We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to eat and spa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solage Calistoga

Save Saved
You added Solage Calistoga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solage Calistoga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Road Trip to Solage
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful place to eat and spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at Solage Calistoga for the second time in November 2012. For us, it is all about the food and the spa. The restaurant makes delicious food - we enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner, all with great food and service. The cocktails are tasty too. The spa is amazing. We got a couples massage and enjoyed the starlight at the bathhouse - we had the whole place to ourselves from 8:30 to 10:30 p.m. So much fun, and romantic too. I also got a great mani/pedi. The service is wonderful, the beds and rooms are comfortable, and the atmosphere is calm and soothing. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    94
    29
    22
    20
See reviews for
82
344
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Solage Calistoga is a lovely spa/resort hotel. The property itself is a 4....very nice but short of the best of the best (that would rate a 5). The rooms (which are individual buildings called studios or suites) are plain...almost army-barracks simple on the outside, but contemporary, well designed and very comfortable on the inside. The common spaces are Napa-simple, wood and environmentally-friendly.

The service is a 5, The Spa is world class. Outside each room are two cruiser-type bicycles for getting around the property, or taking into the nearby town of Calistoga, And there are three spectacular new Mercedes convertibles that you can take on a first-come-first-served basis. No charge. The Solbar restaurant and bar is top notch. If you want to know where something is on the property, and you ask a staff member, instead of telling you how to get there, they will drop what they are doing and take you there themselves.

Of course, Solage Calistoga is a great base-camp for winery visits, and the helpful concierge staff can set up everything....tours, transportation, restaurant reservations, you name it.

Helpful hint: The Charles M. Schulz Sonoma County airport in Santa Rosa (STS) is an easy half hour away. Alaska Airlines has non-stop service from Seattle, Portland, Los Angeles and San Diego. Super easy airport to get in and out of, no big TSA lines, rental cars 100 feet from the building. If you don't want to do the hour and a half to two hour drive from Sacramento, Oakland or SFO, consider flying into STS,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at Solage with family members to celebrate a special occasion. As we needed 5 rooms, we booked the least expensive of the studio categories (Vega King) on the "rise and dine" plan, which included access to the spa facilities (without a spa treatment or $25/person/day charge) and a full menu breakfast for two each morning at Solbar (separate review). We asked to be located near the main pool, and I would ask for that again, though I can't comment on whether there would be any noise issue there during peak season. All of our rooms were in the #40's, some of which had patios opening onto central grassy courtyards shared with other rooms (#40), and some of which had patios on the main pool side (#46, 47, 48, 49), which were screened from the pool and had no walkway between the patio and the pool fence; hence, those were more private. If you don't have children, I would definitely avoid the rooms right next to the family pool (#1-6); conversely, those might be very convenient and appealing if you do. In my opinion, the rooms that are closer to the spa and behind it (#51-89) are not as appealing in terms of location and view, and yet many of those are the more expensive Adara King rooms. Plus, #70-89 are located across a little bridge and are quite a distance from the main part of the resort. If you want a Capella Suite, I'd ask for #37 or 38, as they are centrally lcoated to the main pool and restaurant, completely surrounding by a fence for privacy and have patios facing towards the eastern hillside and vineyards.

The rooms were spacious, the beds were quite comfortable, and our room had a beautiful view looking onto the private patio and the eastern hillside. We did not use the two cruisers bikes that were parked at our room, as it sprinkled on and off while we were there. They are certainly a nice add for getting around town or taking a leisurely ride down the Silverado Trail to any number of nearby wineries. There were all of the expected room amenities (e.g., robes/slippers, hair dryer, iron/board, Ipod dock, umbrella, huge flat screen, coffee maker with 1/2 and 1/2 in minibar, tea). Housekeeping provided twice/day service.

Perhaps what we enjoyed the most was the main pool. Our room was right near it, but you couldn't actually see the pool from it because of the plants growing along the fence surrounding the pool. It's almost Olympic length (just shy of 50 meters) and has lane line markings on the bottom. Lap and masters swimmers will be very happy. Maximum depth is around 4', so it's just deep enough for flip-turns. There is a small outdoor spa on the pool deck, and there is a separate family pool for children under 12 located adjacent to the main pool in its own fenced-in enclosure; there's a grassy play area next to that pool. Plenty of towels and loungers were available at all times. There are cabanas as well, which we used when it was raining, and would be welcome shelter during the summer heat.

