We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebird Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebird Motel
Save
You added Bluebird Motel to your Saves list
1880 Main St., Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Cambria B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in room 29 which was at the end of our building on the second floor. Check-in was pleasant and all the people we dealt with at the Inn were very personable and helpful. Room 29 is fairly small, however the inn has rooms of varying sizes including rooms with balconies overlooking a creek (currently dry) and beautiful gardens. Although we did not see bluebirds, hummingbirds were abundant in the gardens and it was a delight to sit on one of the many benches watch them as they moved around among the flowers.

Our room was quiet, clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was a newer, good-sized enclosure. We felt the water pressure was poor, but perhaps it was a low flow head (think water conservation) rather than the pressure. On the plus side, the water temperature, once set, didn't fluctuate. The room heater may not have had a working thermostat or any thermostat at all as the temperature would continue to rise until we manually shut it down.

The Inn was within walking distance of a number of restaurants. The front desk provided a big three-ring binder of area restaurant menus to to help us decide where eat. Breakfast at the Bluebird is coffee and homemade coffee cake.

If we were to return to the area we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    108
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Wonderful hotel close to downtown, beautiful creekside location, great and inviting staff. Clean, great quality. Highly recommend! My son said "I've never seen a hotel of such high quality!". Great little town. Try the ollallieberry pie!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My friend and I spent 1 night here on route from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We had booked a tour of Hearst Castle which is very close to Cambria. The little town is split into east and west village and the bluebird is at the eastern end. We stayed in October and the town was decorated with scarecrows - great community atmosphere.
The Bluebird Inn was exactly what we wanted. Central, reasonable price and free parking outside your door. The room was spacious and clean and definitely value for money. There wasn't any breakfast as such - just cake and coffee but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
We ate in the Sow's Ear, which is down to the right when you come out of the motel, and the food was lovely. We sampled a few of the bars as well and really enjoyed our stay in Cambria.
We also went to see Nit Wit Ridge - which is a house made out of junk... worth going to have a look! The motel gave us directions and it's just a short drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice motel downtown Cambria CA. Very close to a couple of hiking trails that take you very nice views of the ocean. Our room overlooked a very nice garden and had a fireplace, very romantic. No breakfast included but coffee and cake instead

Room Tip: take the room with the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Travelling from SF to LA, this is about half way. We found the concierge friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Probably best sumarised as economical, no fridge in our room so if we were staying longer may have been an issue however if you are over nighting then there is no problem with this place. Plenty of restaurants down the road as well. Couple of minute walk.

Room Tip: Try and get one off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Passing through from San Francisco to Las Vegas we decided to stop over for one night! however the motel and the surrounding are was so enchanting, especially with all the scarecrows dotted all over the place, we actually stopped for two nights. We have never stayed at a motel before with such a lovely reception office/lounge and the coffee and cake in the mornings was an added bonus. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it. The only reason we are not giving it 5/5 is because of the poor shower flow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have driven across country four times, and this is the best motel I've stayed in. We are both handicapped but without wheelchairs, and we have a handicapped room, which is absolutely perfect. We've been driving from San Francisco to L.A. and have had four rooms so far, one not handicapped. Bluebird Inn has a separate bath from where the sink is, grab bars in the shower and bath, an ADA toilet, a movable seat for the shower, a phone in the bathroom--and a fireplace! We love the ceramic coffee cups and freestanding ceramic bowl on the counter next to the sink. A beautiful room. We would stay again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluebird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Motel

Address: 1880 Main St., Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.