We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Checker's

Checker's
1414 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1418
707-942-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I just got back to the hotel; had dinner at Checkers half an hour ago. Just happened to be walking by, and tried it on a whim. Lucky whim! The white bean soup was excellent. So was the Napa salad. But when I took the first bite of the butternut squash ravioli, with smoked chicken and candied walnuts, I almost fainted. Oh my god. What a masterpiece. What a combination of flavors. Wow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    76
    25
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Da good stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Fun and unpretentious, Checkers is a sweet little restaurant. I love the Chinese Chicken Salad. It is so good and is big enough to have as an entree or split between two people. I also loved the braised lamb shank. Comfort food in a restaurant! What a nice meal. Frequented by locals and tourists - which I think says a lot about Checkers

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastopol, ca
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Price-to-Quality ratio is Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I split a 'napa' salad with chicken, nuts, apples and some other wonderful bits. really makes a great meal on its own... or can split a pasta as well, as we did. the angelhair pasta with shrimp was simple and delicious.

Informal and good, i give this rating a boost because the price-to-quality ratio is really quite high. if you want a good meal that won't break the bank, this is a good spot... informal, good service, and right on the main drag.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We LOVE this Italian restaurant! They are friendly and the food is truly delicious. They have a kid's menu that is fantastic and always give drawings and crayons. Their pizzas rocks and the main dishes make you travel to Italy... Definitely a must!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfort food in Calistoga”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Food was okay and reasonably priced. Nothing extraordinary, but the service was good and it was quiet. just what we needed at the time, after the noise from the speedway.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checker's also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Checker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Checker's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.