We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boskos Trattoria

Boskos Trattoria
1364 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515-1702
707-942-9088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Reservations
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Sunday pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a tasty pizza at this restaurant on a Sunday afternoon. The city was fairly busy as was the restaurant. Pizza was thin crusted (our favorite) & the ingredients tasted fresh. Service was very good with prompt attention and the ambiance was as expected. Prices were reasonable & would recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    101
    28
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Big portions of only-decent food at a casual restaurant with average (i.e. impersonal) service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you're someone who tends to like most restaurants and values things like portion size and value instead of thing like how "balanced" the flavors in a dish are or how good the wine list is....well then, you've found your place.

The sad thing is that I'm not one of those people. I had high hopes for inspired flavor combinations and great recommendations for wine pairings (given that I am in the heart of wine country) - and that's not what you get here. I would have turned back given the cool reception when we were given a table....but my poor boyfriend was already starving and I didn't know where else to go. We had originally planned to go to the Calistoga Inn restaurant but I didn't know it was closed due to fire...so I went here as a last-minute substitution.

The experience was on par with Olive Garden and East Side Marios. Which is great, if you feel like that kind of thing and don't have the best restaurants in wine country at your disposal. Personally I think there is much better to be had in the area and I was quite upset with the experience (I had been looking for better food and service in an environment that is more upscale).

The bill was quite high for the quality of the food and service in my opinion. I truly don't understand how people think this is authentic, given that most truly "authentic itailian" dishes aren't on this menu. But it is OK for a more casual place.

I will grant them a decent wine list - both my boyfriend and I thought that my glass of Chardonnay (Hendry's I think) was quite good. (He is a sommelier, for what its worth).

Do yourself a favor - if this is a special event/vacation evening, I think that you would get better value by going elsewhere, even if you end up paying a little more. This did not feel like a special dinner to me, as I eat at places with food like this quite routinely. I was kind of sad that I didn't take my sweetheart somewhere more upscale/special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We loved that this place was on main strip, but seemed more humble than other restaurants. Great Chicken Marsala!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good wine and the desserts are to die for!!!!!!!!Excellent service too!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“oustanding Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

pizza and other Italian classics - perfect. Pasta with mini shrimps in white souse - i could not stop eating it. Nice, worm atmosphere with exposed brick oven, friendly service

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Four of us came up for the Wine Country Ukulele Festival and chose this restaurant. We were seated immediately and given sufficient time to decide what we wanted. The food was excellent, and service was prompt and professional. We left happy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boskos Trattoria also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Boskos Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boskos Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.