We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cutest Little Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added FogCatcher Inn to your Saves list
FogCatcher Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
2 reviews
“Cutest Little Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed here only one night while on my road trip.
They upgraded my room to a suite with no extra charge.
It's right across the street from the beach.
The staff is very nice and helpful. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us at the FogCatcher Inn and thank you for taking the time to review our Inn--we appreciate your positive feedback.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    318
    85
    38
    15
See reviews for
312
479
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only stayed here for one night but really loved this place. The staff were organized, professional and friendly and the property is well maintained. We had a partial ocean view room that also had a fireplace, it's a very unique experience.

It's just across the road from the beach on a long line of inn's and hotel's.

I would advise if you plan to do the evening tour at Hearst Castle eat first as everything is closed when the tour ends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive comments about the FogCatcher Inn. Hopefully on your next visit you can stay longer!

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The proximity to the ocean, clean rooms, trails, downtown, and visiting Hearst castle made it ideal. The full breakfast was very good to have with our group, even the coffee was good. It's within close walking distance to 2 restaurants. And bring your pole to fish off the rocks. The only downside was the pool wasn't really heated. At least it didn't feel that way compared to other places. But if you're used to cooler pools then it doesn't matter.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of the FogCatcher Inn and happy to know your whole family enjoyed their stay! Our pool is heated and I am sorry it did not meet your expectations. We do hope to have you back as a guest soon.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Fogcatcher Inn was the perfect place for a relaxing weekend - no work - just enjoying the pristine Moonstone Beach from the view in our room and the perfectly appointed room. The office staff was efficient and helpful and willing to help with directions, restaurants - whatever we needed. Definitely will go here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 122 - with a perfect view of the beach. If you stay on the office side, there see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. We are happy to hear you were able to have a relaxing weekend and look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This the first visit to Cambria my family and I have taken. We were delighted by the hospitality and the welcoming atmosphere at the Fogcatcher Inn. Our room was very comfortable.The complimentary breakfast was one of the better complimentary breakfasts I have had. We will return to the Fogcatcher Inn next time we visit.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are very pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us and happy to hear the staff was welcoming and accommodating as we like to exceed our guests expectations. We will look forward to your next stay with us.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a scenic, peaceful and relaxing place. I spent an absolutely amazing night here in Cambria steps from the beach. The property is very nice, clean and comfortable. I walked to dinner down the street and watched the sunset while enjoying a great meal. The beach by the hotel is so natural and peaceful - a great location to relax and take in the nature.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate your compliments of the FogCatcher Inn and happy you were able to enjoy our beautiful coastline. We look forward to having you back as a guest.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stopped here for a night when our previous plans fell through. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and kind to my two small kids.

We had a handicap accessible room which was clean and spacious. Bathroom was a bit outdated, but I appreciated the ground level access and proximity to the parking (directly in front of the room) which made it very easy to schlep our luggage and two kids.

We didn't have a chance to swim, but guests seemed to enjoy it despite the cool and strong winds in the afternoon!

Breakfast was nice with eggs, potatoes, waffles, and your typical continental fare.

My kids were stoked which made it easy for us all!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and sharing your experience--we appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to have you back as a guest soon and maybe next time you can enjoy the pool.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FogCatcher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.