We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Country Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Christopher's Inn to your Saves list
Christopher's Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off first night!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Charming Country Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Christopher's Inn. The service was very friendly and my room was immaculately clean and comfortable, despite being a bit on the small side. The breakfast was outstanding and included a healthy fruit salad, hard boiled eggs and a tasty chocolate croissant freshly baked by a local bakery. My only complaint is that the sound proofing wasn't as good as it could be - there was a faint sound of someone snoring in the next room that I could have done without. Overall an excellent experience and I would definitely stay at Christopher's Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    93
    21
    15
    22
See reviews for
28
186
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is lovely, beautiful rooms, fire place, comfy bed, helpful and accommodating staff. The breakfast is awesome!!!! Really good location. Coffee machine a rarity at hotels and was excellent- Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was attending a week long course at the CIA (Culinary Institute of America) in St. Helena and was looking for an affordable place to stay. Most B&B and hotels in the nearby areas were all beyond my budget, so when I came across Christopher’s Inn and it’s affordable nightly rates, I was ecstatic. The accommodation at the Christopher’s is like staying at a quaint, little cottage. It may not be a 4-star hotel, but it is comfortable and has character. I always have trouble sleeping in a strange bed when I’m traveling but the bed at the Christopher’s was so comfortable I had a hard time getting out of it. I hope to go back to attend more classes at the CIA in the future and when I do, I’ll definitely be staying at the Christopher’s Inn again.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room in the back and I got it. I'm really sensitive to noises, but I found t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Christopher's Inn. The bed was comfy, the fireplace made our room warm and cozy and the breakfast fresh and delicious. The only negative was the lack of insulation between our room and the one next to us (We could hear him snoring). I don't think all the room are set up this way...side by side.

We would highly recommend Christopher's Inn to anyone visiting the area. A great value and the location was right around the corner to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Suitably impressed with accommodation, ideal location for exploring the Napa area, winery's close by, and quaint Calistoga town, within walking distance of the Inn. Rooms well appointed, rooms are separate constructions, comparable to small chalets, each fitted with welcoming log affect fireplace. Only downside, walls paper thin, therefore, heard occupants in other room chatting away, clearly. Earplugs helped. Very well maintained, could not fault standards of cleanliness and decor. Beds lovely and comfortable, linen crisp & fresh.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Christopher's Inn is more of a small hotel than a B&B. Still the staff is excellent. Thet were extremely helpful in giving us all kinds of local information. They helped my girlfriend orginize a picknick, they told us where to fing hiking trails and whre to eat. The room is smallish but comfortable and very romantic with a small fireplace. Price was unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here 4 Nights. A very charming and reasonably priced place- great value! Not really a B and B as it may appear- actually more like a boutique hotel. Beautifully appointed rooms with fireplaces, good quality bed and bed linens, bathrobes, and nice amenities. Continental breakfast very good: Clean, fresh, wuality baked goods, european coffee, etc..Substantial mention must be made of Sandy the Asst Manager. Incredibly accommodating and attentive to guest needs- she represents the place very nicely. Her hospitality would be reason to stay again.

One major disappointment! Our room, #9, is incredibly small and tight.

I am 6'4/220 and my wife is also tall. We had requested a king as we always do, but unfortunately the inn was fully booked 2 of the 4 nights we are here, so thy extended no option for us to upgrade. We asked and were willing to pay anything, but no go per Albino at the desk (he too was very professional).

The full/queen bed leaves less than 2 feet on either side of the walls so its a bit tight and claustrophobic. You can't open the beautiful window shutters without blocking the entry door, the hanging closet measures 18" (not possible for two people to hang clothes for a 4 day stay), and there is no dresser of course as there is no room for one, no under bed storage so we are tripping over our suitcases, and finally the huge (albeit beautiful) quilt lays on the floor just in front of the fireplace if you choose to take it off ( its hesvy and warm) consuming the only open floorspace making walking around difficult. This room is small!!!!

Message to future guests: Stay here by all means!!! but do not accept room 9 unless you are going to be there for a short stay and traveling alone. I understand all the other rooms are similarly appointed but they are considerably larger.

Message to management: Room 9 should be designated soley as a single person guest room, definitely not couples, or better yet as a storage room or closet for housekeeping.

This room is micro small, smaller than anything I've ever seen, even seen in Paris. At any price 4 nights in a room this small can really affect your overall experience when visiting napa. I think we'll pass in the future, and try another place, but this place may be worth a visit for the right price and depending upon your standards of comfort!

Room Tip: Sorry thereis no pool or restaurant- pls disregard rating above. Tip for good room: at time of res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christopher's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher's Inn

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. Christopher's Inn features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bath robes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Christopher's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.