We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Blue Dolphin Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6470 Moonstone Beach Dr., Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre Summer Sale Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Soquel, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Blue Dolphin Inn and each has been perfect. From the greeters at check in to the wonderful room and comfy bed. We've come in August and November and we have to say the weather in Nov. is the best. Blue skies and calm ocean. Breakfast is delivered to your room and is always tasty. My only issue is the too soft pillows that don't support side sleepers or people with bad necks but I will just bring my own pillow from now on because we won't stop coming to Blue Dolphin Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us four times (WOW)! I am glad that you are happy with the accommodations and our guest service staff. We constantly strive to provide a superior customer experience each and every time. I will let the owners know about your dissatisfaction with the pillows. We can consider other options prior to your next visit, so that you will not have to bring pillow in tow. Please mention this at the time of your reservation or give me a call personally.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    97
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
49
371
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as part of a road trip and found it a great spot to just relax and recharge our batteries. We had one of the rooms with a patio looking out over the sea and I'd highly recommend paying the extra to stay in one of these. The rooms are lovely and romantic with a large Jacuzzi bath. We didn't need to use the fire but I'm sure had we needed to, it would have added to the lovely feel of the room. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts that are made on site and then delivered to your room at a time that suits you, were really tasty. I couldn't eat everything first thing and the way things were presented meant we could save things for a mid morning snack.
Lots of sea life and on an early morning run we saw dolphins feeding close into the shore - magic.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations. It is our top priority to provide our guest with a clean and comfortable accommodation.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely room (209) with great sea views. Spacious, comfortable and clean, not keen on breakfast in a box and for the money felt overall it was a little bit overpriced. Nowhere to sit out in the grounds but apart from that a good inn with friendly staff and great location, right on the beach with a lovely boardwalk. Saw dolphins, lots of birds, seals and great sunsets - very peaceful and relaxing. Cambria town nearby and very nice to visit, good shops and we were there for the October Scarecrow festival which was amazing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to breakfast. We are always considering new ideas to enhance the guest experience. I will forward this information on to the owners. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the Scare Crow Festival, it is such a wonderful time to be in Cambria. December can also be an enjoyable time to visit the area, “Holiday in the Pines”. On December 6th, the local merchants host “Holiday in the Pines Open House”. Stroll the streets, enjoy treats and festivities at the Village Open House.
We hope that you return again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst travelling between LA and San Francisco. Whilst I was travelling alone, this adults only hotel is clearly set up for couples.

The staff on the desk were helpful and friendly, and my standard King Size room at the back of the property was very pleasant. It was large, beautifully decorated with a lovely atmospheric fireplace, a clean and compact bathroom with lovely toiletries, cookes, chocolates and a great coffee machine all there ready for me to enjoy. In the morning my breakfast was delivered to my room, which was a really nice way of doing it. Very nice.

The location of the hotel, adjacent to Moonstone Beach, is a wonderful location. I enjoyed a stroll along the beachfront to watch the seals, and wandered down to the shore to watch the sunset. All this would have been much more fun if I had had my beau along with me for the trip. Indeed, from the guest book in my hotel room, many of the previous occupants seem to have been happy couples on their honeymoon.

All in all I thought this hotel was really lovely. The only things stopping me from giving it 5 spots on my review was that my room wasn't ready at the check in time of 3pm. I had to wait until 3.30pm until they had finished cleaning it, which really isn't acceptable when the advertised check in time is 3. Furthermore, I could not get the wifi to work on my iPad. The very helpful desk staff attempted to assist me, but to no avail. I'm not sure why the wifi in this place was an issue, but being so far away from home it's really a dealbreaker for me to be able to get onto my email and be able to Skype my loved-ones.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on Moonstone Beach. I am excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I am sorry that you experienced problems with the WIFI. I checked with our IT department and apparently the router near your guest room was unplugged. My maintenance department has taken the necessary precautions to prevent this from happening in the future. I appreciate your comments and hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

On our trip up CA. route 1, we had the pleasure of staying here in Cambria. This is a wonderful, small inn located right on the Pacific. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had a view of the ocean and enjoyed a cocktail in the room in front of the fireplace. Yes, all the rooms have fireplaces. Breakfast, ordered the evening before, was delivered to our room. I enjoyed a fresh bagel filled with lots of smoked salmon and cream cheese. What a start to the day. My only regret is that we had to move on and could not stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so lucky to be just footsteps away from the boardwalk and within walking distances of two restaurants. As you may know, we are considered to be the sea lion “station” for the area. What a beautiful time to be at the coast enjoying life.
We look forward to seeing you again when traveling the central coast.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the beach side, and only draw back u had to share patio with 3 people. Other wise very nice. You get to choose your breakfast tell them what time u want it and its there. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your “awesome” review. Your feedback helps us maintain our high customer service standards.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Dolphin on a road trip from LA to San Francisco on the pacific Coast highway on the 18th October 2013. It very easy to find just off highway one. The lady on reception was very good, very friendly taking the time to tell me where we were in relation to the local town of Cambria and where the local eateries are.


The hotel is very well finished, tasteful decor and cosy rooms, it is right on the sea front so more off the jaw-dropping sunsets we had been getting all week.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and delivered to your room, very tasty it was.

A great hotel, my only criticism was it was touch more expensive than I though it should have been in relation to the places we had stayed this week.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on Moonstone Beach. It is nice to hear that you were able to take in at least one beautiful evening sunset. I appreciate your very nice comments on our accommodations. I am glad that we met your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr., Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.