We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, friendly people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Christopher's Inn to your Saves list
Christopher's Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice room, friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is at the end of calistoga. You can easily walk downtown. We had room #10 which is a bit hidden and features its own fireplace (very nice) but unfortunately it was rainy. The room was nice, clean and the breakfast was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    98
    25
    16
    22
See reviews for
29
198
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at Christopher's on March 6th 2013. It is a beautiful little inn! Check-in was very quick and uncomplicated. My room (no 7) had a fireplace, a lot of space and a very comfortable bed. The only negative things I could state are that the light switch in room no 7 is hidden behind the door, right next to the fireplace. Especially for us europeans it is hard to find out that there is a switch beneath the dimmer. The second negative thing is that the bathroom seems to have no heating (or I wasn't able to find it and switch it on) so it is much cooler in there than in the rest of the room.
But apart from these little things I enjoyed my stay very much and would gladly come here again if I should ever come back to Calistoga!

Room Tip: Room No 7 is very recommendable since it is spacy (I saw ma friends' room - No 9 - and it was mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Christopher's Inn the weekend of March 22. We stayed at the inn for only one night on our way home from Mendocino. The staff was friendly, service was good, and the continental breakfast (no hot food) was decent. The downsides were: 1) The room was really outdated and the carpet was horribly stained and worn. We stayed in room #12 and it appeared that the management was trying to hide the old pink stained carpet with a few area rugs. It would be better to rip out the carpet and just leave the cement slab with area rugs. Honestly, it was really gross. Perhaps we should have asked for another room that wasn't so beat up. 2) The hotel is on a very busy Main Street. Fortunately there wasn't much traffic on a Sunday night and we wore earplugs. 3) The inn was not really a B&B. Yes, breakfast was included, but there were no innkeepers, nor a hot breakfast served. It was really just a small hotel. We will likely not stay at this property again. Nothing too special at all.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. If you are in a downstairs room, you can hear people tromping around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This charming, well-maintained inn is located within walking distance of downtown Calistoga and a perfect place for a relaxing weekend getaway for anyone, but especially those coming from the Bay Area. We loved that it didn't have the typical two-night minimum of most inns and B&Bs. This allowed us to drive up Saturday morning, do some wine-tasting, check in and schedule a late-afternoon mud bath/massage without the added expense of two nights. The inn is also conveniently located right across the street from the highly recommended Lavender Hill Spa. Their volcanic ash bathes and massages are top notch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a day at this inn a couple of weeks ago. We took the room with the fireplace and Jacuzzi. It was a cozy and well made room. The jacuzzi was the one that you have step down into. Very romantic place. Walking distance to all eating places and wine shops. The staff was very friendly and professional. Will return again.

Room Tip: Take the room with the jacuzzi and dont forget to ask for AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

During our recent trip to San Francisco, we wanted to visit the Napa Valley area. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and the good price, we decided to book a room and stay at Christopher's Inn in Calistoga. We stayed in an upstairs room (3) across from the office. Check in was easy and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was nicely decorated with a more upscale feeling. It had a gas fireplace, extra heater, king bed, and seating area. There was plenty of room for our luggage. The bathroom area was very clean. The carpet was a bit stained.
The outside could use a little more cleaning and painting.
The breakfast the next morning exceeded our expectations with juice, fresh fruit, breads, and cereals on nice china. There was coffee and tea choices. The Inn is located within easy walking distance of the town, restaurants, an easy drive to vinyards and an old grist mill. I would have rated the Inn 5 stars except the traffic noise was a negative factor. We turned the window air conditioner fan on high which helped a lot. There isn't much they can do about the busy highway. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was hesitant when I first booked due to a stay a few years ago. Due to the more affordable price in the area, I went ahead anyway. From the moment I walked into the office, there seemed to be something different. There was a few types of coffee available and fruit. The staff person greeted me with a smile and welcomed me. She checked to make sure the room was ready, and it was very nice and clean. Looking around there seemed to be changes. The morning breakfast is buffet but very nice with proper dishware. I spoke to the manager and told her there seemed to be a lot of improvement since the last time I stayed. Apparently, they are under new ownership, made the prices more in line, and are making more improvements. There are more improvements needed such as powerwashing, some new rugs, painting, and some repairs. However, it is a great location and a good value. I thought I would never go back but I am happy I did. V.Sattui still seems to be the most fun winery with somewhat affordable wine prices, very good wine, food, and fun atmosphere. Expect to pay $40-50 bottle a wine at most wineries and many have tasting fees of $15-20.

Room Tip: don't get rooms on the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Christopher's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher's Inn

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. Christopher's Inn features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bath robes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Christopher's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.