We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Craftsman!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Craftsman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Craftsman Inn to your Saves list
The Craftsman Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1213 Foothill Boulevard, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Taste of Calistoga
Ranked #8 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Seattle,WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved the Craftsman!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Lovely place. From the time we were greeted by the owner Gillian, to the last day, it was terrific. Bed was comfy, Spring room had lots of light, and the room we were in had access to a curtained porch. There is comfy outdoor furniture both on the front porch and back deck areas. Breakfast was always wonderful - excellent coffee, beautiful place settings, fresh fruit, homemade egg/other dishes, pastries - kept us going until lunch. Walking distance to town. Trust Gillian and her dinner recommendations.

The Inn is on a main street, but to be honest,and I have the most sensitive hearing, you don't notice as it sits above the street. If I stay in Calistoga again, I will try to book here.

  • Liked — Location and style
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    22
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
115
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I stayed at the Craftsman Inn with a few girlfriends for a girls getaway weekend, and the Inn completely blew us away! The rooms were beautifully re-done. The innkeepers could not have been nicer and more welcoming. It was such a treat to sit on the porch with a wonderful spread of wine and cheese! It is right in town so is a short walk to shops and restaurants, which was perfect for us. The breakfast was also amazing. I can't wait to go back - I have recommended to others many times...and will continue to do so!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, NV
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Took my wife here for a romantic birthday getaway and it was perfect. The room was very nice and very clean. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to leave it. The breakfasts were nothing short of amazing. The innkeeper gave us some great tips on where to go and what to do while in Calistoga.

It's only a short stroll away from the downtown Calistoga restaurants and shops, so we could walk to dinner and sample some great Napa Valley wines without worrying about driving home.

This is definately one that we will do again.

  • Liked — The Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York - NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Me and my fiancee had a wonderful three nights stay at the Craftsman Inn. It is very nicely decorated (the owners are from England, so it has an European stile which is nice) and the room we stayed in was spotless - very good bad and, most important (for me at least), a nice and clean bathroom. The innkeeper, Gillie, is very attentive and makes a nice breakfast. One more thing - it's very easy to get around in the area from the inn - all the main wineries are just a few miles drive away. In summary, I'd strongly recommend this place.

Leonardo - New York NY

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

The Craftsman Inn was absolutely wonderful! The decor is beautiful and the service is excellent. The Inn and rooms are completely renovated and spotless. Breakfast each morning was delicious - quite possibly one of the best breakfast dining out or at any other B&B (thanks Gillian)! My husband and I would highly recommend this place. We've been to lots of hotels, Inns, B&B's and are pretty picky. We don't have a single complaint or negative thing to say (except next time we'll go without our 10 1/2 month old, haha!). It's definitely a place for a romantic getaway. Great location - can walk to dining and shops. Overall A+ experience. Thanks Gillian and Nick!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Palisades room over the February long weekend. What a lovely B&B. I will second all of the comments on how delightful Amy Rose was - she is a very warm and friendly person and an absolutely fabulous cook! Our room was large, very clean and comfortable. It faced the busy street though, and we did find the traffic noise to be a bit distracting. If you are a light sleeper I might not choose this room.

I think what makes this accomodation so great are all of the extras! There is a small fridge in the upstairs filled with botted water and each room has a decanter with sherry in it plus two glasses and a little container of homemade cookies. The breakfasts are wonderful and served in the most delightful dining room with fruits and baking. Another highlight which we had never experienced before at a B&B is "cocktail" hour - each night (I'm not sure of the specified times) champagne and white wine were available plus a spread of little snacks like olives, cheese and crackers plus there were yummy cookies out as well! We loved it!

I absolutely recommend this accomodation. It is in a great location too as it was very easy to visit many wineries and restaurants from here.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay here. We were met by Amy Rose who greeted us and showed us around. The cottage is very cozy and clean and fully renovated. The Helena Room was luxurious with a queen size bed and beautiful comfortable bedding, it has a huge bathroom with Jacuzzi for two. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! Amy Rose, the manager, prepared quite a spread even though it was only for the two of us, she made soft and fluffy scrambled eggs with cream cheese and green onions, little open faced sandwiches with black forest ham, tomato and cheese that were delicious, absolutely moist and tasty coffee cake, plums cooked in brandy, there was a selection of fresh fruit, home made yogurt and granola, coffee, tea, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh home made cookies. The night before we wanted to dine at Bistro Jeanty, but did not make the reservation in advance and they were booked, so she suggested and made reservations for us at Bouchon and we loved it. She couldn't have been more helpful in terms of wineries, restaurants and local sights, she even packed us some of her wonderful home baked cookies for the road. We felt very welcome and would definitely recommend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Craftsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craftsman Inn

Address: 1213 Foothill Boulevard, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Craftsman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Napa Valley's newest luxury Bed and Breakfast - The Craftsman Inn. Calistoga's largest and finest example of the Craftsman architecture style will bring you a lavish vacation experience to indulge your senses. Experience the sensuality of your own private candlelit Jacuzzi bath. Slip between the decadent 600 thread count cotton sheets and dream the night away. Indulge yourself with our gourmet champagne breakfast. Pamper yourself with a massage or a glass of wine in the oasis of your own private curtained porch. Let us welcome you as our guest and experience these and many other pleasures at The Craftsman Inn, a unique Calistoga bed and breakfast retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Craftsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craftsman Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craftsman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.