We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Save
You added Chateau de Vie to your Saves list
3250 Hwy 128, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ditto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I can only echo the previous reviews- CDV is first class all the way! We spent our last night there after 3 previous nights in Sonoma. After hitting a few wineries in Napa we were pretty much over it all (I know, blasphemy!) by 3:00 pm. The pool and hot tub were just what we needed to unwind and open a couple of our purchases (plastic wine glassed available inside, BTW). We stayed in the Carriage House and it lived up to its billing, as did breakfast. Peter and Phillip were great hosts and a lot of fun. Oh, and their Cab was the BEST we had during the whole trip. I'm drinking a glass of it as I type this. One night really wasn't enough. We'll be back for more!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
271
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hands down the best place either of us have stayed in. I was tempted not to post so the "secret" doesnt get out--but 100+ 5-star reviews do not lie...

From the start it was an exceptional experience at CDV. we stayed in the carriage house, which is a well appointed, more private building set apart from the main house by just a few short steps in the estate vineyard. We absolutely loved it and it was worth every penny. The only thing they could do to improve the carriage house suite would be add another rocker for the front porch (although there is still ample seating on the main patio, I found it odd to only have one rocker on the patio facing vineyard). But that is certainly the only thing i could even come up with to nit-pick about.

The hosts were great--very friendly and informative about the area. Its such a nice change if you're used to staying at large chain hotels (the San Fran W comes to mind...) where the staff are typically rude, pretentious, and frankly uninterested in helping guests feel at home. Plus they are great chefs and are more than happy to provide afternoon snacks and wine--a welcome treat at the end of a long day

Not much else to say except we cant wait to return!

Room Tip: carriage house is amazing, but fills up quick and is pricey. I'd say its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We have traveled the world and this is one of the best B&Bs we have ever visited. We stayed three nights and Peter and Phillipe were gracious, generous and grand as hosts throughout our stay. The setting is idyllic and it reminded us of Provence in southern France. The breakfasts were served outside as you overlooked the vineyards and heard the gentle sound of water from the fountains. The gourmet dishes were delicious, divine and served elegantly and effortlessly. My wife has Celiac and every morning, Phillipe made gluten-free bread, muffins and ensured that all of her dietary needs were met. They gave her gluten-free muffins for the road when we we checking out. In the late afternoon, while we were at the pool, Peter (without being asked) asked us if we wanted some wine. After saying yes, he returned with not only wine, but a plate of cheeses, fruits and nuts. Peter and Phillipe anticipated, and were always attentive to, their guests needs, desires and demands. The Chateau de Vie is a gem and we cannot wait until we return next July.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our 'minimoon', straight after our wedding in San Francisco. We can honestly say that we've rarely stayed anywhere quite as good Chateau de Vie. From the moment we arrived, to the day we left, Peter and Phillip could not do enough for us, serving us mind-blowing breakfasts each morning and looking after us with an effortless calm which befits the tranquillity and beauty of this place. The guys didn't put a foot wrong, taking care of our reservations, taxi bookings and even shipping some wine for us. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Go there.

Room Tip: If your budget can extend to their 'Carriage House' (set in their own vineyard) I would high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came for a weekend getaway. Having booked fairly last minute, there was only one room left, and the owners told us at the time of booking that this particular room has a separate bathroom down the hall, to make sure we were okay with that. In the end that bathroom was only 7 steps away (yes I counted them), and was our own personal bathroom, very lovely. The room was very comfortable (bed especially) -- so I would have no qualms about booking that room again. But more than anything, our hosts were tremendously gracious. They offered us wine and fruit/cheese platters whenever we were just "hanging out" on their beautiful grounds, and we could help ourselves to beverages as well. The breakfasts that Phillip made were truly amazing -- huge portions of truly gourmet meals. Our bike tires were flat and we forgot our pump, so Peter took our bikes behind his shop and pumped them up for us. They have recommendations for hiking, biking, restaurants, wine tasting, etc. In the end, we were so happy and comfortable at their place, that we skipped all the usual wine tasting and spent time on their back terrace which was so relaxing. Their personal touch and attention to service was impeccable. We'd love to go again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place is AMAZING!
I can't imagine where the others must have stayed but it couldn't have been here, this is the most wonderful and inviting B and B we have ever stayed in.
The breakfast is a 5 star meal.
Please enjoy this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I would not recommend this place. I have traveled extensively and stayed at many B&B's. Chateau de Vie hosts were not around during our check in time (5 PM). When they did show up (we had to call and wait 20 minutes) they had no more than a few words to say other than handing us our keys and showing us our room. The "make yourself at home" welcome mat was not found here. Things seemed very unwelcoming. With all the other great places to stay in Calistoga, Sonoma or Napa I would not repeat my stay at this establishment. Breakfast was luck luster and hosts disappeared after landing a plate of Denny's Diner style food (never did return to say good bye or thank you). We were sure not to let the door hit us on the way out. Suggest the hosts travel to other b&b's to see how they can improve with guest services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeB3250, Owner at Chateau de Vie, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Our apologies for the expericence these guest had.
And we are a bit confused.
Our policy over the last 16 years is to always put our guest first, be more than gracious and always exceed our guest expectations. An Innkeeper is always on property and we go to great lengths to both interact with our guest and be antentive to there needs. Both our afternoon wine and cheese service in the afternoon and our breakfast in the morning is handled with great attention to detail in both it's preperation and presentation.
We have shared this review with our entire staff and are still left with the feeling that they may be confusing our property.
Nonetheless, we would love the opportuntnity to correct this with these guest and rest assurred it not our standard of service nor has it been in 16 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Address: 3250 Hwy 128, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga
Chateau De Vie b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Vie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.