We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Clarion Collection Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
New Castle, PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Loved the Clarion Collection Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

During a recent vacation to California with my husband, we stayed for one night at this hotel. Too bad it wasn't longer. We loved the hotel. The courtyard area is very nice to sit at in the evening or morning (while enjoying your Belgian waffle that was made fresh for you!). We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Both were nicely kept. The room was really nice and clean, even had bathrobes and an in-room safe and fridge. At $141 w/ tax, this was the priciest stay we had in CA, but a good value for the Napa Valley area. We also felt this area in northern Napa Valley to be nicer than Napa itself further south. We even took a road across to Sonoma Valley to visit a winery there. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Good deal in pricey Napa area.

  • Liked — The continental breakfast and the pool/hot tub
  • Disliked — No restaurant there but several in nearby Calistoga
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    131
    43
    17
    12
See reviews for
75
140
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

My friend and I just returned from a 3-night stay at the Lodge at Calistoga. Apparently the hotel recently underwent a renovation and we loved our accommodations. The mattresses were fitted with unbelievably soft pillowtops and the grapevine design on the bedspread added to the charm. It seemed like everything in the room was new-new walls, fresh paint, new ceiling, new crown moulding, new carpet. The bathroom was clean and spacious (new tiling, too) and the crisp white bathrobes were a nice touch. We stayed on the second floor so we had a balcony facing the mountains. We were supplied coffee beans each morning to grind and use with the in-room coffee maker and to my relief, the room came with a fairly new black refrigerator. (The worn, brown fridges found in most hotels make me cringe.)
The fresh belgium waffle breakfast was a welcome treat. Bagels, fruit, muffins, cereal, and juice were also on hand. The lady who checked us into our room when we arrived was nice and helpful, even suggesting a few restaurants. And when we sent the housekeeping lady away twice one morning because we weren't quite ready to leave the room yet, she left with a smile and returned with a smile.
Sure you can find more luxurious accommodations, but they typically are twice the rate of The Lodge at Calistoga. (My room was around $200/night-including tax!) I intend to return to Napa and I will definitely stay at The Lodge at Calistoga.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

Very nice location jusoff the trail in Calistoga. It was a great base for our wine tasting in northern Napa. Also well located (walking distance) to good restaurants. It was a rainy winter day so we didn't walk but could have. Nice comfortable room. Free wireless internet. Great breakfast (they make fresh waffles to order). Appeared to be ample parking. The pool was closed for renovations and they told us we could walk accorss the street to use theres, but again it was cold & rainy and I doubt anyone did. Bathrobes in the room. Check in & out were easy. Only problem was our key card stopped working day 2 but the girl at the desk remembered us & quickly fixed it. They recommended some restaurants (we really liked Brannans, but could have done without the micro brewery). And there was a fridge in the room which we liked for our yummy Brannans leftovers.

  • Liked — Fresh made to order waffles and location to Calistoga wineries
  • Disliked — thin walls -we could hear everything upstairs & next door
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

The management decided to cancel our reservation at the last minute without so much as an attempt to contact us. The reservations were made back in December, and I had a written confirmation from them. They entered my credit card information incorrectly, and upon our arrival, they said the credit card was invalid. They had already given the room away, and made no attempt to apologize or help us find other accomodations for the night. Overall, their customer service is very poor.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rude management
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgePR, PR at Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, responded to this review, April 12, 2007
It is the hotel's policy to release reservations if the credit card provided at the time of booking is declined. We authorize credit cards to guarantee your stay 48 hours prior to your arrival. If however, your credit card is declined we make every attempt to contact you for the next 48 hours. If the guest makes no attempt to contact us back and provide us with a valid credit card, we release the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

We, unfortunately, received a gift certificate for this hotel. Despite the fact that we told the reservations person this when we booked with the hotel, they refused to honor it. The manager/owner could not have been any ruder about it and basically accused us of having a fake gift certificate or some such nonsense.

By the way, the "non-smoking" room smelled of cigarettes, and the "spa" was dirty. Yuck!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgePR, PR at Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, responded to this review, April 12, 2007
This hotel has had issues with guests attempting to use fradulent gift cards to claim free rooms. Proof of purchase is needed.

We find it extremely disheartening that someone who was unable to provide proof of purchase and did not infact stay at the hotel could write a review for a stay that did not happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

Well, after winding my way from Mendocino over to Clear Lake, and down Route 29, there was no sight more welcome than the Lodge at Calistoga. The staff in the lobby was welcoming, they had a room with a Kingsize bed, lots of pillows and clean sheets, and a balcony with two chairs overlooking the roadway:
it was "to die for" after staying in old fashioned cabins and B&B's on the coast. Calistoga is a great little town to visit. We came from the north coast of California, so I really appreciated the three block village of shops and dining options that were just down the road. It's a great little lodge, and if it seems a little pricey, remember your in the Sonoma Wine County and NOTHING comes cheap! Just enjoy and sleep well!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Our one day stay was far too long. The "hot mineral" pool and the jacuzzi were not only NOT even warm but they were both nasty. No wonder nobody was around the pool area.
The breakfast was ok and the rooms were "motel" like quality. Just don't look under your mattress. The mattress boxspring was full of stains.
We would never ever stay at this place again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgePR, PR at Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, responded to this review, April 17, 2007
Please note that all rooms have been remodeled. This includes bathroom, bedding, mattresses, and furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Address: 1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary healing of Calistoga's geothermal mineral hot springs as you soak in our outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, followed by a relaxing turn in our steam room and dry sauna. Get your mornings started right with our fitness room and follow up your workout with our complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage and biscuits. We also offer offsite spa services and packages at a renowned Calistoga day spa, as well as meeting and events space for groups and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs Of The West Hotel Calistoga
Clarion Collection Calistoga
Clarion Collection Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.