We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad to have found this haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515-1115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So glad to have found this haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

At first trying for accommodation in the Napa valley, we were disappointed that anything we liked the sound of was already fully booked. We thought Calistoga might be a litle far out but how wrong we were. Calistoga is just the most delightful, unspoiled little town - so unlike Napa town, which is a dump, a tip, or a shoddy mess, whichever description you prefer - or St Helena, which is rather charmless, overpriced and rather ordinary. Moreover, Calistoga is SO convenient and not at all out of the way as it is right on the main highway, if you like sitting in traffic jams, and very close to the quiet and beautiful Silverado trail which runs almost parallel to the highway which it joins at Napa and IS the road to take.
So much for the position but for accommodation, I cannot think that there could be anywhere in the whole wine area to better the Stevenson Manor. For friendliness and helpfulness and kindness, the staff could not be faulted - for cleanliness and comfort it would get a Parker 100 and for price and value it almost beggars belief. With what you save by staying here as against some fancy hotel in Napa, you could nearly buy a case of Screaming Eagle or at least a bottle !!!!
Just a short tale to finish. On the morning we were leaving for Yosemite, We packed up and the car decided to stay where it was - it refused to start. As we didn't have a cellphone,the terrific manager spent the next two and a half hours on the phone to Dollar and to local "rescue services" until he eventually managed to get us going again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    164
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
89
262
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I travel quite a bit so we have used Trip Advisor many times for our trips. I have NEVER written a review; this hotel inspired me to write my FIRST TripAdvisor Review!

I'll keep it short... It was our 3rd year anniversary and I just mentioned on the notes that I was hoping to get the mountain view. They over exceeded my expectations. I got the mtn view AND a bottle of wine & a bag of See's chocolates!

Other Good Stuff:

- Arrival at the lobby was quick and friendly
- Lobby hostess was knowledgeable and willing to help(Jacqueline was her name I believe)
- Room is just as gorgeous as the professional pictures you see online(you know most hotels look better on pictures, this one was exactly the same)
- The hotel as a whole pays attention to detail. For example, classical music on our music player was already playing as we checked into our room.

Bad Stuff:

- NONE! The only bad thing was that we were only able to stay one night then had to leave to SF for a wedding. BUT we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: I did not try the restaurant nor the fitness center due to our short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Thaibinh,

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of our hotel and for allowing us to share in your special anniversary celebration. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the wine and chocolates in your room upon arrival. We love assisting our guests with celebrating special occassions and it sounds like we didn't miss a beat with yours. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit back here to Calistoga.

Warmest Regards,

James Farquhar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night at the Stevenson Manor. Somehow, the staff found out that it was our 45th anniversary. They had decorated our room by rolling towels forming a wedding cake and covered it with real flower petals. The also left a bottle of Napa Valley Cabernet which was very good! The breakfast was very good and the staff was even better. They gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant and assisted us with directions to various wineries and to out next location. Thank you James Farquhar and your excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, but actually wish we would have stayed longer! We ended up loving Calistoga and the Best Western was an affordable gem! We really were surprised at how nice it was (especially in comparison to the Best Western in Napa that was overpriced and no where near as nice as this property in Calistoga).
We were in a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony. The room was large, bathroom was huge (for a hotel) and everything was so comfortable and clean.
The woman at the front desk who checked us in was so helpful and sweet...wish I could recall her name, but I do remember she was from South Africa. We asked her a bunch if questions and she was very accommodating.
Overall, I would highly recommend the Best Western Stevenson Manor - and Calistoga in general!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Jennyp2020,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review on your most recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing the most cleanest accommodations and extraordinary customer service for our hotel guests. I'm pleased to hear that you wished you could have stayed longer with us and that you enjoyed your king balcony bedroom. Thank you for the compliments on Christelle's service that she provided you upon check in. I will certainly pass on the wonderful feedback to her. We look forward to your next visit with us when you return to the Napa Valley.

Warmest Regards,

James Farquhar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor

Address: 1830 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western PLUS Stevenson Manor offers guest-focused, Calistoga lodging. Discover wine country relaxation in our 34 Calistoga guestrooms outfitted with boutique-style hotel services, features, and amenities. Select from a variety of Calistoga vacation packages to experience one of the best Calistoga, California getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor Hotel Calistoga
Best Western Calistoga
Stevenson Manor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.