We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brannan Cottage Inn

Save Saved
You added Brannan Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brannan Cottage Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gracious Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What makes this place special is how you are treated by Doug and Judy. We were on vacation to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived, Doug and Judy had left us a note and some sparkling wine. Doug helps us plan out next day's winery visits. Breakfasts were great with a lot of fresh fruit. We stayed in the Rose Room which had a fireplace. The room was nice and cozy.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
11
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wonderful. Visited for a wedding with a bunch of college friends. We got the suite. It isn't the largest suite but it fit the four of us nicely. Breakfast was amazing. It is rustic (i.e. older), but that is because it is a landmark. Lots of charm and fit perfectly into the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Doug and Judy were were a great hostess. The place is cute and our Lavender room was clean and good size for two people. Doug was very helpful in every aspect. He gave us many options for restaurants and things to do around Calistoga. We loved the breakfast with another guests and a great variety of fresh fruits, cereal, coffee, tea and egg casserole and a spice bread pudding with pears prepared by Judy. Good location and very quite and relax place.

We love "Pinot" the dog. He is a very cute and well behavior.
On Friday Doug and Judy prepared a free wine tasting with delicious cheese and goodies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We got lucky and scored a room on late notice because of a cancellation. All our hosts (Doug, Judy, and dog Pinot) were gracious. Once we arrived, we were in walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Calistoga is a sweet town that is very walking friendly. I especially loved sitting in front of the fireplace on a chilly Sunday morning with a great cup of coffee and Pinot sitting by my feet. That's hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just got back from a week-end in Calistoga. Beautiful place and the cottage was very well kept with a pretty garden and within walking distance of downtown. Doug was most helpful with info on restaurants, wineries, hikes etc. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast great. We also appreciate the pet friendly nature of the cottage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We could not of had a better experience at Brannan Cottage Inn. Doug was a great host and provided any info we needed. At my request a few weeks before I arrived, he bought a cake for me so I could surprise my wife for her birthday without having to find a way to get that done on my own. Besides the service, the room was clean and had all we needed. We did not stay around the Inn too much during the day but there is a large yard, porch and tables covered in shade available for relaxation. The Inn is located right off the main Calistoga rd so location was also a plus.

The breakfast is half buffet and half main dish. The buffet consists of fresh fruit, danish, and juices, yogurt, and granola. The main dish is a typical breakfast dish you would find during brunch. All of the food is top-notch and is great way to start the day.

This was a great value and experience. Thanks Doug!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend my brother was getting married in St. Helena.
Doug and Pinot greeted us when we arrived, and gave us a grand tour and recommendations for the area. He even gave my boyfriend a running route which made him happy.
My first stop was a quick nap in the hammock. The area is shaded by bamboo trees and I was in heaven. We stayed in room 6, and when we woke up the next morning we agreed that it was as comfortable as sleeping in our own bed.
Doug put out quite a spread for breakfast. The cold buffet consisted of fruit, granola, and assorted breads and pastries. The assortment of fruit alone was delicious (kiwi, every berry imaginable, fresh figs, sliced peaches...) Then he brought us Praline Stuffed French Toast with Chicken Apple Sausage. Breakfast was decadent and an excellent way to start the day!
We got lunch from the local market, brought it back, and ate it on the patio. While everyone was at the wineries, we had a chance to really enjoy the property.
The next day for breakfast we had Santa Fe Eggs that were so tasty my boyfriend asked for two servings! When we checked out, Doug gave us recommendations for our next stop which was Mill Valley.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We loved everything. Thanks Doug!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brannan Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brannan Cottage Inn

Address: 109 Wappo Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brannan Cottage Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napa Valley's newest, most intimate luxury inn is an artful blend of authentic history and modern amenities. As the last remaining cottage from the original "Hot Springs Resort" built by town founder Sam Brannan, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this 154 year old icon has been completely restored and reimagined for a modern twist on Victorian elegance. Six unique King & Queen rooms have been outfitted with the most in-demand conveniences and surrounded by lush gardens offer a relaxing setting from which to explore the delights of Napa Valley. Guests can plan every aspect of their exceptional stay with our exclusive mobile app. Reopening with special preview rates starting Aug. 29, 2014. For availability before Aug. 29, Contact our sister property, Comfort Inn Calistoga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Brannan Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brannan Cottage Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brannan Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.