We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Trip to the Wine Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brannan Cottage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brannan Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Brannan Cottage Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Brannan Spring Break
Ranked #10 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
1 review
“Winter Trip to the Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I made the trip up to Napa in late January. It was chilly but the inn was warm and cozy. We had a Living Social deal and stayed in the gorgeous Deluxe King room. It being our first trip to Napa, host Eden Umble had a little bottle of Mums sparkling wine waiting for us. The room had all the modern amenities including a heated bathroom floor, an Illy machine, a large flat screen with access to streaming services like Netflix, free wifi, an automatic fireplace, and bedside chargers. We also had our own little porch and staircase, being in a separate building than the main inn. The adorable blue shade of the inn was a nice touch as well. The town of Calistoga itself was beautiful and the inn was within walking distance of everything. The hospitality at Brannan Cottage can't be stated enough. We enjoyed waking up each morning early to head down to the lobby to get our complimentary locally made muffins and homemade coffee and tea and then climbing back into bed to enjoy them. Even though we only stayed the weekend it was fantastic. We have decided it will be our go to accommodations when we go back to Napa.

Room Tip: Go for a King size room and the more modern styled choice. And one with its own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments Jenny! We're very glad you found the Inn so comfy, convenient and welcoming - we agree, the Deluxe King rooms with deck and fireplace are extra special. A first visit to Napa Valley is cause for celebration in our book, and we're grateful you let us know so we could help commemorate the occasion. Most gratifying of all is that we can look forward to both of you coming back. We can't wait! very best, Eden Umble, Marketing & Hospitality Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where to begin. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The room was very refined and comfortable. The in room illy espresso machine is a nice touch. The Location is also so perfect, walking distance from downtown and even some wineries. All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Amber, thank you for taking the time to write such a gracious review. It's wonderful to know that you found our Inn so comfortable and singled out our illy espresso machines which are both handy and popular to get guests started in the morning. We couldn't be happier to hear that you can't wait to return, and will be glad to help in any way we can to make your next stay even more memorable. Eden Umble, Marketing & Hospitality Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived and were warmly greeted by the marvelous Eden, we felt both at home and pampered! It was recently renovated and incredibly well-done! The outdoor courtyard was perfect for morning coffee and evening wine (or whenever - it's Napa!) This is just on the outskirts of charming Calistoga, which is so approachable, a much nicer village in which to stay than other Napa towns, in our opinion. A great launch pad for running and cycling before the tastings begin! We certainly plan on many future stays at the Brannan Cottage Inn! Plus it's a great location to venture west to Sonoma!

Room Tip: There are only six of them, which adds to the charm, and all are great, quiet and private yet have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kathy, thank you for taking the time to share your incredibly kind words. It's the highest compliment we can imagine that you felt pampered and welcomed during your stay, and that you plan to come back. I have to agree with you that Calistoga is a special and beautiful place in Napa Valley, a friendly small town with plenty to do and gorgeous scenery for outdoor activities. We're also glad you liked the patio which is a relaxing place to gather at the end of the day or for morning coffee when the weather's warm enough. We look forward to many return trips from you and your family. Eden Umble, Marketing & Hospitality Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent an amazing long weekend at Brannan Inn with my wife. The property is freshly refurbished victorian era property. Very clean and tidy gardens, at the quieter East end of town, great parking on site.

We arrived mid-afternoon, greeted by Eden, as others have commented really friendly and helpful. She talked us through the local amenities including things like the on-demand Shuttle bus. We were shown to our room - the property has a only a handful. Had the room at the back of the property looking up the valley to the mountains.

It has a small balcony outside the door to rest up feet, and catch afternoon sun with a glass of wine. The room was very clean, light and airy, well equipped refresh. Fridge with complementary water in closet + gowns, really good pillow top bed - decent night of sleep, Illy espresso machine to pull us out of bed. Details like built-in USB charger points, large screen TV, with Netflix, AmazonTV, and DirectTV topped it off. Bathroom while a little small, had a great rain shower head, full set of towels/flannels, soap/shampoo etc.

Street noise from was negligible and we sat outside in the afternoon and evening on both days. The neighbourhood was quiet by day, and very quiet overnight. The room had both AC and a fireplace, we needed neither - the room was a perfect 65F overnight. Great location just a couple of blocks from town made it easy to walk for breakfast, dinner, supermarket for snacks etc.

