We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Modern Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solage Calistoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solage Calistoga to your Saves list
Solage Calistoga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Modern Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

For me Solage nailed it, in nearly every way. The resort is world class...especially spa and food...offering a great blend of low key luxury, smart service and impressive facilities. I was there midweek on business, but wish I had scheduled an extra day to chill out.

My room was was nearly the size of my NYC apartment, separate living area and bedroom with its own private garden/patio and whirlpool and an enormous bathroom suite. A great attention to detail with in room amenities: filtered water, coffee maker and shower products.

The spa was impressive, from the size and scope of the facilities and its posh/clever interpretation of historic Calistoga hot springs bathing culture. I had diner at Solbar with a group of colleagues and it was great in every way: food, vibe, service.

My first experience with Solage and the Napa Valley were a huge thumbs up...Looking forward to coming back and exploring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    97
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
86
360
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We loved our Solage experience during our 4 generation visit to Napa. The staff was outstanding remembering our preferences after the first visit every time we returned. The spa, pool and mineral pools were a great escape after a long day of wine tastings and a good respite when the weather was poor. Similar service to Auberge at a much lower price point and value. It is still expensive; but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at Solage and I can tell you that this is one of the best resorts away from natural water that I have stayed at. The rooms were very nicely done with a small gas fireplace in the corner and a large TV in the other corner. I liked it when we were told that there were dvd's at the front desk and 3 Mercedes convertibles available for guest use. We didn't use the two bikes parked outside our room. The pool was really nice and the staff and the food all excellent. We weren't there long enough to use the spa or the activities offered daily. I wouldn't go in the off season, winter. The rooms aren't that close to the restaurant and I'm not sure there aren'y better places to go if you want exercise and spa treatments.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Found this place through Tripadviser after the Marriott where we usually stay in Napa, was full for the days we were in wine country. Gave this place a try after reading all the positive reviews. Prices are definitely higher, but we are glad the Marriott was full. This place was excellent from the time we drove up to the minute we had to leave. Excellent, friendly service from the bell personnel, the front desk, restaurant staff, spa and pool attendants.

They do a lot of extra little things that make you feel important and not just like a number. Not like some higher end resorts we have stayed, we felt like they really enjoyed having us there. I was surprised when I stopped in the front of the hotel for a moment on the way out for a drive to ask directions and the bell person knew my last name. Even the bellboys take the time to learn the guests names. The pool attendants come by immediately after you sit by the beautiful Olympic size pool to bring you a pitcher of ice cold water with lemons and they walk by every 5 or 10 minutes to see if you need or want anything from the bar or restaurant, without being a nuisance. They knew it was our anniversary and they had a bottle of Champagne on ice waiting for us in our room. But the coolest thing I had never seen before at a hotel was the complimentary Mercedes SUV and 550 convertibles they had available for guests to take out for up to a 4 hour drive. I was telling my wife how much fun it would be to have our convertible from home (2000 miles away) to cruise the Silverado Trail on a beautiful sunny afternoon and then; here I was able to do that on two of the afternoons we were here.

This place really made our visit to wine country memorable and we will definitely try to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time visiting and took advantage of the sip and savior- that cost $600 a night. What we found...upon being escorted into our room the attendant showed us around to find somebody else's breakfast menu filled out/ there was no turn down that night/ one of our bikes had a flat tire/ our breakfast order was never taken from our door the night before/ there were no movies to rent on the tv/ the spa had great services but the spa was messy with old towels everywhere and old razors/ the maid washed our old wine glasses in the sink in front of us/ even the elliptical room was out of cups for water with no attendant. All this aside we were still going forward with a positive attitude! Until....we picked a restaurant in Calistoga! We went to the solbar to ask if the bartenders knew if our restaurant had a bar and the 21 year old bartenders ignored us completely. How do you not look up to your guests when you are not even busy. We took a cab to Calistoga because apparently Solage who charges $ 600/ 800 a night cannot afford a car to take its guest to town 5 mins away. Nor can they pick you up. And forget your Mercedes who wants to drive to dinner in wine country.
Apparently if you get stranded in Calistoga at 10:15 Solage is closed. Everyone is gone. There is nobody available to assist you with any kind of transportation for approx 5 min ride! Would you spend 1200 dollars for this? I am feeling robbed and embarrassed for recommending this high price establishment that is really lacking true hospitality. Our busboy was was able to take us back to Solage And how humiliating that were staying here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Everything at Solage was outstanding, from the spectacular pool to the courteous and efficient staff to the wonderful food. We stayed a week, much of it in or by the pool. Great yoga classes and massage therapists, too. The rooms are very comfortable and very well-designed, so that even though you are next to others you'd never know, even on your patio. All the staff were eager to see that we had a great time, and we did. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Solage Calistoga is a perfect combination of quenching cocktails,awesome food,peaceful relaxation,indulging spa treatments at a picturesque beautiful property. The rooms are stocked with everything you need and make you feel like it is not a hotel room but your own personal space. The food has a combination of multiple layers of flavoring and subtleness of flavors. There are also other treats that you will find at Solage Calistoga......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solage Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage Calistoga

Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solage Calistoga 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage Calistoga brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Solage Calistoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solage Calistoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.