We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,but not worth the cost.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Grove Inn to your Saves list
Cottage Grove Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Soar, Tour and Stay
Ranked #4 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice,but not worth the cost.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went there late fall/ early winter for a girls weekend. The cottages are great. Big jacuzzi tub, fireplace, seating area and the details were appreciated (umbrellas for the very wet weekend, bikes, and a little picnic bag that even had a pouch for wine). It is expensive but the service was definitely lacking and there is a huge push for tips (as another reviewer mentioned). After we checked in, we were given a folder with lots of great information and that was it. Any other time I looked for help I felt I had to hunt for it. We went to the wine and cheese hour in the evening that starts at 5. We arrived at 5:15 and some of the varieties of cheese, crackers and jams were already out and were never replaced. The initial quantities also seemed anorexic at best (for example 2 tbs of each jam). Breakfast was also disappointing. The only hand made food item was a quiche that was never ready until a half hour after service started. There are waffles, but its like a Comfort Inn. The only difference is that you don't pour it out yourself. The breakfast pastries are store bought and only 1 variety of each yogurt was put out. I tried to get a second vanilla with no luck. The highlight of breakfast was the fresh fruit with a newspaper by the fireplace. I did get a deal through Vacationist and I did go off season, but I still feel it was a tad pricey. I thought Calistoga was beautiful, and I hope to return, but I will probably look into staying someplace else.

Room Tip: There are differences in between the cabins. We got one that had 2 twin beds for a girls weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
How fun, a girls weekend in the Napa Valley! We love to hear when guests appreciate the attention to detail that each cottage has to offer. The winter is a great time to enjoy the big jacuzzi tubs and the wood burning fire places to keep you warm.
Our lovely homemade quiche and pastries are made fresh at a Calistoga bakery, we always do our best to stay local.
We're glad you had the opportunity to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    36
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
282
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently returned from our third stay at Cottage Grove Inn. The cottages are lovely, well appointed and very well kept. We enjoyed both the evening wine and cheese reception and the breakfast each morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. The town of Calistoga provides a more laid back atmosphere in Napa valley, and we found many great wineries nearby. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Napa Valley in the Fall has to be my favorite time of year! The leaves turn such vibrant colors, its a little cooler in the air and it makes the wine taste that much better. We enjoy creating unique winery experiences for our guests, whether it be taking our complimentary bikes or taking a private wine tour we'll come up with a great itinerary based on your interests. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've been staying there for 10 years or so. We don't even look anywhere else. They are comfortable, have the best beds and pillows ever! All amenities that we like. They're friendly and it is not a typical B&B where you are piled into one house with a bunch. It's much more private and quiet.

Great concept, great execution. We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
It means so much that you always return to Cottage Grove Inn each year!
We always enjoy having you and we hope that each stay brings you a new Napa Valley experience. We pride ourselves on making our guests comfortable in every way. We took our time researching all aspects of the sleeping experience and found the best bed/mattresses and pillows. Having a private cottage makes all the difference when you want to enjoy your Napa Valley retreat. Thank you for sharing and we will look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from a winery wedding weekend in Calistoga. We choose to spend some $$$$ and stay at the Cottage Grove Inn and we would definitely return. Each cottage is its own separate structure and the entire block of cottages (16 units?) sits under trees. The room has all of the accommodations you need; robes, wine glasses, opener, backpack, and they even have bicycles for check out at the office.

We brought our own wine but ended up drinking the wine that was served with cheese and fruit in the evening. We stayed in as it was the SF Giants playoff series so we enjoyed the game with our appetizers the first night.

The bed is comfortable and that can be a deal breaker for me. Plenty of blankets if needed. The weather was unusually warm so although everything was provided for a real wood burning fire we did not opt to make a fire.

Two person tub and when most places say that it is not really true but this is a 3-4 foot tub definitely large enough for two. No pool or hot tub here but the tub was perfect as we were out each day anyhow.

The breakfast was great as well. The first morning however, we had some communication issues with the staff in the breakfast room as they take your order for smoothies and waffles and it is pretty informal so the waffle never arrived and the one smoothie became two. There was enough other food that it was not that big of a deal. The second morning someone else was in charge of the breakfast room and it went much smoother.

