We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn in Calistoga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bergson to your Saves list
The Bergson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Calistoga Shuttle!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Calistoga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Inn in Calistoga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Christopher's Inn. The bed was comfy, the fireplace made our room warm and cozy and the breakfast fresh and delicious. The only negative was the lack of insulation between our room and the one next to us (We could hear him snoring). I don't think all the room are set up this way...side by side.

We would highly recommend Christopher's Inn to anyone visiting the area. A great value and the location was right around the corner to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Suitably impressed with accommodation, ideal location for exploring the Napa area, winery's close by, and quaint Calistoga town, within walking distance of the Inn. Rooms well appointed, rooms are separate constructions, comparable to small chalets, each fitted with welcoming log affect fireplace. Only downside, walls paper thin, therefore, heard occupants in other room chatting away, clearly. Earplugs helped. Very well maintained, could not fault standards of cleanliness and decor. Beds lovely and comfortable, linen crisp & fresh.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Christopher's Inn is more of a small hotel than a B&B. Still the staff is excellent. Thet were extremely helpful in giving us all kinds of local information. They helped my girlfriend orginize a picknick, they told us where to fing hiking trails and whre to eat. The room is smallish but comfortable and very romantic with a small fireplace. Price was unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Cuori1Capanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here 4 Nights. A very charming and reasonably priced place- great value! Not really a B and B as it may appear- actually more like a boutique hotel. Beautifully appointed rooms with fireplaces, good quality bed and bed linens, bathrobes, and nice amenities. Continental breakfast very good: Clean, fresh, wuality baked goods, european coffee, etc..Substantial mention must be made of Sandy the Asst Manager. Incredibly accommodating and attentive to guest needs- she represents the place very nicely. Her hospitality would be reason to stay again.

One major disappointment! Our room, #9, is incredibly small and tight.

I am 6'4/220 and my wife is also tall. We had requested a king as we always do, but unfortunately the inn was fully booked 2 of the 4 nights we are here, so thy extended no option for us to upgrade. We asked and were willing to pay anything, but no go per Albino at the desk (he too was very professional).

The full/queen bed leaves less than 2 feet on either side of the walls so its a bit tight and claustrophobic. You can't open the beautiful window shutters without blocking the entry door, the hanging closet measures 18" (not possible for two people to hang clothes for a 4 day stay), and there is no dresser of course as there is no room for one, no under bed storage so we are tripping over our suitcases, and finally the huge (albeit beautiful) quilt lays on the floor just in front of the fireplace if you choose to take it off ( its hesvy and warm) consuming the only open floorspace making walking around difficult. This room is small!!!!

Message to future guests: Stay here by all means!!! but do not accept room 9 unless you are going to be there for a short stay and traveling alone. I understand all the other rooms are similarly appointed but they are considerably larger.

Message to management: Room 9 should be designated soley as a single person guest room, definitely not couples, or better yet as a storage room or closet for housekeeping.

This room is micro small, smaller than anything I've ever seen, even seen in Paris. At any price 4 nights in a room this small can really affect your overall experience when visiting napa. I think we'll pass in the future, and try another place, but this place may be worth a visit for the right price and depending upon your standards of comfort!

Room Tip: Sorry thereis no pool or restaurant- pls disregard rating above. Tip for good room: at time of res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything about this little inn was wonderful. Our room had a fireplace and the complimentary breakfast was beautiful. We will definitely recommend this little gem. The front desk staff lady was so helpful. Easy to find and easy to walk to the little town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We contacted James in December regarding our wedding room block for April of 2013. He was helpful, and provided us with comprehensive info including a rate card differentiating between 3/29/13-5/30/13 (Spring Rates), and 5/31/13-11/9/13 (Summer Rates). We had another wedding celebration overseas in December in honor of my future mother in law... So needless to say, it was an insanely busy period. Because we trusted James and the details he provided, we focused our efforts on the December event.

Upon returning home, and less than 4 weeks from our last communication with him, we asked James to send us a contract to complete.

Lo and behold:
1) He rescinded upon the original AAA discount that he agreed to (although he claims this was a "misunderstanding", I have an email from him - and from this email I quote "Yes, I can set the entire group block up for XX% discount off with AAA")

2) He jacked up the rates in the contract without giving myself or my wedding planner a heads up... Surprise surprise, "Summer Rates" now apply for our stay in April. Any unsuspecting and trusting person, who wouldn’t think of cross checking the rate card, would've been duped.

We completely understand that flights/hotels use demand-driven pricing models. Further, in hindsight, we should've pushed to complete the contract before heading overseas - all fair, and we will consider as lessons learned. However, we are appalled at the manner in which he materially changed the pricing on us - without at least a courtesy notice especially since his rate card outlined dates for all of 2013, and without honoring previously agreed to terms.

All in all, this is simply dishonorable business practice.

If considering this hotel, take heed of our experience... Proceed with caution

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Itsytravel,

I sincerely apologize again for the confusion with your wedding group block request. As I had mentioned to your wedding planner, we did in fact have another wedding group that reserved the same dates that you had requested before you decided to move forward with your group block. Our room rates that were quoted were still spring season rates, but because the other group finalized their contract before you, the rates quoted to you were higher. I was also willing to offer the 10% discount for each of your rooms booked as I was made aware that you were AAA members, but with the rates being higher, your wedding planner informed us that there was no longer any interest in moving forward with the group block. I would be happy to assist you with finding suitable accommodations for your group. Please feel free to contact me anytime.

Warmest Regards,

James Farquhar
Hotel Manager
(707) 942-1112
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is a very cozy stay. The rooms are very charming, and the staff is very inviting. I stayed in room 18 while in town for a job interview. The room was on the second floor and was quiet as well as relaxing. Comfortable beds and a jacuzzi in the shower were both pluses. If you need a place to stay in the upper Napa Valley, then Christopher's Inn is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#12 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd., Calistoga, CA 94515 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. Christopher's Inn features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing