We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Camarillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Camarillo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Camarillo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Central Ave, Camarillo, CA 93010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Fresno, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean & Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very impressed upon checking in the hotel. The front desk were very welcoming and we were presented with water and granola bars for being a Priority member. The room was clean and quiet. The furnishings were updated and the room also had a balcony. There weren't any chairs on the balcony but it was still a nice little bonus. The room also had a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Hot coffee and water was also available in the lobby. The breakfast was very nice with an array of cereals, breads, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, oatmeal, juices, pancakes (love the pancake making machine), eggs, and biscuits and gravy. We always feel safe staying at Holiday Inn, they are consistently clean, quiet, and a good value.
The hotel is located closed to the Camarillo Premium Outlets and Oxnard.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and that is the same floor as the breakfast room which was just a nice walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
41
26
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Room was quiet. As Platinum member, upgraded to King Suite. Room was the furthest end room on 3rd floor facing out away from highway 101 so we had no problem with noise. we did run the air conditioner on low fan just to circulate air and drown out any potential noise, but one night we turned it off and was fine. King bed was VERY comfortable. Room had sofa but all of the furnishings were dated but clean. We were looking for clean hotel with free breakfast and this was it. Only issue was bathroom was really sized for one person. The bathroom door opens right up into toilet and made it difficult to move around in the bathroom and exit/enter. Checkin and checkout was smooth. Breakfast is served on second floor, across from elevator. Hotel parking lot was full each night but breakfast area handled crowd and was well stocked and food was typical of HIE which means good variety and tasty. Opened at 6am which was nice. Location was directly off 101 so very convenient.

Room Tip: Recommend requesting room not facing highway and stay away from 2nd floor around elevator as high tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express, so if you've stayed at one before, this will be about the same. However, this hotel has a few drawbacks. Chief among them is the freeway noise. It is RIGHT next to the heavily traveled 101 freeway and despite what others say, you CAN hear it through the sliding glass patio doors. It's muffled, but still there. Ask for a room on the non-freeway side. Also, there is a small balcony but because the freeway noise is SO loud, even if there were chairs there, you would not be sitting there for any length of time - it's that annoying. Plus the balcony is pretty narrow anyway. The bathroom is small in comparison to the room which had a king bed and sofa w/ desk. I didn't understand what one reviewer had observed earlier about the bathroom door, but immediately understood once I got into the room. The bathroom door opens INTO the bathroom and when fully opened completely blocks the sink. There is no way to use the bathroom without always closing the door. Who thought that was a good idea? And the bathroom door almost touches the toilet as you open it - it's that small. They do have a good sized fridge - larger than the normal hotel mini fridge and also a microwave. They have Bath and Body Works toiletries - which was a nice touch for a semi-budget hotel. The sheets were really small and had seen better days (too thin). The room was clean though. The breakfast was average - they, like the Hampton Hotel chain, insist on powdered scrambled eggs. Yuk. But they do have a variety: cereal, yogurt, whole fruit, hard boiled eggs, sausage, juices, coffee and the cinnamon rolls they are known for. They have complimentary coffee, cookies and newspapers. One restaurant next door (The Sportsman - didn't go there) and a gas station - otherwise you need to go two exits up the 101 to get to any other services. While this was an okay hotel, I will probably go back to the Courtyard by Marriott on the other side of Camarillo next time I come, where I usually stay. Better hotel property for the same rate.

Room Tip: Ask for the non-freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Camarillo, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear TKD1BB,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had over the noise from the freeway and with the bathroom door. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in Feb. The hotel is very quiet. The room is clean. The breakfast is good. There is only one restaurant beside the hotel. No choice, but fortunately it's good for a family dinner. The hotel is close to the Outlets Camarillo with around 5 minutes driving.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location is excellent. Very close to factory outlet. You can reach the outlet within a few minutes drive. The hotel room is large but the furnishing is quite old. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. The staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast is a minus point. For easy access, stay at the ground floor is better, as the lift is old and slow. The room come with a free wifi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms needs an new decoration because the furniture looks old and outdated. But the staff was great. I was allowed to check in early an it worked great because i had been driving for the entire night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice and friendly staff. Room was large, but had older (dated) furnishings. To help meet the energy crisis - lights in bathroom and overhead lights are on motion detector switches - really nice when in the shower and the lights go off! ;) Speaking of the bathroom, the bathroom door in room 332 is set up on the wrong side, so opens to the countertop vs opening to the shower, makes for a tight squeeze around the toilet and when trying to let some of the heat out (can't see the mirror and the vent fan is a joke). Also - TV mounted towards front of dresser, makes hard to use it to hold wallet, watch, etc....

Pool is outside, but looked good and workout room was old.

For Priority club members - received goodie bag and fresh cookie!

Breakfast was typical HIE - good to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Camarillo

Address: 4444 Central Ave, Camarillo, CA 93010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Camarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Camarillo in the heart of the Ventura County.Conveniently located off Hwy 101 halfway between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Our hotel is minutes from Camarillo Premium Outlets, Naval Base Ventura County, the City of Oxnard and California State University Channel Islands. Indulge in our comfortably appointed non-smoking accommodations featuring the New Stay Smart Bedding Collection, the Guest Rated # 1 shower head by Kohler and upgraded Simply Smart bathroom amenities. Our Complimentary Express Start Hot Buffet Breakfast features our signature Cinnamon Rolls and fresh fruit grown in Camarillo. Business travelers will appreciate being able to catch up on work in our business center or from your room with our wireless high-speed Internet access. Come stay with the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Camarillo, where our excellent hospitality, comfortable guest rooms and exceptional value blend perfectly for a memorable hotel experience.Businesses near hotel: Camarillo Airport, TriCal, Lockheed Martin, Seminis, Imation Corp, Semtech, Haas Automation Attractions near hotel: Camarillo Premium Outlets, Public Beaches, Camarillo Ranch House, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Holiday Inn Camarillo
Camarillo Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Camarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.