We liked the property and location so much, that we're going back for harvest at the end of summer.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! It's very gratifying to know that your and your wife enjoyed the little details which make our rooms comfortable, restful and relaxing. I'm glad I was able to make you both feel at home which is my great pleasure. Great too that you took full advantage of our location which is close to everything in downtown Calistoga, and the shuttle is always ready to take you where you need to go when it's just out of walking distance. We're already looking forward to your next visit! Eden Umble, Marketing and Hospitality Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a perfect place to stay. This historic six-room bed and breakfast has a "no chintz" rule. The decor is very nice, atmosphere private and luxurious, and convenience (two blocks to downtown!) the icing on the cake. The hotel manager Eden is super friendly and helpful. We brought our bikes and had easy riding from our door. The outdoor courtyard was so inviting that we even had a picnic dinner there one night. It had all the amenities we needed (amazing showers!) and none of the ones we didn't. I would stay here again and again. Very special place.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you Kate for taking the time to give your wonderful impressions of the Inn. I so appreciate hearing that you loved our amenities (rain shower!), hospitality and location as well as the Inn's being bike friendly for serious cyclists such as yourself. Your "no chintz" comment made me smile; our decor is indeed more modern than flowery. I'm also delighted you and your lovely family made full use of the patio on the warm evenings during your stay. It's my great pleasure to help our guests feel at home, find out where they're from, share local lore and tips for things to do based on your interests. We're thrilled you'll be coming back - that's the highest praise we can imagine.
Eden Umble, Marketing & Hospitality Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a pleasant two nights stay during our anniversary at the the Brannan Cottage. Conveniently located few yards from the main street, this has an old style touch with all modern amenities in the room. Eden was very friendly, courteous, and made our stay special.
Though a minor nag, the only issue we found was the absence of microwave in the room. With a small baby around, we needed that most. Eden offered to use the one in the main kitchen.

We loved our stay, would love to come back here again for our next vacation to Napa valley.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your great feedback about your anniversary visit. We're very glad your stay was enjoyable and special, and we're happy to go the extra mile when we know you're celebrating a special event, and/or traveling with children. While our rooms are outfitted with a mini-fridge, in-room illy espresso machine and many other modern comforts, t's true that we don't have microwaves in our guest rooms. However, we try to be as responsive as possible to guest requests such as helping warm a baby bottle in our kitchen's microwave, or anything else we can do to make your stay more comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights on 2/6/2015. Inn keeper "Eden" was wonderful and very helpful with our every needs. The king room we stayed in at the back of the Inn was disappointing. The room was painted white and gray with no other decorations on the wall. There was a TV above the fireplace that was not connected. The coffee table was placed right next to the bathroom door "too close to the bathroom for me". The bathroom was very small. Two people could not fit into the bathroom. My husband and I found the seating area uncomfortable. Not much thought put into that area especially since the tv was not working. As with old homes, the walls were very thin and we could hear our neibor talking and showering. The most disturbing part was the 2 men hanging outside room for 2 days smoking, talking, and just hanging out. The smoking was bothersum. We both felt a little unsafe leave and returning to the Inn. There was also a lot of street notice which made sleeping very difficult. Wish I had stayed in one of the rooms I saw on line. Those rooms look very charming.

Room Tip: Check out the different rooms since they seem to vary in luxury. Recommend room toward front of inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your honest feedback about your stay, which we wish had been more positive. We strive to improve all aspects of the inn and guest experience. We do plan to replace the second tv screen with artwork in that room and will give your other comments thoughtful consideration. I appreciate your kind words about my attentiveness to customer service, and wish you had shared the issues you were having during your stay. I would have gladly moved you to another room where you would have been more comfortable. Our setting in a neighborhood a half block off the main street is one facet an overwhelming majority of our guests has enjoyed, and we and our guests have found our neighbors to be friendly. We certainly hope you'll return for another visit and give us a second chance to wow you. And by all means, please speak up if there's anything we can to improve your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brannan Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brannan Cottage Inn

Address: 109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brannan Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napa Valley's newest, most intimate luxury inn is an artful blend of authentic history and modern amenities. As the last remaining cottage still in its original location from the first hot springs resort built by town founder Sam Brannan, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this 154 year old icon has been completely restored and reimagined for a modern twist on Victorian elegance. Six unique King & Queen rooms have been outfitted with the most in-demand conveniences and surrounded by lush gardens offer a relaxing setting from which to explore the delights of Napa Valley. Guests can plan every aspect of their exceptional stay with our exclusive e-concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Brannan Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brannan Cottage Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brannan Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.