We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, quiet place, would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Chico
2 reviews
“Good, quiet place, would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed one night here. The room was clean and it had a fridge I could stash my food and drinks in. The bathroom & shower were clean as well. The Wireless Internet worked well. Had a quiet night's sleep. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    124
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
72
134
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very good location, clean rooms, nice breakfast.
My wife and i stayed in Comfort Inn only one night, but we did enjoy friendly staff and quality of the room. The only negative part was a quality of air-conditioner. They use individual in-wall types that are fully automatic but it was on and off whole night without really making it comfortable especially with a location of it right next to the bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston Atoll
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Kelly was really nice, so thanks for that.

It has been a while since I stayed at a Comfort Inn. I'm a Best Western gal. So I guess I'm comparing this to most of my Best Western experiences. The rooms were o.k., carpets in o.k. shape and beds were very comfortable. Pillows were little squares which was kind of cheap but fine. The bathroom was a little old but it was functional and clean. There was a good sized refrigerator in the room, which came in handy for our drinks and veggies. We had a balcony and that was a bonus since we put our bathing suits out to dry. We had no noise issues whatsoever, found the walls to be fine. The A/C was old, you got a choice of high or low but you pretty much froze if you left it on high. It was about 96 by noon when we were there.

Breakfast is a small self serve 'buffet' featuring cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and waffle maker, bagel, english muffin, and bread (toast). There is a small room with a refrigerator in it, which holds butter, cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt, but since it was kind of 'hidden' not many people knew it was there.

Seating is kind of an issue if you have a party larger than two, and if you come at 'prime time' (8 a.m.) it's kind of tight.

There's a very small pool, which contains mineral water and supposedly is chlorinated. There is also a spa, which contains the same. The spa had some algae on the bottom which looked like it had been brushed off the side but not vacuumed. The spa was quite green the whole time we were there. The pool was green after the first day. Both of them looked like they needed the pH levels adjusted. The manager claimed it was fine but when we went to the local community pool, they said the water color only changes to green when they aren't using the right chemical mix.

The sauna and steam rooms are connected to the pool area. They looked well-loved. The steam room didn't look too sterilized - and I was too germophobic to use it, anyway, There were no instructions anywhere that we could find. Bathroom is right there, and there is a shower there as well.

We paid about $165 a night and I don't know what the local rates are but I expect they are fairly exorbitant, so I suppose that is considered a fair price for what we got.

BTW the coffee was dreck and if you are a Starbucks or Peet's fan you'll want to hit the Calistoga Roastery instead of drinking this stuff. It was really weak.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back of the property if you don't like road noise - there isn't too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is what you get when you plan a trip just days before you travel in the busy season. The room was clean, but we got a poor night's sleep due to the ac unit shutting off so much, as well as the uncomfortable bed/pillows.

There was evidence of deferred maintenance all over like the rotting wood on the stairs and fencing, but we enjoyed their pool and the room was fine for 1 night. It's about a half mike from the town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean premises and room. Beds were super comfy. Rooms were large and well equipped. This has to be one of the best motels that we have stayed in in quite a while. Don't let the name fool you. Competitive pricing and throw in a nice breakfast. Good for both families and couples. It is also quiet. No road noises!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was a fair price and supposed to be walking distance to town. Four of us ladies did not feel the town was close enough to walk to. Maybe bicycle but not to walk. Hotel is older and not very updated. If you are looking for price only, this is a normal old regular Motel with nothing special. Small Pool and Hot tub.Very Nice Staff. Just Ok breakfast. Not a Romantic Hotel if you are looking for the Napa Valley experience and defianantly not a close walk after an evening of wine and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is clearly an older hotel/motel that was converted into a Comfort Inn. While the rooms are not plush with modern accents, they do provide the basics. The staff is sweet and extremely accommodating. If you are looking for a nice, cheap place to sleep while you explore the beauty that is Calistoga this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Address: 1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary healing of Calistoga's geothermal mineral hot springs as you soak in our outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, followed by a relaxing turn in our steam room and dry sauna. Get your mornings started right with our fitness room and follow up your workout with our complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage and biscuits. We also offer offsite spa services and packages at a renowned Calistoga day spa, as well as meeting and events space for groups and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs Of The West Hotel Calistoga
Clarion Collection Calistoga
Clarion Collection Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.