We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view; gracious service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added FogCatcher Inn to your Saves list
FogCatcher Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% on New Rooms!
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous view; gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. Upgraded to an ocean view. Spectacular sunset. Glowing, functional fireplace. Comfortable amenities and good advice: Sea Chest for dinner; see the Hearst IMAX movie before our Castle tour. Breakfast was well done: varied, delicious, and well laid out.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    346
    93
    38
    17
See reviews for
340
545
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed for one night in January for a drive down west coast. As the weather was foggy, did not manage to enjoy the view much. Staff was helpful in suggesting dinner places.
Rooms are cosy and clean but a tad outdated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

On our way to the Fog Catcher we received a telephone call forewarning us about the time restaurants close......this was the first time I had ever had a call like this and it was much appreciated. It is right across the street from the ocean. Great customer service, free internet, breakfast included....what more could one ask for. It was recommended by my father and it did not disappoint. This is not a modern facility but has the right amount of amenities. I highly recommend it and we will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with the hotel! The front desk staff, Erin and Katherine, were very friendly and helpful. We were given a suite with a separate bedroom and living room. It was very clean although a little dated. The pool area is really nice as well. I would definitely recommend for a family!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a king ocean view room which means you can look out the windows and see (and hear!) the ocean which is just across the small road (Moonstone Beach Drive). Traffic was not bad and after everyone returns home from dinner, it's minimal. No picture windows, but two side-by-side screened which we could open wide. We had a small breakfast table in front of windows so could enjoy view with our breakfast trays. Location great; pretty much in middle of string of low-storied hotels; you can just cross road to long lovely boardwalk. Only thing which would have been better would be a 2nd floor ocean-front room WITH BALCONY. All hotels along here have low 1st floors, so even if you are on the "ocean view" side, you would be looking at parked cars and traffic; definately want to be up on 2nd floor. This hotel provides hot breakfast in breakfast room (you can take your food to your room) and it was basic eggs, potatoes, sausage. Also had make-your-own waffles, cereals, yogurts, oatmeal, boiled eggs and fruit. Nice to start day without having to go out to restaurant (of which there are only a couple on this road---you'd have to go into town). Our room was a bit tired: old window coverings which we had trouble raising 1/2 way, carpet kinda funky---definately could use some sprucing up. However, room was spacious, nice gas-powered fireplace (source of heat) on thermostat, microwave, refrig. Staff very very friendly and accomodating. We had trouble with wifi in our room, but think it's a router problem which the management said they would fix (though not while we were there). Small pool, hot tub and outdoor firepit---none of which we used, but nice to know there!

Room Tip: If you're going to make the trip, get a room with view of ocean. I noticed that some hotels alon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a recent drive down the California coast. We arrived on the later side, but the woman at the front desk was super helpful in suggesting dinner options around town. Our room was comfortable, although a bit outdated. The hot breakfast the next morning was great. Overall, we were pretty satisfied with our short stay at the Fog Catcher and would recommend it for a solid, budget-friendly option in Cambria.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a ten day road trip around California.
We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had a garden view room. The room had two queen beds, a working fireplace and large TV.
The room was very dark and we had to keep the lights on, decor was a bit tired and dated but beds were very comfortable. The reception staff advised us that all the restaurants closed at 9-00 pm which was useful to know in advance.
The hotel is situated across the road from Moonstone beach and is perfectly situated for strolling on the boardwalk.
Breakfast was really good with lots of choices .There is also free parking.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay but the rooms could do with a refurb

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FogCatcher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.