We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AIR Freshener Overload” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Camarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Camarillo to your Saves list
Courtyard Camarillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4994 Verdugo Way, Camarillo, CA 93012   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi & Bonus Points
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“AIR Freshener Overload”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I like Courtyards, but this one seemed to have a cloying odor. There was even a bit of a air freshener scent in my room. I stayed three nights, but would rethink doing this again. They need to calm down the scents. I was told by the desk that it was a corporate thing. I do not shop in stores that have scents. What are they covering up?
They had a great internal Starbucks, but I would love some free coffee now and then. Maybe, one coupon when you check-in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellany A, General Manager at Courtyard Camarillo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your most recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott, Camarillo.

We greatly appreciate your suggestions and will look into how we can improve our guest experience .. scent is such a strong factor and it could either be a positive or a negative experience, that's why we appreciate that you brought this issue to our attention as it will help us be better at creating a more welcoming atmosphere. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
19
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

After traveling for 10 days at some great locations I was getting a little road weary, so when we arrived at the Courtyard without reservations I mentioned we needed a quiet room. The desk girl was great! She put us on the quiet side of hotel with a view of the pool. Room was clean, grounds were groomed, pool area nice. The hotel sits back off the street so we missed it the first time around. There are several places to eat nearby but we chose to go to a local Italian restaurant in a strip mall. What a wonderful find!! Don't remember the name of it, but found it on line. Non chain, looks tiny from outside but is very nice inside.

Room Tip: Upper floor on quiet side away from the freeway was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellany A, General Manager at Courtyard Camarillo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!

We're happy that you stopped by and stayed with us for the night and that we're able to provide you with a great stay. We're very lucky to be at a perfect location that's close to a lot of really good restaurants.

We hope that you'd stop by and spend some time with us again the next time you get road weary .. we're always here to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stay at this hotel oneweek every month and I'm treated very well. excellent customer service. The staff is truly caring and attentive to the guest needs. They have an updated lobby with the new Courtyard theme. Food is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellany A, General Manager at Courtyard Camarillo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for highlighting the great customer service our team provided you during your stay with us!

We greatly appreciate your kind comments but most of all we are greatful that you took the time to let us know! Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me and my husband stay in Courtyard for almost every week for a month doing some IT Consulting at a company near this hotel. It was a very nice n quite place,complete with all the amenities for a weekday travelers. Like us . And it was just few minute drive to the town center of Camarillo, CA.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellany A, General Manager at Courtyard Camarillo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are happy to hear that you and your husband had a great stay with us! We're always pleased to get feedback from our guests and appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your stay!

Thank you very much for the kind comments and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is located right at the highway exit and behind a plaza. The plaza has a McDonald's, Starbucks and various cuisine (including sushi, Mexican food, etc), as well as banks. There is also a gas station right at the street corner. The location is excellent. It is only 10-minute drive from the Camarillo premium outlets.

The hotel setting is a standard Courtyard Hotel style, clean and neat. Though located next to the highway, the night stay is very quiet. The staff at the counter was also friendly.

It is a nice stopover place for a West Coast road trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellany A, General Manager at Courtyard Camarillo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. We greatly appreciate the kind comments and for highlighting our hotel's location. I would have to agree with you, our location is definitely unbeatable since we're close to so many restaurants and even a movie theater!

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

checked in and keys didnt work. fyi, luggage carts are around corner behind side wall of front desk, near elevator. mc donalds is in same center as hotel. pillows horrible. need replacement. rooms are large. we had two queen beds and lots of space. fridge in room. no microwave, but thats not usually in a courtyard. no spa, just a pool. bistro style lobby. batroom needs updating. granite counter worn and stained, bath floor cracked, room carpet old and stained. plenty of free parking spaces. botel has only two floors. hotel rooms have cottage cheese ceilings. room ac is LG brand unit. flat screen tv is LG, about 27 inch. the pool area is small and not as nice as I expected from a courtyard and we wanted to soak in a spa and found none.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellany A, General Manager at Courtyard Camarillo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback as it will help us grow and be better. We hope that you'd consider staying with us again the next time you're in the Camarillo area and we will do our best to make your next visit with us great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent four nights at this amazing hotel. Staff are professional and welcoming, rooms are large, clean with all immunities except microwave. There is no free breakfast but the hotel is located near a lively neighborhood near a movie theater, restaurants, and liquor stores. There is a free Wi-Fi but there was an intermittent problem during my stay. I stayed at room 155 which is near the highway, I recommend choosing rooms on the inside of the building facing the pool.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 131 to 155 as they are far from reception and near the noisy highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellany A, General Manager at Courtyard Camarillo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am glad to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us! We appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience and we hope to see you again with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Camarillo

Address: 4994 Verdugo Way, Camarillo, CA 93012
Location: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Camarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ventura County, California, and halfway between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara you'll find the newly renovated Courtyard Camarillo hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new Camarillo hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks(R) coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Ideal for business breakfasts or happy hours. At our Ventura County hotel in Camarillo, you'll enjoy close proximity to historic Old Town, the Camarillo Airport and the famous Camarillo Premium Outlets featuring 160 stores. Our hotel is also close to the Maravilla gardens, which are popular for weddings or special events. Guest rooms at our Camarillo hotel in Ventura County feature luxury bedding, a large desk, ergonomic chair, free Wi-Fi, and a pullout sofa. Find room to roam at our Courtyard Camarillo, California hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Camarillo Marriott
Camarillo Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Camarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.