We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added FogCatcher Inn to your Saves list
FogCatcher Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% on New Rooms!
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Magical setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Highly recommended stop over on Highway 1 between Los Angeles and San Francisco near Hurst Castle. Set on a magical beach with the ocean breaking over rocky outcrops. The hotel is a motel with personal front door and car park outside room. Room very pleasant and ours had a log effect gas fire. Quite a small hotel. Good facilities with large TV, microwave and fridge. Very clean and well kept. Reception helpful and kind - No milk for sale but receptionist gave me his opened milk carton. Small swimming pool but weather too cool in April. Coast tends to be windy, inland is much warmer. Breakfast in pleasant room with generous food but needs more seats. This was the best breakfast we had in California though because hotels do not do B and B like British hotels. Moro Bay, fairly near, worth a trip too. Two restuarants a few paces away serve in the early evening only - watch the sunset! The main small town is across the highway inland. With a name like this and glorious walks from the room, if you are like me and addicted to the sea, you will like this place.

Room Tip: Pay more for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    337
    87
    38
    16
See reviews for
333
514
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waurn Ponds, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Rooms were clean, warm (gas fire heater) and cosy, just across the road from the beach. Breakfast was fully cooked help yourself. Accommodation is just a few min drive from the SeaChest, which is a must do for dinner. We only stayed for one night, so there is not much more to say than we were very happy with the accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband, granddaughter and I recently stayed at The Fogcatcher Inn and we were very impressed with our first stay there!!" ~ "We were welcomed by an extra happy front desk clerk, that made our arrival on a sold out Saturday extremely easy!!" ~ "She checked us right in and gave us a beautiful large room with 2 very comfortable bed's and a fireplace too!!" ~ "After parking our truck after checking in, it never moved again until we checked out!!" ~ "We spent a bunch of time at the beach across the street and walked to the Sea Chest to eat!!" ~ "What a Beautiful Inn and Weekend we had!!" ~ "We'll be back!!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived pretty late and had to leave in the morning but even in limited time I'd give this place 4 stars. The staff was courteous and gave us fresh baked cookies at check-in. The room was large (we had a two room suite). The hotel is literally across the street from the ocean, so its nice to open your windows and be able to hear the surf. The room had a fireplace, and was clean. The bathroom was a bit outdated. They have a great pool area and fire pit and the grounds are clean and well maintained. Maybe our favoraite thing was the breakfast. They had a really incredible spread for a "free" perk. Waffles, fresh pastries, more than one hot food station. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our week at the FogCatcher Inn! The property had a warm feeling, the staff was responsive to our requests, the room was comfortable and had a view of the sea, the breakfast was good. We decided to stay an extra day after checking in because it was so "perfect" for us. Thanks FogCatcher Inn!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The reception staff were very nice. The breakfast was good. The room was charming. The location was excellent--right across the street from the boardwalk. It was recommended to us from a friend and I was glad I took their advice!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the pool. I think there are very few rooms that actually have an ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and I loved staying at the Fog Catcher Inn. We were there for two days and loved every minute we were there. We had a nice big room, with a big bed, refrigerator/coffee station, robes in the closet, binoculars and a fireplace. We had a nice big balcony, (they only have one) that overlooked across the street to the beach. It was excellent during the time the sun set because you can see if from the balcony and made it a nice experience. The pillows were so soft and the bed was not too soft but not too firm, it was perfect. I slept like a baby. I haven't had a goodnights rest until I got there. I enjoyed the cooler evenings and left the window opened to listen to the waves crashing as I had the fireplace going for warmth, it was great.

They had Continental breakfast, but it was no ordinary breakfast, you did get a variety of pastries, but there was a waffle making station, fresh fruit, coffee, juice (two kinds) Oatmeal, Eggs, cooked two ways, and hard boiled eggs, cereal for kids/adults, potatoes. sausage etc. It was awesome.

Traveling to downtown Cambria was awesome. I loved the Antique shops and just the feel of a small town. It was perfect. I'm looking forward to a longer stay next year. I enjoyed it as much as my family did. Stay at the Fog Catcher Inn, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FogCatcher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.