We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...complete waste of time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of WWII Aviation Museum

WWII Aviation Museum
455 Aviation Drive, Camarillo, CA 93010
805 482-0064
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Camarillo
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Naples
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“...complete waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

...entered...given the third degree by some verbose guy, who told me that because many of the aircraft were not there, I was getting 'a great bargain' with a reduced entry fee from $7 to $5...and that he would give me a private tour. Realizing that this guy loved hearing his own voice...I opted to wander alone...he told me that if I went out to the flight line, he would have to be with me,,,inside looked like a sad Army Surplus store...looked out to the 'flight line' which looked empty....so after 5 minutes I walked out with Mr. "I Love To Hear Myself Talk" still yapping at me! BUMMER!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A gem! Aircraft history up-close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Veterans and other knowledgeable enthusiasts are available for in-depth conversations. Aircraft are up-close and constantly under restoration, tuning, etc. Several of them fly daily and you stand on the tarmac watching them in pre-flight check. A few hundred dollars will get you airborne. Mustang, Spitfire, B-25, ....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gotta love a museum with working exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I love a museum that tries to keep its fleet in flying condition. This museum is not as big or diversified as some others but always worth a stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History in real 3D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a great way of understanding the contribution of the "greatest generation" by way of seeing the aircraft and listening to the crews and sometimes the pilots tell personal experiences. These guys/women are dwindling in numbers and this is an opportunity to learn first hand history.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Aviation enthusiasts must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Easy stop for the serious plane lover,especially good for guys who are not into shopping at the Outlets!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WWII Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WWII Aviation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.