We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This inn was the least expensive I could find in Calistoga. The lobby is large and cool and the desk gal was sweet and helpful. The room was large and clean and there are pillow tops on the bed which were really comfy. The breakfast was hot and plentiful with waffles, eggs, juices, coffee, bagels with cream cheese, cold cereal, etc. The hostess was gracious and kept things well-stocked and clean. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with grass, rock and a little bridge by the outside eating area. The pool and hot tub have mineral water in them which smelled sort of funny, but it felt good once it cooled down a bit. There are dry and steam saunas with fresh, clean towels just off the pool area. That was a nice surprise. This hotel is out of town a bit and is away from the hustle and bustle of town which we appreciated.

Room Tip: The road is next to the hotel so ask for a room in the back of the property. There are corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    110
    40
    15
    12
See reviews for
63
121
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been coming back to this hotel for 4 years. The service, price for rooms, and location are great. There are great wineries and restaurants nearby. Calistoga is a wonderful small community with some really nice shops. We will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in Calistoga which makes it a great location for visiting wineries, access to excellent restaurants and overall for being in a pretty area. While the staff showed a lot of initiative to make their guests comfortable, the hotel's facilities needs a lot of TLC overall. Paint the place, change the carpets, definitely get new HVAC units (poor night sleep every night because of this-- sounded like being inside a blender every half hour or so). I would investigate the other moderately priced hotels first before staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCalistoga, General Manager at Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Travelathon,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that our staff were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you also for the candid comments on the improvements you would suggest. We will be making changes in the near future to address some of the items you mentioned. Nevertheless, please send an email to gm@comfortinncalistoga.com and let me know your room number so that I may have my maintenance staff check upon the health of the AC unit you mentioned. We haven't experienced issues with noise in the past as the units are less than two years old. Safe travels.

Cheers!

Peter P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Recently stayed here for one evening on a road trip up the coast of Northern California. The motel was in a perfect location at the northern part of Napa Valley. The town was very quaint, quiet at night, but a few restaurants and bars as well as shops, etc. I would definitely stay here again for a more extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here during our wine tasting portion of our trip up north. We made the reservation a couple hours before we arrived. The location is a little outside of the cute downtown. We stayed in the room facing west and it had a beautiful view of the hills at sunset (The rooms on this side are the only rooms I would stay in, as the other rooms face towards the street or houses). The walls were a little thin, we could hear everything inside out rooms, but we weren't in the rooms were very much so it wasn't much of an issue. The breakfast area was small, but it was well stocked. I would recommend the hotel make scrambled eggs like some of the other Comfort Inns. I liked the full sized bagels and waffles. The rooms themselves were nicely decorated and the bathrooms were nice and clean. Overall, I would stay here again if I needed an affordable place to stay in Wine country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband is a professional magician and had two library shows in Napa recently. We decided to make the trip a mini-vacation and use a gift certificate for mud baths and massages. We chose the Comfort Inn Calistoga because it offered the best value for the price. We were very pleased with the hotel's cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, and excellent, complimentary breakfast offered each morning. We will definitely stay there again when we go to Calistoga.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed one night here. The room was clean and it had a fridge I could stash my food and drinks in. The bathroom & shower were clean as well. The Wireless Internet worked well. Had a quiet night's sleep. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Address: 1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary healing of Calistoga's geothermal mineral hot springs as you soak in our outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, followed by a relaxing turn in our steam room and dry sauna. Get your mornings started right with our fitness room and follow up your workout with our complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage and biscuits. We also offer offsite spa services and packages at a renowned Calistoga day spa, as well as meeting and events space for groups and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs Of The West Hotel Calistoga
Clarion Collection Calistoga
Clarion Collection Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.