We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm, modern luxury, 5 star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brannan Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brannan Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Brannan Cottage Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in the Wineries
Ranked #10 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Historic charm, modern luxury, 5 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brannan Cottage Inn combines the charm of a historic property with the modern comforts that global travelers appreciate. They have developed an App that you can use to customize your wine country experience. For our quick trip they recommended several intimate wine tasting experiences that they arranged and even helped to select the perfect dining option. The rooms are beautiful AND comfortable. Beds are divine with luxury linens and fluffy pillows and cozy robes. We especially loved the fireplace and the deck. The radiant heat floors in the bathroom were a lovely touch. It was as if everything was designed for our comfort. A welcoming cheese plate and wine and some bubbly in the mini fridge were a few of the amenities that greeted us. We couldn't have been happier. If we had more time they would have been happy to arrange spa treatments, hot air balloon or animal safari adventures. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Loved the King room with the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your extraordinary review! We're gratified you so enjoyed all the key points of our ideal guest experience: historic setting, modern comforts, personal service and luxurious details which make our hotel a memorable play to stay. We're also pleased you appreciated the curated experiences on our e-concierge app which is a convenient, modern way to plan your trip. Our knowledgeable hospitality staff is always happy to recommend specific things to suit each guest. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were all recently renovated and the attention to detail was great. The rooms are on the small size but very well done and the beds are very comfortable. The location was perfect for being able to walk around Calistoga and enjoy all this cute town has to offer. Eden was very helpful while we were making our arrangements and was able to give us some great recommendations for spa locations and restaurants. Our only disappointment was that we paid for an upgraded room so we could have the added fireplace in our room and they were still waiting on a part for the fireplace so it was nonoperational. Had I known that in advance, I probably wouldn't have paid the extra money for this upgrade. Otherwise, a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you mentioned the level of detail in our renovation which is a point of pride, and are thankful that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our hospitality. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment about the fireplace, which is now fully operational. We hope you'll return for another stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great experience this was. Highly recommended for both local folks and people from far away places! The staff was extremely knowledgeable and very helpful with things to do and places to eat. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our recommendations, and even more delighted to know you'll be back. That's the highest compliment we could receive. We hope to see you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location in Calistoga within walking distance to several great resturants. Rooms were well done and very comfortable. Grounds and porches were great place to relax and have a glass of wine in the evening. Thank you Eden for a wonderful stay - will definitely be back!!!
Kevin and Donna from Louisiana.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Everything you said makes us smile. We're thrilled you loved the comfort of our rooms, the view of the garden from the terrace, and the great places to eat conveniently nearby in beautiful, friendly Calistoga. It's most gratifying to know that you'll be back. We look forward to you and Donna becoming regular guests we'll be glad to welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very comfortable with historic charm. Right in town, so leave your car parked for your stay and stroll the streets of Calistoga. Service from the staff was superior. Very attentive and promptly responded to any need or request. Graciously brought a very nice bottle of wine/card to my room when they learned it was my birthday. Sat by the fireplace in the living room of the main house to enjoy it that evening.

Illy espresso maker in your room or go to the main house for drip coffee and pastries. I grabbed a cup, the Sunday Chronicle and went outside to read my paper and enjoy the autumn beauty of the patio in the garden.

Many choices in/around Calistoga and the wife and I have stayed at plenty. We can highly recommend the Brannan Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely comments! We're so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the comfort of our modernized historic rooms, and our location which invites exploring walkable Calistoga. We appreciate that you also enjoyed our welcoming parlor with its fireplace, and patio garden. We're always proud to earn compliments on our personal service, and we delight in those touches which hopefully make you feel special (especially when it's your birthday). Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

My husband and I visited Brannan Cottage Inn to celebrate his birthday recently. I usually do a ton of research about properties before staying, but got an email about this one and immediately booked it, as it looked amazing. And our stay was even better than advertised!

The Inn is really lovely - recently renovated and beautifully finished. The beds were SO comfortable (something that I find to be often lacking in charming inns). And in the morning, Eden, who runs the inn and is so helpful and sweet, had made pumpkin muffins, which were amazing! The place is really well located as well - right on the main street, which was really fun to explore and had some great restaurants and coffee shops. I would highly recommend - we have already booked a stay to return!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
What lovely comments - thank you! We're very happy the Inn was a comfortable, enjoyable place to celebrate your husband's birthday, and it's the highest possible compliment that you've already booked a return stay. Our small size lets us get to know our guests and make the right recommendations for you and what you want to do on each visit, especially the extensive walkable options close to the Inn. And delighted you loved the pumpkin muffins! We look forward to both of you becoming regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This completely renovated and historic Inn is beautiful. The attention to detail was incredible. Great beds, linens, shower, etc. even USB charging outlets on each side of the bed.
Eden was a fantastic host and took her time to make sure all our questions were answered.
The Inn is very close to town and a short walk to some fantastic resteraunts.
On Eden's recommendation we rented bikes from Canastoga Bikes. The shop staff was great. He took his time showing us all the places to ride and tour. The scenery on our bike ride was beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
We're so glad you loved your stay with us! Thank you for your great comments about the attention to detail which went into our renovation; it's gratifying to know our rooms are as comfortable and luxurious as intended, and that you enjoyed my recommendations for activities & dining options which are an easy walk from the Inn (one of its best attributes - there are countless fun things to do close by in our charming little town). We're also thrilled you had a great experience with Calistoga Bikeshop. They are the best at what they do and take the time to make sure your bike excursion in this gorgeous region will be an excellent one We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brannan Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brannan Cottage Inn

Address: 109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brannan Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napa Valley's newest, most intimate luxury inn is an artful blend of authentic history and modern amenities. As the last remaining cottage still in its original location from the first hot springs resort built by town founder Sam Brannan, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this 154 year old icon has been completely restored and reimagined for a modern twist on Victorian elegance. Six unique King & Queen rooms have been outfitted with the most in-demand conveniences and surrounded by lush gardens offer a relaxing setting from which to explore the delights of Napa Valley. Guests can plan every aspect of their exceptional stay with our exclusive e-concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Brannan Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brannan Cottage Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brannan Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.