We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Cambria and pet friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added FogCatcher Inn to your Saves list
FogCatcher Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% on New Rooms!
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Cambria and pet friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here on our anniversary weekend. The staff was very welcoming and surprised us with a bottle of sparkling wine in our room! They also provided restaurant recommendations within walking distance of the Inn. The room was exactly as pictured on the website - spacious and comfortable. Fireplace is a nice touch.

If you are bringing your dog, FogCatcher Inn provides a pet bed and an information package in the room with recommendations for restaurants with outside seating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    337
    87
    38
    16
See reviews for
333
514
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

If your travelling along the Californian coast then the Fogcatcher Inn at Cambria is ideally placed in providing a fantastic place to spend a night or two.

Just a few miles south of the beginning of the Big Sur drive it is a great stepping off point prior to the drive or to have an overnight rest after Big Sur before moving on to Santa Barbara.

Should you wish to stay more than one night then a visit to .Hearst Castle can be made as it is just a few miles north of the hotel.

The hotel itself is located just off US 1 on a coastal road which runs parallel to it. The hotel is sited in a rural location across the road from a wooden boardwalk with the the surf and the beach ...... a great evening walk observing the local seals and watching fantastic sunsets.out to sea.

The hotel has a "motel" type layout .... but the rooms are fantastic ... weel appointed and huge with the highest ceilings that you will ever encounter. The communal dining room offers buffet style breakfasts which are terrific and will set you up for the day.

For an evening meal you have a choice of coastal restaurants just along the coast or a short drive into the small town of Cambria itself offers more family type diners etc.

All in all a great stopover ..... you would never know it was there if you didn't take that little deviation off the US 1. A gem and such a pleasant surprise.

We only stayed one night as a stopover on a tight schedule .....but if we pass that way again we would be sure to stay longer

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close as possible to the coastal road ...... larger family accommodation is als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Recently my husband and I took a much needed break (even if it was short). We ended up at the FogCatcher Inn and look forward to our next trip there. The staff were exceptional and went out of their way to assist in any way they could. Oh, and the cookies on arrival--mmmm. The accomodations were clean, lots of room, comfortable--a great place to relax. The ocean is across the street for nice walks on the beach and to catch the sunset. JoAnn

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Fog Catcher Inn on our coastal trip from San Francisco to Pasadena. We picked it after reading some Tripadvisor reviews and studying the website. We had two rooms for two nights. We were not disappointed. We had one king ocean view and a queen mini suite with a partial view. The King room was enormous with a splendid view of the ocean. The Queen mini was a great room with a separate living area and the partial view was actually amazing. Both rooms well equipped and very comfortable. I think I would consider the Queen mini next time since it was nice to have the areas separated. After staying in a quaint Inn in Carmel where you could hear someone cough in the next room this was wonderful. Never did we hear a thing. The accommodations were simply great. Right across from the ocean with a boardwalk that you could almost walk into Cambria. The breakfast was outstanding. This part of our trip had to rank right up there as our favorite. Cambria is a small and fun town. If I was going back to CA this place would be right at the top of list. We totally enjoyed our time at the Fog Catcher Inn and in Cambria.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Junction, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We loved our time at Fog Catcher Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were clean and pleasant. Parking was a bit 'tight' (spaces were narrow), but there seemed to be plenty of it. The boardwalk is right across the street so it made a perfect place to walk my dog which, by the way, was warmly welcomed. Dog bed and dish were provided.

Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. The sink area was extremely small, but the bathroom was HUGE! Too bad the original designers couldn't have spaced things out a bit more evenly.

There is no doubt in our mind that if/when we return to Cambria, this will be our place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a 'garden-facing' room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We only stayed here 1 night but would liked to have stayed longer. We received a very warm welcome and the accommodation was very spacious and comfortable. Got great advice on local restaurants. Liked the warm cookies on arrival - a nice touch! Would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked a two night stay but after seeing our room and the awesome view we stayed four days enjoying every minute of our vacation. You could walk any time of the day see the ocean watch the waves. Plants and flowers birds and squirrels and did I forget to mention the tide pools teaming with crabs. The free breakfast was good eggs, oatmeal, muffins and coffee this gave me the opportunity to enjoy the fireplace and have breakfast in bed. What a wonderful place to stay I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FogCatcher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.