restaurants, so plan on driving into town.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Water Inn

Address: 6790 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Water Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage style rooms feature westerly ocean or mountain views. Choose from Ocean Front Studio-suites, King Cottage, Traditional King or Double Queen rooms with cozy bedding, fireplaces, HDTVs with HBO, DVD and free movies, journals, Free wireless internet, refrigerators and direct dial phones. Many rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs and comfy spa robes. Awaken each morning with a bountiful breakfast of warm baked goods, fresh fruits, juice and hot beverages, delivered to your room. Studio-suites are perfect for your honeymoon, anniversary or other special occasion. Each directly faces the ocean and feature a king bed, two-sided fireplace, lovely sitting area and a private patio with outdoor hot tub overlooking the crashing Pacific. Ask about availability of pet friendly rooms. The White Water Inn is a non-smoking establishment. Handicapped room available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your White Water Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Water Hotel Cambria
White Water Inn Cambria
White Water Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Water Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.