We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Save Saved
You added FogCatcher Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Cambria
melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

along Moonstone Beach Drive there are so many choices...our stay here was very comfortable, in a large kingsize bed, lots of room with fireplace for heating. Breakfast is offered with a very extensive range of items. In all very pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    573
    293
    71
    31
    10
See reviews for
284
433
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I arrived at the Fog Catcher Inn to a very smiling, friendly, helpful staff. My room was delightful with a view of the ocean. I was downstairs and concerned about potential noise which was not a factor at all. The room was clean, well appointed and included a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Breakfast had a nice array of options and was delicious.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms may have a nicer, quieter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose this inn for its proximity to San Simeon (visiting Hearst Castle). We paid $240 for a 2 queen room, which is a bit higher than the average for the neighbors but reasonable in CA. It was fairly spacious room with a fireplace, HDTV, and small kitchenette area. The furniture was fine, it was very quiet, and the beds were comfortable, but we noticed there was only one outlet to plug in a charger (there were three of us with phones) and our search for outlets revealed less-than-acceptable cleanliness behind the beds and under the desk. The breakfast choice was extensive, but frankly it wasn't especially good. However, there is a small heated pool, large jacuzzi, free parking, and the beach is across the street, which made this one of the best options in Cambria and just fine for an overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back, where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our stay was wonderful! There was a bottle of champagne in the room along with the best chocolate brownie I have ever eaten to celebrate my birthday. The room was comfortable and afforded a view of the ocean. The staff was friendly, gracious and helpful. Breakfast the next morning offered a variety of choices. Overall our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed this past week at the Fogcatcher for my birthday trip to Cambria. It had many positives for the the price which was reasonable for the area. They serve a full breakfast, have fireplaces in the rooms and the beds are very comfortable. There were some things we felt would make it truly worth all the great reviews. First, the place is older and the room needed to be refreshed a bit. The baseboards and furniture were dinged and worn. The bath room was older as well and the cabinetry was stained and worn looking. A fresh coat of paint could cure these minor problems. More important though was the carpet that had large dark stains on it. A back window looked out on a cement wall. Mostly these lead to a poor first impression. However the room is immaculately clean and pleasantly furnished. The staff are well trained in customer service and are very helpful and friendly. My husband mentioned to the desk person that it was my birthday and that afternoon we returned to find chilled white wine and a small cake! Such a nice surprise that we enjoyed on the benches facing the ocean before we went to dinner. I do recommend staying here and we would return. We felt with a bit of updating it would be amongst the best in the area.

Room Tip: Few of the rooms actually have a view so any room back from the highway is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The FogCatcher is in a strip of motels on Moonstone Beach. There's a boardwalk walking path along the beach. Be sure to walk a few blocks North of the hotel to see Harbor Seals. They were swimming and playing during our visit - amusing and captivating.

There's a complimentary breakfast with hot foods - eggs, sausage, oatmeal, etc. There's even a make your own waffle station. Pastries and cereal too. While not gourmet by any means, it was pleasant enough (for free) and a very convenient way for us to start our day.

The Front Desk is helpful and can assist with directions, recommendation, reservations, etc.

Our room did not have heater - only a fireplace. It gets cold all year round at the beach at night in California. While the fireplace did heat up the room enough (and I get cold easy), it was necessary to turn it on High before dinner, so the room could heat up while we were out eating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited Cambria for my birthday and stayed 5/20-5/22/13. Our first time staying at Fogcatcher but will definitely go back. Our room was comfy, very clean, had every convenience you would need on vacation. I slept on the fold out couch and that was even incredibly comfortable and I slept great (maybe it was partly due to hearing the waves all night). Our room faced the beach and we had views from all windows. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Everything you can imagine - eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, hot oatmeal, croissants, and much more. This is our new mainstay at Cambria! We take a yearly trip (sometimes more if time and money allows). From Cambria we always drive up to Big Sur, Carmel, Monterey for sightseeing. Never get bored of those sights. Being from LA, it is a refreshing change of fresh air. The hotel grounds are so cute - like a quaint English garden.

Room Tip: Beachfront is great but the grounds are so cute that any location s/b enjoyable. They even have a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FogCatcher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.