We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Christopher's Inn to your Saves list
Christopher's Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked the Inn online, totally unfamiliar with Calistoga or Christopher Inn. What a great room. It had a fireplace, a balcony and large whirlpool tub. We will definitely return. One evening we had a picnic dinner on the patio by the fountain under blooming trees. Visiting from the 'north country' it was a perfect evening. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was nutritious and started us off well for a busy day touring.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    105
    25
    16
    22
See reviews for
29
205
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Small room with fire place and flat screen tv. Clean. Great location, very short walk to downtown Calistoga. complimentary breakfast with cereal, fruit and eggs. Helpful , friendly staff. Would stay here again. A great value

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I just spent one night at Christopher's Inn, and the entire experience was great. I arrived after the office had closed, but the night manager Sandra, was extremely helpful and came down to let me in. She was so friendly and made me feel welcome. The bed was super comfortable and I got my good night's sleep after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

..then I would say go ahead. Walking distance to downtown Calistoga. Very clean, nice bath products. Adequate continental breakfast.
But small room with thin walls. I could actually hear the man in next room snoring! No blackout curtains so hope you like to get up with the sun. In order to get to the thermostat you must pull out a table and get on your hands and knees to adjust it.
The wine country is an expensive place to stay. I thought their off season price wasn't too bad. So depends what you are willing to deal with.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Christopher's Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Goldie,
Thank you for your kind comments. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Upon reading your review, we immediately made the thermostat easily accessible and checked all other rooms to ensure the same. Thank you for bringing to our attention the lack of a blackout shade and the noise coming from the adjoining room. Having just finished installing new carpets and wall coverings throughout the hotel, we will be addressing your concerns next as we will continue to make improvements that benefit our guests. We look forward to your next visit!
Best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We loved our newly renovated room. Beautiful high ceilings, fireplace, & jacuzzi bathtub. The Inn also provides you with a free shuttle pass that takes you all over Calistoga Wine Country!!! Staying at Christopher's Inn was most certainly the perfect way to begin our engagement trip in Napa.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A nice change from the traditional hotel. A bit of a B&B feel. Great location, walking distance to town and nearby restaurants. Easy travel to and from wineries. A quiet room, serene garden area outside room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed one night in one of the basic queen rooms, which are bigger than the average hotel room. There is a separate sitting area with its own flat screen TV. I think our room must be one that was recently renovated. Everything was either very new or old enough to be antique, as opposed to just old. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. There is coffee in the room but no frig or microwave.

As others have noted, the location is convenient to shops, restaurants and tasting. The continental (plus) breakfast is good. Everything was fresh. The two staff members we saw were very friendly and helpful.

Try to get a room toward the back of the property. We were in room 1 right by highway 29, which was a bit noisy.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. It'll be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Christopher's Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Pelican Driver,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have indeed remodeled almost every room and will continue to make more improvements. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, so thank you for taking the time to help us improve the guest experience at Christopher's Inn. We look forward to seeing you next time your in Calistoga!

Best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christopher's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher's Inn

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. Christopher's Inn features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bath robes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Christopher's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.