We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarecrows drew us in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebird Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebird Motel
Save
You added Bluebird Motel to your Saves list
1880 Main St., Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Cambria B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Scarecrows drew us in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Passing through from San Francisco to Las Vegas we decided to stop over for one night! however the motel and the surrounding are was so enchanting, especially with all the scarecrows dotted all over the place, we actually stopped for two nights. We have never stayed at a motel before with such a lovely reception office/lounge and the coffee and cake in the mornings was an added bonus. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it. The only reason we are not giving it 5/5 is because of the poor shower flow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    108
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have driven across country four times, and this is the best motel I've stayed in. We are both handicapped but without wheelchairs, and we have a handicapped room, which is absolutely perfect. We've been driving from San Francisco to L.A. and have had four rooms so far, one not handicapped. Bluebird Inn has a separate bath from where the sink is, grab bars in the shower and bath, an ADA toilet, a movable seat for the shower, a phone in the bathroom--and a fireplace! We love the ceramic coffee cups and freestanding ceramic bowl on the counter next to the sink. A beautiful room. We would stay again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wanted a place to stay along Hwy. 1. Cambria's Scarecrow Fest drew us into staying in the downtown area as opposed to staying on the shore. Also liked the fact we could walk to restaurants. The motel staff was super nice and loved the lobby. So cozy and serene. There were quirks with the shower, but the cleanliness of the room was more important to us. I would have given the motel a 5 except the beds were a little hard and the pillows were even harder. .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Good: quiet enough to sleep. Clean sheets, towels, and room. Easy walk to breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Fast wifi. Very good priced for value.

Not so good:
Shower pressure is terrible and the temperature was very hard to control.

Comments:
Could hear muffled snoring in the next room. Road noise was much less than expected. Long, narrow room, with plenty of space for two.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a three day stay a week ago for my son's wedding. We had a king standard room. It was clean with a comfortable bed. Extra blanket and pillow. Nice table with 2 chairs. Strange thing is no telephone or coffee maker. There was a hairdryer, and ironing board and iron. My son's cellphone service didn't work in Cambria so it was inconvenient not having a phone in our room. Bathroom large but dated with pink and maroon tile. No air conditioning and no pool. We paid $110 for Thursday and $120 for Friday and Saturday. I was not impressed. I could hear people walking overhead. It would have been a plus to have a fan to circulate air in the room, and a coffee maker.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms looked nice, but much more expensive. My sister was happy with her one bedroom suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We needed two rooms for two nights so did not want to pay a fortune. This charming little inn in Cambria, a delightful small town on the Pacific Coast, was convenient to the Hearst Castle, the elephant seals , and Moonstone beach. The standard rooms we booked were a tad on the small side, but that was not a problem. The rooms had an adjoining door, which made it very convenient. Rooms were clean and comfortable and really included all the amenities that were needed for a decent stay. I recommend this small inn without reservation - if you want a swanky resort, you can spend a lot of money up the road at Moonstone Beach, a couple minutes of drive away. Top notch restaurants and gift shops are in easy walking distances. They had a nice lobby where you can have coffee , tea, and pound cake in the AM, and notebooks that have the menus for many of the best restaurants in town. The ones we tried and liked were Creekside Gardens and Redwood Café for Breakfast, and Wild Ginger and Linn's fruit Bin restaurant for dinner. Driving to Moonstone Beach and watching the sun set on the Pacific had to be one of the highlights of our vacation. All so convenient to this little inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very pretty motel/hotel, staff very friendly helpful staff. gardens amazing and deer roaming next to hotel. Would definitely come here again. Area is unspoiled and soo pretty. Just off the California 1 highway.

Room Tip: We had 2 queen beds, for 4 people. Ample room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluebird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Motel

Address: 1880 Main St., Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.