We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spa and getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solage Calistoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solage Calistoga to your Saves list
Solage Calistoga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome spa and getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I went here for a few days after our wedding. The grounds are spread out, so it's quite and does not seem crowded. The bungalows are bright and clean. We did the mud bath one day and a couples massage the next day. The spa services are awesome. We also ate dinner at Sol Bar. The food was great, and our server was friendly. I had the fried chicken special. I hadn't had fried chicken in years. My dinner was delicious, and there was tons of food. I would recommend this place to anyone that wants to get away, enjoy some spa services, and east wonderful food.

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive rooms, so we could splurge on the spa services. I would do the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    97
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
87
360
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Solage is a spa/resort where guests stay in their own separate cottages. I use that word loosely, as they are quite contemporary in both their furnishings and bathroom appointments. The room also contains a pot belly contemporary fireplace, upscale toiletries and great bedding and towels. Each family will find bikes in a bike rack outside their units for their use as desired. Their are beautifully landscaped sidewalks connecting the various cottages and main buildings. It leaves you with a nice feeling to walk the grounds.

There are maybe 60 cottages scattered over a beautiful piece of property, but all within walking distance to the main facilities. The restaurant on property is superb both in service and in the offerings. I would recommend trying at least once, the lemon ricotta pancakes with homemade blueberry sauce. Actually every dish is wonderful, so there are too many to mention here.

The spa services offered, although pricey, are also wonderful and whatever services you choose to entertain I have no doubt that you will feel as if you got very individual special attention!

They also have a nice pool, steam room and sauna. One note...the property is located on a large piece of property, with great vistas, so you don't feel as if you are crowded, i.e., one resort on top of another, as in Napa, or Yountville.

Lastly the service is excellent. The hotel staff is quite accommodating in every area whether it be in the restaurant, request for room service, the spa and the concierge. The classes for fitness, we took the yoga, was wonderful. The lady who taught that class was very involved in our experience...not just the usual non involved trainer of people she didn't know.

I would have no hesitation to recommend the Solage and will stay there again when I return to the Napa valley area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The Solage is not only a fantastic place for its architecture, the quality of its rooms and the world class level spa but the level of service and attention to details is very high, all in a very relaxed ambiance. We loved staying here 3 days and will come back. My only negative comment is about the dining room, beautiful but too dark. Into my opinion being able to see what you eat, by the way very good, is not an option, so do not take the 2 persons side tables that are very dark.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to the Solage strictly for lunch al fresco at the Sol Bar and were THRILLED!! The food was excellent! From the fish tacos to the sun choke soup, everything was top notch. The staff was very attentive and the surroundings were oh, so pleasant. As you know, there can be a chill in the air in Northern CA, but there was a gorgeous "fire" feature to keep us warm on the patio. I would HIGHLY recommend trying the Sol Bar for lunch . . . even if you aren't staying at Solage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The only thing I didnt like is that I didnt stay longer, you have a bike out of your room, so you can ride to any vineyard around, also the service is great, we arrived very late, and eventhought the kitchen was already closed they managed to give us service.
I definitly recommend this spot in case you are thinking to come to Calistoga or Napa, its aso nice if you want to come for a couple trip, we came as a family trip and my kids were also very happy

Room Tip: We asked for a double bed room, they are really big and nice with your own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This property was great! I stayed here with a friend of mine after we had not seen each other for over a year due to deploying back to back.

Facilities were absolutely amazing. Everything is carefully manicured and you can tell that a lot of hard work and thought was put into making this place a very serene getaway.

Room was phenomenal. We had a 2 Queen Vera suite. It had plenty of room for the both of us, comfortable bedding, and a huge TV to relax and watch when we were in for the night! The bathroom was amazing, huge and included a lot of awesome amenities (full size soap, shampoo, conditioner bottles), comfortable towels, nice magnifying mirror and great lighting when getting ready to go out). Room also equipped with VERY comfortable bathrobes. So comfortable that I even bought one to attempt replicating the experience at home! Also, coffee was delicious and they deliver water bottles with mint leaves every night during turnover service- tastes great!

Solbar- excellent food! We did experience some subpar service at the bar for dinner on the first night, but food was still excellent. Had breakfast there every morning, each breakfast was amazing.

Service- These people are truly professionals at their job! They must love working there because they always greet you, even if you are just walking to your car. All of the staff there were great, especially Jason the concierge. He was able to show us the wineries to visit in the area and they were all excellent choices! Definately would use him again for recommendations.

Spa- PHENOMENAL! I had the Solage Sampler which included their signature massage, body scrub, then the Mudslide experience. All services were fantastic. During the mudslide, the girl had forgotten about me for a few minutes, but she came back to apologize and took complete ownership for what happened. It did not detract from my experience, she even gave me a free glass of champagne to make my soak even better!

This place is a GREAT experience, we both felt completely relaxed and did not want to leave. We will DEFINATELY be back,

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vera suite which was close to all of the amenities. It looked like the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Solage Calistoga, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be part your reunion and for sharing your experience. I was thrilled to learn you found our staff to be professional and delightful. I have shared your comments with Jason as well as his director. We hold him in equally high regard. It is my hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The solage calistoga is a amazing hotel. We had a standard room, which was perfect! We had a fireplace, a tub, nice shower, Huge Tv, and very nice bed. They had two bikes for us to use, which we road around town in. The also have a mercedes courtsey car program, where you can use the cars for 4 hours at a time. This was a great perk! The breakfast was really nice at Sol bar, we were on package where we got 50 dollars for breakfast per day. This was necessary for two people, just keep in mind that 50 dollars is a bit high for breakfast. I can't speak highly enough about this hotel and their staff. We will be returning, no questions asked!

Room Tip: We had 58 which was nice, about a 3 min walk to the main area but very seculuded as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solage Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage Calistoga

Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solage Calistoga 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage Calistoga brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Solage Calistoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solage Calistoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.