We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brannan Cottage Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brannan Cottage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Brannan Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Brannan Cottage Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Grand Re-Opening Rate
Ranked #14 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
San Pablo, California
1 review
“Brannan Cottage Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice place for a romantic get-a-way. Eden the manager helped us find a great place to eat and was a great host. Within walking distance, about 1/4 mile, from the center of town. If you intend to drink with dinner you can walk back to the hotel. If you need to drive because you can't walk this far you will need to be mindful of how much you drink. Our eatery had corkage charge of $10 which saved us some money.

Room Tip: If you like to have music in your room remember to ask Eden the manager about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for your kind comments - we're glad you found the Inn a romantic spot for a getaway, and we agree our location invites you to enjoy downtown Calistoga on foot. I'm happy you enjoyed the restaurant I recommended; we're blessed with excellent eateries close by! We like to let guests know about the handy, free Calistoga Shuttle as a great local resource for wine tasting without worries. Music fans are welcome to play a tune on our 1880 Square Grand piano in our lobby but our in-room entertainment system has many options too. We hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This cottage house has been recently renovated. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are new. Very clean and appealing. Upon checking in we asked about different local activities and they were full of good places to visit. This cottage is walking distance from the town center.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments about the spaciousness and cleanliness of our newly renovated rooms. Our location so close to town makes it easy to make discoveries on foot in friendly downtown Calistoga, and we pride ourselves on personal customer service for each guest. We hope you'll return to stay with us on your next visit to Napa Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We just returned from a wonderful long weekend in the Napa Valley and a fabulous stay at Brannan Cottage Inn. We were lucky enough to stay at this newly renovated inn in downtown Calistoga. I read the reviews, many which were older, and was a little skeptical, but the most recent reviews were so good we gave it a chance and glad we did. It is beautiful, cozy, and luxurious all at the same time. Eden, the marketing director, was there every morning and made sure we had our coffee, muffin and newspaper, and was so helpful with any questions we had. And our last day there we read an article on the Napa Valley in the San Francisco Chronicle featuring the Brannan Cottage Inn. Try to get room #5 if you can! Looking forward to visiting again next year!

Room Tip: ask for room #5, it has a separate upstairs entrance and a little outdoor deck that faces the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your outstanding comments! We're thrilled you found the newly renovated Inn so comfortable and luxurious. It was a pleasure to meet both of you. I appreciate that our small size lets us get to know our guests over that delicious morning coffee so we can recommend ideal spots for wine tasting, hiking and dining. We were most gratified to be featured in the SF Chronicle's Napa Valley section on uniquely historic renovated inn worth discovering. It's true that room 5 has a lovely garden view from the private deck; each of our rooms are unique so we hope you'll try them all over time. We look forward to your return visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Short stay but a lovely place. We were originally supposed to stay the Mount View Hotel and Spa but we are so happy we ended up here! Rooms are small but comfortable. Service is minimal but it is a charming spot close to town, which has all the amenities you would want.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the Inn comfortable, charming, quiet and in a convenient location to explore downtown Calistoga. We hope you can stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Calistoga is an excellent location from which to explore the Napa and Sonoma wine valleys, and the newly refurbished Brannan Cottage Inn makes an ideal base. We stayed three nights, exploring local vineyards, many within walking or cycling distance. The staff were wonderfully helpful, especially Eden, who could not have been more thoughtful in recommending vineyards and restaurants, and making arrangements for us.

The whole building has been beautifully and lovingly restored, and all the rooms are different. Our room, one of the two on the first floor, had a small west-facing terrace, which was ideal for watching the sun go down. The room was perfect, with an espresso machine, a docking station for the iPhone, a small fridge and freezer and a fabulously comfy bed, plus a sitting room area with a cosy fire. It also had two flat screen TVs, one for the bedroom and one for the sitting room area. The bathroom had everything you would expect, including a powerful shower. At the time of staying (just before the official opening) the Inn was not serving breakfast, but tea/coffee/fruit and biscuits were available in the gorgeous lounge. We had an excellent breakfast each day just down the road at the Sarafornia.

The newly restored Brannan Cottage Inn opens formally on 1 October 2014 and we would recommend it very highly. We have also added some up to date pictures.

Room Tip: The two upstairs rooms have their own outside space, although all the rooms look gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us! We're glad that you appreciated the Inn's history, its refreshed new accommodations and that your room was such a comfortable home base. I'm thrilled you so enjoyed my recommendations for dining, wine tasting and exploring this beautiful region. Our intimate six room inn allows us to spend a bit more time with each guest and find just the right fit depending on their interests. We hope you'll be back the next time you're visiting Napa Valley. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We found the Brennan from a travel book. The renovation is almost complete and the property is clean, fresh and ready for business. The location is perfect for a short walk into town. Eden, the property manager, was a delight. Give this place a try and enjoy!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Guest Relations Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! I was equally delighted to meet you both and glad you could enjoy Calistoga's first Harvest Table dinner; I appreciate the great comments about our fresh new look and our location so close to downtown. You'll be happy to hear our renovation is finished and the landscaping and inn are looking even better than when you were here. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you're in Napa Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

The old reviews don't apply here -

We booked the (min) two night stay & after our first night, something came up w/our baby. So we had to cut our stay short. We were able to do it with no hastle. They were understanding & made our checkout easy which was greatly appreciated as we had other things on our mind...

*The friendly/accommodating demeanor of the staff & management is worth 5 stars alone!

If you are looking for a charming historic B&B with a updated modern feel & friendly staff this is it & worth the $$! Besides the above, this was what we liked about the property:

Clean & Comfortable Beds
Great Location to DownTown
Sparkling Bathrooms
(heated/cooled floor)
Quiet AC, TV
Expresso Machine, Small Fridge
Modern Decor
Historic late 1800's Building
Accommodating/Friendly Staff

The only thing lacking was the outside ambiance. Workers were there working on the baren land. This was the first day of their re opening so I guess I will let that slide. ;) Something to look forward to on our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We're gratified you found the completely reimagined Inn so enjoyable, and enjoyed our mix of history & modern comforts as well as our location 2 blocks from downtown Calistoga. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff and updated amenities. You're correct that our landscaping is a work in progress (and thanks for understanding); the gardens will be beautifully finished in a week. We also wish you could have stayed longer, but were glad to accommodate your change of plans under the circumstances. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brannan Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brannan Cottage Inn

Address: 109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brannan Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napa Valley's newest, most intimate luxury inn is an artful blend of authentic history and modern amenities. As the last remaining cottage from the original "Hot Springs Resort" built by town founder Sam Brannan, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this 154 year old icon has been completely restored and reimagined for a modern twist on Victorian elegance. Six unique King & Queen rooms have been outfitted with the most in-demand conveniences and surrounded by lush gardens offer a relaxing setting from which to explore the delights of Napa Valley. Guests can plan every aspect of their exceptional stay with our exclusive mobile app. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Brannan Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brannan Cottage Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brannan Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.