We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From bad to worse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brannan Cottage Inn

Save Saved
You added Brannan Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brannan Cottage Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Preview Rate
Ranked #19 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“From bad to worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was probably one of the worst places I've ever stayed. Little to no staff on hand. We also had the room with the glaring light outside our window, making a decent nights sleep nearly impossible. Very skimpy on the towels and bar soap. Our bed was somewhere between fine and uncomfortable, so it wasn't completely horrible. Breakfast was just sad. Cold cereals, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, mixed fruit That's it. The second to worst thing happened our last morning there, when our toilet was backing up into our shower. When my husband told the man at the front desk about it, he said "OK". Not - "OMG I'm so sorry! I can't believe that would happen!" or anything else sounding remotely appalled and/or apologentic. Pathetic all the way around.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
11
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

To start with two weeks before our trip I receive an email canceling our reservations. Although we had prepaid through a B&B website 6 months prior. Once that was cleared up we were told half way through our stay we needed to move our room. When we were given a key to that room it was already occupied. They told us to go Back to our old room. Giving us a crappy bottle of wine to make up for it. Then having already prepaid our stay they charged our credit card again for all charges! When I questioned them about this i was told it was just another error but it would take several days to show up as a credit on my card. The breakfasts are horrible nothing but cold food. Worst we have ever experienced in a bed and breakfast! I would never recommend this place ..it is no longer run privately but owned by the same people who run the Comfort Inn

Room Tip: Don't book here!! People who run it now don't have a clue what they are doing! Food is terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arrived at 3:15 pm, no one there to greet us (website stated someone would be there between 3 and 4) Had to go to the Comfort Inn to check in and receive key. Was told the person who greets called in sick last minute. Upon entering our room, 3 dirty rugs, dirty ceiling fan & light globes, rusty fridge top. Ice bucket but nowhere to get ice. Wicker broken on headboard, dresser drawer falls out, iron but no ironing board.
Went out to the sitting area at 4:15 pm and the lawn maintenance man started blowing leaves for at least 30 minutes. We went inside our room, but he was blowing leaves right outside our door. We were the only guests staying there. Why couldn't he have done that before 3:00 pm?
We did not stick around for morning continental breakfast. After reading reviews, we determined that the coffee and breakfast food is brought from the Comfort Inn at 8:00 am. We also determined that NO ONE IS GREETED! So basically we were lied to about the greeter calling in sick. We have stayed at many B&B's and have NEVER had an experience like this!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Find another place to stay. Rugs full of dog urine, eyes burned all night. Moved to different room and the lights outside keep the bedroom lit up like day time. Would not stay there again.

Location is good and in walking distance to the town and market. nothing wrong with the location. If you want to watch the news as you enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning, I could not get the channels to work. got the weather in Spanish, so I could read the numbers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pros - close to town, fairly quiet, clean, quaint
Cons - needs some updating - lacking charm of B&B - Staff not on premise all of the time
We used to stay here before the place was sold. It was awesome with a Happy Hour of great local wine and cheese and a wonderful homemade breakfast. It was fun to meet the other guests who were usually from around the world! Now this place is nothing special and needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Prior to the visit, Doug went out of his way to provide as much info as possible in order to make sure we had everything needed. When we arrived, a surprise tub of sparkling wine was awaiting us in our charming Victorian style room. Perfect way to kick off the evening. Doug was very hospitable and overviewed all of the best places to eat, sites to see, etc. The breakfast was filled with fresh seasonal fruits, yogurts, and a small main course that was the perfect size to start off the day without gorging yourself. Quaint, charming, and a walk away from downtown (as well as directly across the street from Indian springs).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The 2 reviews prior to mine express the exact same things we experienced. It was the only negative experience of our entire trip. Not one thing was what you expect from a B&B experience. The owners are obviously not "people" persons---we never even saw Judy. The rooms are extremely small and have not been updated at all. The breakfasts were overnight casseroles. Sad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrannanCottageInn, General Manager at Brannan Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear the Queen,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent visit. I wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that as of June 4th, the Brannan Cottage Inn is under new ownership.

We hope that you give us a chance in the future upon your return to Calistoga. Until then, safe journeys!

Cheers,

Peter P.
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brannan Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brannan Cottage Inn

Address: 109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brannan Cottage Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the last remaining of the 25 original cottages built in 1860 by Calistoga founder, Samuel Brannan, this Victorian themed Inn maintains its listing in the National Register of Historic Places. Featuring its original architecture, a wraparound veranda, ornamental gardens and lawns, the Brannan Cottage Inn is a window into Calistoga's past with Victorian style guest rooms and furnishings. Brannan Cottage Inn features 4 guest rooms and 2 suites with amenities such as fireplace, high ceilings, and separate sitting area. Step outside the Inn and leisurely stroll into downtown, located only 1/4 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Brannan Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brannan Cottage Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brannan Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.