We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican in Camarillo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tecolote

El Tecolote
333 N. Lewis Rd, Camarillo, CA 93012
805-482-4318
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 157 Restaurants in Camarillo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Camarillo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I used to eat here often with my family 30 to 40 years ago. It's been here since 1948. Every time I come back to the area I try to stop by for a meal. The recipes haven't chaged a bit since the old days, even with different owners. The service is spotty; sometimes you get served right away and sometimes the wait is interminable. I suppose it depends on who is working a shift that day. The chips and salsa are made fresh at the restaurant every day, nothing from a bag or jar. My favorite entree is Chiles Rellenos. They are never hard or rubbery like some other places. Their seafood is fantastic too. I've heard people complain that it's old and shabby, but I think that is part of its charm. There is a waterfall in the back dining room that does provide a bit of background noise, but there's never an annoying mariachi band. One semi-important fact: they charge for soda refills. Portions are large, prices are fair. Great value!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    18
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky Country
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We were expecting better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This restaurant has been around forever and we had high hopes for a really good, authentic Mexican meal. The food was good, but nothing special. The atmosphere was tired and uninviting. This isn't a place I'd look forward to returning to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not exactly "Authentic"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Sad report went over on a Sunday morning with a craving for Menudo and almost fell out of my seat when they told me they do not serve it. WHAT MEXICAN RESTAURANT does not serve Menudo especially on a Sunday??

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Mexican/American Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

El Tecolote, the owl in Spanish, sports a huge collection of ceramic owls on the walls. This is authentic Mexican cooking with the American extras like shreded iceburg lettuce. There is a full bar. The Margarita's are made with a mix but OK. They have a wide selection of Mexican Beers. The Carnitas is excellent and highly recommended. Get the pulled beef tacos, not the ground beef.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So good.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a table of 7 and the service was great. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. This is an awesome mexican restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tecolote also viewed

 

Been to El Tecolote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tecolote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.