We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Checker's

Checker's
1414 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1418
707-942-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Georgia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Everything excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a limo driver take us to wineries for the day, and Checkers was the restaurant she had selected for us to stop and have lunch. The waitress was very friendly, she continued pouring the water, the food was brought out quickly, but the bread that comes first is FANTASTIC! From the pizza I ordered, the BLT sandwich with avocado two others ordered and the greek salad with the soup of day, it was all excellent. Tasty and brought out hot. We took half of the sandwich to go along with half the pizza (since we were nibbling along the way in the limo)--it was easy to get it all boxed up. Definitely stop into Checkers when in Calistoga for an ample menu with great food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    86
    27
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were hungry and decided to stop in. The food was delicious. The service was great and the price was reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat one night after a bike tour and came upon Checkers. There was nobody inside but we liked the menu and figured we would just get some pizza. The pizza was amazing!! The wine was amazing!! The pasta was amazing!! We had a great meal and had enough left over to put in our fridge for a snack the next day. I would recommend this place for a great casual meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pizza Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great pizza..nothing like getting together with friends..we had pizza to go brought it back to the hotel..Calistoga Spa Hot Springs..had an amazing time with friends..great pizza--by the pool--why did I wait so long to go on vacation...Calistoga is amazing.just as I remembered

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stopped in for a late dinner. The waitress was friendly and didn't make us feel rushed at all even though they were going to close in one hour after we arrived. The polenta cake was delicious and so was the Thai chicken. Focaccia bread and dipping oil and balsamic vinegar was served to us right away. Ordered a glass of wine which came in an extremely small wine glass...not at all what I am used to but that was OK.. Lots to choose from on their menu...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checker's also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Checker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Checker's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.