The spa and gym facilities are located a short walk away on the other side of the dining area. While it might be different in the summer, everyone wandered around the resort in the robes and slippers or thongs that were provided in the room or in the spa lockers. The spa has an outdoor warm pool (appx. 100-101) that you can laze around in forever, and then two gender-specific, clothing optional outdoor areas that have a slightly hotter jetted pool (appx. 103?), a cooler plunge pool, a steam room and an outdoor shower area. In the main spa area, there are also full locker facilities with a suit spinner, showers, fruit and water, etc.

Several of us attended a complimentary spin class in the movement room, which has floor to ceiling glass doors that were opened fully during the class. It was beautiful looking out onto a very old California oak tree and into the eastern hillside beyond the resort. The instructor was very engaging, and the class was a mix of guests and Solage spa members. Some in our group stayed on for the yoga class afterwards; they seemed to enjoy that as well. There is a full gym with cardio and weights in an adjacent building between the main spa and the movement room.

My daughter had a massage and said that it was the best one that she had ever had. Another couple had a couple's massage and liked theirs as well.

Calistoga's main street is walking or biking distance and has an array of small shops and restaurants. It's a lower key version of St. Helena. We didn't leave the resort much, as we have been to Calistoga many times before and preferred to just relax on-site. Solbar is a great dining option that we had visited before, so we just ate there, with the exception of one night when we drove into St. Helena to eat at Farmstead.

We're looking forward to our next stay at Solage, whether that is as a couple, a group of friends, or as a family group with or without children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Solage Calistoga, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. I was thrilled to learn we were able to make your special occasion memorable. I am pleased you found your studio location ideal and the room quite comfortable. I have shared your positive comments pertaining to the pool, Spa Solage, Solbar and the gym with my entire management team. Please also share my gratitude with your daughter and family. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome each of you again whether for a special occasion or a weekend away.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place has amazing pools that are natural hot spring feed. Men and Women have their own area and also there is a coed large pool. The rooms are really nicely appointed and comfortable with a modern twist. They have bikes you can use and it is fun to cruz the area on them. Town is close by also. Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Solage offers those seaking the perfect combination of luxury guest rooms, excuisite food, attentive staff and pampered grounds an ideal destination. From the moment you arrive, you'll recognize the staff at Solage prides itself on offering the best in personal service and guest comfort. From the front desk, to wait staff at Solbar, right to the landscape crew, attention to detail, professional conduct and friendly nature all shine through. When you go, drink in the pristine surroundings, indulge in the wonderful offerings at Solbar, take in a class at the yoga studio and let yourself be pampered at the spa. Oh, and if you can wrestle yourself away from the resort for a few hours, the wineries in athe area ain't too shabby either. Cheers!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Solage Calistoga, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to read your review and to know we have exceeded your expectations. I have shared your positive comments with my entire team. It is my hope that we will be able to welcome you soon and continue to provide a memorable experience worth repeating.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A friend and I had a fabulous stay at Solage for my birthday. We arrived late on a Friday evening, ordered a super yummy (and healthy) meal via room service, and shared the bottle of champagne that came with birthday wishes on arrival. We followed that with a soak in the private jacuzzi on the patio of our cabin, and it was a perfect ending to a great year. Though you don't go to Napa for sports, our room had two 60" TVs, which was great for Saturday game day. The bathroom was palatial!

I didn't think there was much outdoor space relative to what you see on the photos, though it was really lovely and quiet. I would highly recommend it for a full weekend (e.g., not just an overnight) and for couples, couldn't be better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Solage Calistoga, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I am honored you chose to share your birthday with us at Solage. I’m pleased you enjoyed your celebration gift and were able to have a peaceful evening in your private hot tub. I have shared your positive comments regarding your meal with our Executive Chef. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for future special occasions or just a weekend away to watch your favorite sports teams.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A spa smack in the midst of the vineyards, what could be better? With BMW's at your disposal as well as bicycles parked outside your door, transportation through the wineries should be NO problem at all. The stone pebble shower is a very nice touch, and you'll LOVE the FRESH toiletries in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Every room is a GREAT room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solage Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage Calistoga

Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solage Calistoga 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage Calistoga brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Solage Calistoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solage Calistoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.