We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebird Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebird Motel
Save Saved
You added Bluebird Motel to your Saves list
1880 Main St., Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Cambria B&B and Inns
North Palm Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The Bluebird is not fancy but quaint and comfortable. The rooms have everything you need. We had a smaller inexpensive room and still had plenty of drawer space, flat screen TV, free WiFi, and 2 chairs. The bathroom was immaculate (this is one of my pet peeves when traveling). Danielle who answered the phone was lovely and very helpful. The hotel is located walking distance to all the shops so parking wasn't an issue. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    102
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
103
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My group had a short one-night stay at this hotel. Check-in was quick and the staff friendly and helpful with finding a place to eat. They have a book of local menus to look through. Plenty of parking on-site.

Hotel is older in terms of furniture and decor but seems well-maintained. We stayed in a 2-room suite, which split between four people was VERY affordable. The bathroom was older and small with just a shower and no fan, but no complaints otherwise. It had four smaller comfortable beds with minimum linens (I mean no Marriott layer cake of a bed). No coffee maker, but the lobby is close and has fresh coffee in the morning.

Overall, it was a convenient comfortable stay. Nothing fancy, but exactly what we needed!

Room Tip: The two-room family suite was up front near the road, but there is not a ton of traffic. Two beds we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very good nights rest. Attractive, clean room in quiet location. Convenient location near restaurants, plenty of parking. Quiet attractive grounds surrounding Victorian house. Everything you need is in the room except no coffee maker, or telephone. The lobby has coffee. tea or chocolate mix until 10 PM. Mattress was pretty comfortable and the pillows were medium quality. Appreciated that they had an extra blanket on the shelf.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and our room was wonderful. It was clean and spacious for the 4 of us. We had a fireplace and balcony in our room. We enjoyed using the fireplace and could see various birds using the feeder from our balcony. We had a restful night's sleep, really quiet. Hearst Castle is about a 15 minute drive away. No breakfast served here, only pound cake and hot drinks. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My sister, niece and I stayed for three nights in Cambria, a small, accommodating town right off the freeway. As was mentioned, the motel is centered within walking distance from several restaurants, and a variety of shops from antiques to children's clothing. It was convenient to travel to nearby towns by car not only to Hearst Castle but the Lighthouse tour as well as Sea Lions along the coastline. I gave it a four star because the rooms were clean, well maintained and the sleeping accommodations for the three of us was perfect. It is a no frills motel but as a stopover to shower and rest after a days activities, it was perfect. The motel is run by the son of the owner and has been in the family for years. Complimentary coffee, juice and rolls are available in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Bluebird is an older motel that has been updated and well maintained. The staff was quite pleasant from the opening booking on the phone through check in and check out. Located in the town, the motel has restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times before and it remains an excellent place to stay while in Cambria. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Room is clean and comfortable. We have only stayed in the garden view rooms because the other rooms in the side buildings are already booked when we decide to make the trip. Do love the fireplace, balcony and large room.

The location is great, you can walk to several very good places to eat and the shops in the east part of town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluebird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Motel

Address: 1880 Main St., Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.