We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too loud” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Camarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Camarillo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Camarillo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Central Ave, Camarillo, CA 93010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Too loud”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Although the room was clean and the staff was friendly, we will not stay here again. The room was not quiet. The road that runs past the hotel was full of loud trucks, cars and motorcycles all night. We could also hear the people down the hall each time they went in and out of their room, the doors have a very loud slam. Also, we knew each time someone took a shower. That coupled with an extremely hard bed, I was only able to sleep for about an hour. There was no local information available on local restaurants, no information about when and where breakfast was being served, also, now I may be getting picky but the only trashcan available was in the bathroom. Also, I had to go down to the front desk to get some soap because there had not been any left in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
40
23
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wildomar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

prepaid $120 on Expedia, the rate was ok i guess for a saturday night reservation. Honestly, there was really nothing special about this hotel. Because of the past advertising of Holiday Inn Express I expected more. It really didn't offer more then a Red Roof Inn or a Best Western. The room might be slightly upgraded but not enough to notice. For a late night checkin in a busy community it was fine. I have no complaints. The hotel was sold out for people walking in but I suspect all the hotels in the area were sold out. The room and hotel felt like a $89 room, not a $120 room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA Central Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was the worst HIE I have experienced, and has caused my wife to complain everytime I suggest we try a Holiday Inn hotel. We arrived late on a Friday night after a long dinner with drinks and gambling at the Chumash farther north. The front desk clerk was very kind and identified us as Platinum members. He happily reported we would get a suite and gave us a small gift bag of an apple, cookies, and a water. Something I always appreciate.

The room was nothing I would call a suite. It did have a tiny snack/kitchen area, and it had a half wall partition with a sofa bed. The room was very old, but was clean. It's all I could demand. The problem did not arise until bed time. The bed was like sleeping on a board. I am not saying this was a firm bed, it was like plywood. I am a 200lb man, and I measured, my body did not sink more than a tenth of an inch into the mattress. After tossing and turning I sleepily went downstairs to ask for another room, or something to help.

He was very polite and apologetic, and said he could give me additional bedding to help soften the mattress. I accepted. I ended up on the sofa bed wrapped in a extra comforter. Needless to say I got 2 hours of sleep.

The next morning I wearily went to breakfast. My only complaint was that everything in that breakfast bar was styrofoam. Including the tray. I am a big environmentalist, but we produced so much trash for that tiny breakfast . I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Dear Holiday Inn Express Management, hello there, this is 2011 calling. We are glad to see that you offer free Wi-Fi for your guests. However, you seem to have failed to notice that Wi-Fi generally involves communication and devices such as laptops and IPads. People traveling on business (and pleasure, frequently) generally have these items and like to be able to lock them in a secure place while they visit the pool and/or restaurant. Most of other hotels of your service class provide something known as an IN-ROOM SAFE so that guests can secure their valuable electronics when not in the room. You should look into this so that your business guests don’t have to hike down to lock their electronic devices in the trunk of their car every time they wish to leave their rooms.

Your clean rooms are to be commended, as is your general property management. We also want to note that most modern hotels don’t make their guests call down to the front desk to get a CODE in order to use the Wi-Fi – or if there is a code, it is printed clearly on signage or marketing materials in the room. Which brings us to the fact that your in-room materials are factually incorrect and refer to an earlier system that was apparently in place several years previously. An update would be a good idea.

Please stand by for another incoming call, this one is from 1972 and they would like their beds back. A snazzy flat screen TV is no substitute for a good mattress, we are sorry to say.

We enjoyed your hotel and certainly want to suggest to future travelers that they ask for rooms on the side of the hotel facing AWAY from the 101 Freeway, which you can hit with an artfully tossed rock from the balcony of the hotel.

Much thanks, 2011 and business travelers everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed here for business for a few days. The location is next to a restaurant, but not much anything else. You will need a car here. The room was just mediocre and there was a leak in the hallway; the ceiling was dripping and wetting the floor. Beyond that, this hotel was just average....not very good, yet not completely terrible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here on our way to San Francisco. Located near freeway, so very easy to get to, but our room was very quiet. Clean and very nicely appointed, very comfortable bed. Reasonably good breakfast, Friendly staff - good restaurants in area.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mybeach101
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is a bit no frills, but a good value for the price. My kids (teens) loved the pool and jacuzzi. The front desk was helpful and pleasant.

The breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Camarillo

Address: 4444 Central Ave, Camarillo, CA 93010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Camarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Camarillo in the heart of the Ventura County.Conveniently located off Hwy 101 halfway between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Our hotel is minutes from Camarillo Premium Outlets, Naval Base Ventura County, the City of Oxnard and California State University Channel Islands. Indulge in our comfortably appointed non-smoking accommodations featuring the New Stay Smart Bedding Collection, the Guest Rated # 1 shower head by Kohler and upgraded Simply Smart bathroom amenities. Our Complimentary Express Start Hot Buffet Breakfast features our signature Cinnamon Rolls and fresh fruit grown in Camarillo. Business travelers will appreciate being able to catch up on work in our business center or from your room with our wireless high-speed Internet access. Come stay with the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Camarillo, where our excellent hospitality, comfortable guest rooms and exceptional value blend perfectly for a memorable hotel experience.Businesses near hotel: Camarillo Airport, TriCal, Lockheed Martin, Seminis, Imation Corp, Semtech, Haas Automation Attractions near hotel: Camarillo Premium Outlets, Public Beaches, Camarillo Ranch House, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Holiday Inn Camarillo
Camarillo Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Camarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.