We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn in a lovely beach town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Save Saved
You added Blue Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Blue Dolphin Inn
6470 Moonstone Beach Dr., Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Cambria
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Lovely inn in a lovely beach town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We loved Cambria and we enjoyed staying at the Blue Dolphin Inn. I probably would have rated it a 5 if I had splurged for an ocean view room, but I had probably the cheapest room (King Superior) so my windows faced the parking lot and not the ocean and the room was right behind the receptionist’s office, which was odd at first but we got used to it. The room itself was quite nice, with a cozy fireplace and flatscreen TV. The bed was really comfortable. If they had had room service, my husband never would have left the room!

We liked the friendly staff, the coupon for Madeline’s (an amazing restaurant), the Keurig coffeemaker (yum!). We enjoyed the picnic breakfast, especially the egg mcmuffin puff pastry thing. On the downside, there was a lot of noise whenever the next room used their toilet or their bathroom fan. Sort of like a 747 landed in your room. Luckily, that noise did not occur during our sleep hours, but if it had, it would have ruined our stay. Also, the wifi didn’t reach this room, but they had an Ethernet cable that allowed me to connect.

Cambria is a beautiful town. Bless the guidebook that said if you want to visit Hearst Castle, stay in Cambria and not San Simeon. We hope to return and chances are, we will be staying here and splurging on an ocean-view room.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    71
    17
    9
    0
See reviews for
40
300
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We loved our stay at the Blue Dolphin Inn during the last week in August. The hotel is newly renovated and super clean. The location can't be beat as it is right across the street from the ocean, which means you can fall asleep each night listening to the crashing waves. This is the perfect place to go and relax and check out from your busy lives. We had planned to stay for two nights, but ended up extending our stay for another night because we didn't want to leave!
Oh-- the breakfasts delivered right to your door were really delicious. Loved having the privacy of eating in our room, looking out at the ocean and having a leisurely coffee. The coffee machine in the room makes really great coffee, too. Can't forget the delicious afternoon cookies... Just writing this makes me want to go back and visit soon!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We drove from San Francisco to los Angeles and stopped in Cambria which was about half way. Our regret was only booking 1 night in the Inn, we would love to have stayed longer (3 days might be good to see the whole area including Hearst Castle).
The Inn has very recently been refurbished. Our room was fresh, clean and very tastefully decorated. A 'partial ocean view' wad a bonus. There is no bar or dining room but there are plenty of places to eat within walking or driving distance. Breakfast was a little disapointing - a picnic affair pre ordered the night before. There are good coffee/tea making facilities. The Inn is across the (quiet) road from the boardwalk and about 20minutes from Cambria itself. If you are driving down the Big Sur and want a comfortable break then this is the place. It is also a very nice contrast to the hustle and bustle of the big cities of SF and LA.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

This was our stop on our drive from San Fran to LA down PCH - what an amazing drive. We made a reservation here after reading other reviews and we were not let down. What a great little place!!! The renovation is gorgeous, the rooms are amazing - MUCH better than the Hilton we came from in San Fran. Everyone was super nice to us and we felt so comfortable.
The breakfast delivered in the morning is delicious and a nice touch. We have recommended this already to all of our friends and hope one day to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

The room was beautiful-we stayed at an oceanfront room. The bedding was superb; the pillows were great (each of us had 2 choices, firm and fluffy). Nice fireplace which we didn't use-it was too warm outside. The receptionist showed us how to operate everything and showed us where the Otis Spudmaker cookies were located. Although there is a street between you and the ocean, when you are ready for bed, the traffic is gone. Fun box breakfasts with choice of bagel w/lox and cream cheese; egg, canadian bacon and cheese pastery (also available ala vegitarian); or yogurt, granola parfait. Included were fruit, juices and pastries/muffin. The staff went out of their way to show us restaurants and help us find our way home via a different/faster way to Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We just returned from two nights at the Blue Dolphin. It is across the street from the ocean, which we could hear from our room. The staff was warm, the bed was delicious (as were the breakfasts to go, which we ate on our patio overlooking the ocean), the bathrobes were dreamy and the ambiance was soothing. From the inn, we walked to great restaurants in town and hiking trails in the Fiscalini Ranch reserve. A lovely place to stay in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I had done extensive research for my trip down the coast thanks to the other reviews on TripAdvisor so I wanted to be sure to add my own. The Blue Dolphin inn, as others have said is simply outstanding. For starters, nothign compares to falling asleep to the sound of waves crashing nearby - just incredible. The room was spotless and beautiful. Aside from this the staff truly made our stay memorable. I believe her name was Cami or tami, took the time to show us some room options, showed us her movie collection, and even saved us cookies for when we returned from dinner later that evening. When she overheard me talking to my friend about going for a run along the water the next morning, she quickly pulled out a map of the area to make a point to show me the very best routes. To top it off, they typically don't have breakfast ready for delivery until a certain time and made a point to bring ours earlier so we could hit the road for Hearst Castle. As a side note, I highly recommend Cambria in general for staying in because of this.

So, if I were to sum up our experience at the Blue Dolphin Inn .....

Outstanding Service
Outstanding Room cleaniness, amenities

I was happy to reach the Blue Dolphin after a long day of driving down the windy roads of Big Sur From San Fran.

Helped make our trip great!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Hotel
Blue Dolphin Cambria
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr., Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, The Blue Dolphin Inn is located on Moonstone Beach Drive where the "Sea meets the Pines."The Inn offers cozy rooms, all with comfortable king or queen beds and fireplaces. In room amenities include European blend coffee and Dorothy Prentice bathroom amenities. In the morning you will enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast and in the afternoon tea, cookies and sparkling cider. Be sure to take advantage of our California vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.