As we traveled around Calistoga I took note of the other Inn's and hotels in the area and I think we made a great choice. It has been many years since we have been up to the Napa area and our past stays have led us to Napa itself, so this is our first stay in Calistoga. We went to the castle which I would recommend and to Rombauer on the way home. Both were great and we took home bottles of wine from each of these wineries.

We would return to this Inn in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but ours did not back to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aren't Napa Valley weddings the best!? We're so glad you had the opportunity to stay with us at Cottage Grove Inn and enjoy all that Calistoga has to offer. The private comfortable setting in each cottage really gives you a variety of ways to spend your days/nights, we try to think of everything!
Our guests rave about the complimentary breakfast and when you return for your next visit we definitely owe you that waffle :)
We appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This B & B was a little more commercial than we are used to. It lacks the personal touch that so many have. But, for some, this may be a good thing. Breakfast and afternoon snacks are very good; the rooms are luxurious; the location very good. Everything is top notch. Staff is impersonal; there seems a big push for tips, which isn't a common B & B phenomenon. I sort of resented paying $50 extra for a rollaway bed which we needed when rooms are at this price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We're thrilled you chose to stay with us at Cottage Grove Inn. Our cottages are perfect for one or two people but we're happy to acommodate our guests when they have a 3rd person staying with them, we just ask they pay an extra $50 for the rollaway bed and the additional food, wine, etc that is provided. I see you traveled as 2 which indicates not a charge for 3. We do put a tip envelope in the cottage at the end of the stay because we are an INN not a B&B where the owner is having you stay in their home and cooking the food etc... We have daily maid service and food service . The gratuity is all up to each person"s discretion. We do not mean it to be offensive in any way. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The room was perfect. Clean, quaint, had a good entertainment center, and just beautiful. The amenities were perfect, and the bed was comfortable. I even enjoyed the soft playing music in the room as we walked in. The wine and cheese happy hour and breakfasts were delicious. We were walking distance from a few shops and not too far from wineries. We took advantage of the complimentary bikes to a few wineries.

We did have a bloomspot (groupon type deal) which helped the price. I'm pretty sure I'd still pay full price for this great place. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
The Bloomspot (Groupon type deals) are a great way to visit new places you haven't been before. We're happy to hear that we met or exceeded your expectations here at Cottage Grove Inn.
Located walking distance to downtown Calistoga and a short bike ride to many wineries is such a plus when staying with us. The complimentary bikes are a great way to get around and fully equipped with helmet, bike lock and water to stay hydrated. We have many different bike tours you can choose from so make sure we share those with you.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Cottages are quaint, staff was friendly, very clean, loved the wood burning fireplaces, great wine and cheese reception, loved breakfast. We would definetly come back again. We would also recommend the wine tour at Sterling Winery. We also ate at Gott's in St. Helena. The ahi tuna burger is well worth the wait in line.

Room Tip: Go on-line and look at the pictures for your favorite decor. All the cottages look the same from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
You could not have picked a better place to stay in Wine Country! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to explore the Napa Valley.

Make sure to ask us for Sterling Winery passes for the tram ride and tasting and many more that collaborate with our complimentary bike tours we have set up for our guests.

Also a "TIP" for Gott's big line is to call ahead and prevent standing and waiting. We have restaurant listings available for all our guests needs if they'd like to review prior to choosing their dinig pleasures.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storybook cottages nestled in a grove of century-old Siberian Elms in the Napa Valley provides and unparalleled wine country experience. The charming exterior of each cottage invites relaxation and retreat while the exquisite interior décor is all about simple luxury, featuring the finest linens and soaps, original art, custom-made furniture, reclaimed wood floors, wood burning fireplace, two-person deep soaking tub, wet bar, HD TV, wireless internet and DMX. Start your day with a relaxed breakfast on our patio, enjoying the antics of our resident colony of finches. Our complimentary breakfast includes specialty coffee drinks, fruit smoothies, quiche, and waffles. Calistoga’s renowned geothermal spas and the town’s unique restaurants are only a short walk away. The trail head for a popular "Palisades" day hike is nearby, and complimentary bikes are available for a spin through wine country backroads. We are excited to help you plan your visit, from private wine tastings to balloon rides, horseback riding to massages. In-room spa services are also available. Wind down after a day of wine country exploring on your private porch with wicker rockers, or join other guests and sample Napa Valley wines at our complimentary late afternoon wine and cheese reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.